We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gargnano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Gargnano
Certificate of Excellence
Gariep Dam, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Extremely Clean!! Wonderful freindly family run hotel..spectacular fantastic views,especially from the mid level terrace!the location is perfect! A quiet peaceful place right on the lake surrounded by little alleys and walkways..the food is outstnding

Room Tip: Panarama rooms have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
142
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel. Fantastic position and a very friendly welcome from the family who own and run the Hotel. We dined every evening at the Hotel - sitting right at the edge of Lake Garda. The food was excellent and the cost of the accommodation and the food was extremely good value. Can really recommend this hotel and will be back to visit one day!! No swimming pool but that hardly maters when you can get straight into Lake Garda from the Hotel garden!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were recommended this hotel by friends who stayed here last year and they were right it is fabulous. The hotel is beautiful with just the right mix of old style and modern convenience. The views are amazing and the restaurant food and service are excellent. the family who run the hotel could not be more helpful and accommodating and having breakfast sitting in the garden overlooking the lake was a real pleasure. We will be back again and soon!

Room Tip: We had an upgrade which included a balcony looking out over the lake, definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_trafford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in April.

It was off season and very quiet, with only 4 other rooms taken.

We had the Benaco room and this was beautiful. The views were breathtaking, the furniture very grand and the curtains and linen very white and beautiful.

We had half board and as we were off peak this was to be taken in their sister Hotel, Hotel Du Lac.

I had warned them months previously that we are vegetarian, however at dinner we were asked if we ate fish, which we do not, and this lead to a rather mixed dinner of different things. To be honest we were slightly disappointed. However the following two nights considerably made up for this, with particular attention being made to make our vegetarian 3 course meal to be exciting, which it was and very enjoyable.

The breakfast spread was considerable considering that there weren't many of us staying.

The staff and, in particular the owner, were very welcoming, very friendly and very helpful. They seemed to genuinely care about your stay, as only a family run hotel can. There was also always a family member in reception or at dinner, which added to the family feel.

We were also able to get wifi in the room although this isn't advertised.

Overall a lovely stay and I would thoroughly recommend this family run hotel.

Room Tip: Benaco rooms have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Podgorica, Montenegro
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Wonderful, noble, peaceful place where all rich in culture and civilization. On the shore of Lake Garda is located in a series of beautiful small town. In Gargnano writer Lawrence liked to stay.
The hotel is beautiful, with a lovely garden. I was in Benaco room with a terrace overlooking the lake. The lake is beautiful. Every morning is different. At night you can hear the sound of water.There are different types of activities from swimming, diving, boat rides on the lake in all directions.
The food is excellent. The whole atmosphere is incredibly intimate. The staff is very friendly. I thank them for their pleasant stay and warm welcome ... I hope to come again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandra9_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed in a panorama room for 2 nights - these rooms are fully refurbished with a balcony facing south over the hotel garden towards the lake. The room was not large, but not cramped and certainly big enough for a couple. The bathroom was small but stylish and very clean with a shower but no bath. The bed was in fact two single beds pushed together, and it was a little hard for my taste. The hotel is very quiet though and we slept well. The staff are friendly and helpful.

In fact, the hotel is just outside Gargnano in a tiny hamlet called Villa, and it's about a 10 minute walk into Gargnano which wasn't a problem for us. The hotel car park is tiny and we never found a space, but the hotel has parking permits to park on the street outside and we had no problem finding a space.

The breakfast buffet is really good, and breakfast is eaten on the terrace by the lake which is delightful in the summer.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKExpatNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at the hotel. This was our second trip here. This time we were with friends who were in the lakes region for the first time. We were not disappointed. The lakeview room with balcony was wonderful and the rooms was perfect. We couldn't have asked for more. We ate both nights at the hotel. One night in the garden, spectacular, and the second night inside. The meals were great and the service was the best. We would come back again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with water view and balcony. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gargnano
16.8 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
959 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Meandro
Hotel Meandro
#6 of 19 in Gargnano
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Riviera
Hotel Garni Riviera
#9 of 19 in Gargnano
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Europa
Hotel Villa Europa
#7 of 19 in Gargnano
93 reviews
17.1 mi away
Kairos Garda Hotel
Kairos Garda Hotel
#1 of 11 in Castelnuovo del Garda
427 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardenia al Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardenia al Lago

Property: Hotel Gardenia al Lago
Address: Via Colletta' 53, 25084, Gargnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gargnano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
#8 Family Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quite and charming House located directly on the water in a splendid and peaceful position. The renovated rooms are furnished with old period furniture, are air-conditioned and have a balcony with lake view. The garden with its olive trees, palms and Mediterranean vegetation is the ideal place to relax, wrapped in a triumph of flowers and silence. When the weather is nice, breakfast, lunch and dinner are served in the magnificent garden facing the lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gardenia Al Lago Gargnano
Gardenia Al Lago Hotel
Hotel Gardenia Al Lago Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing