We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and idyllic”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gargnano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Gargnano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days whilst travelling through France, Switzerland and Italy and wished we had booked a much longer stay. Our room was beautiful and the service from the staff was superb. On our arrival mid afternoon we were tired, hungry and thirsty and when we mentioned this to one of the brothers who run the hotel, in no time at all a bottle of well chilled white wine and lovely fresh sandwhichs were delivered to our room. On the following evenings we ate in the hotel restaurant overlooking the lake and the food and service again were superb. In fact we could not find one thing to complain about or say was below par. We talk about our 4 days there quite often and definitely plan to go back again soon. I'm glad to see the other reviewers hold the same opinion as we do. We have been to Italy and Lake Garda several times over the years but this hotel was the best by a very long way!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly56_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2010

Still here and about to enjoy another night. We are fortunate and have one of the best rooms with large balcony overlooking the lake but the others are similar and are of a very high standard . Meals are served on the terrace right by the lake and typically high quality Italian fare. It is also nice to find a hotel that does not try to rip clients off with wine prices. The house white is great and only 11.50 euros.Unlike many hotels in the area there is on site parking too but not guaranteed . The sister hotel owned by the same family Hotel du Lac is just down the road and if you prefer you can eat there for a change to the same standard. Breakfast is enough to keep you going for the rest of the day if you wish too

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benno448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Well, everyone told us we should go to Lake Garda for our honeymoon so we duly did. I did a lot of looking around for a place to stay, and eventually found this. Typically we like to stay in B&Bs as we find they have more atmosphere, and we're not bothered about big corporate hotels, but this one looked very charming.

We arrived there after a fairly long drive and it was very nice to step into the relaxing gardens of the Gardenia al Lago. It is right on the lake so has beautiful views, and we were greeted with a bottle of prosecco - a very nice touch! We had one of the best rooms in the hotel and it was very nice, with balconies overlooking the lake on two sides of the room. It felt very olde worlde fancy, and contrary to what a previous reviewer said, we found everyone very friendly.

What I liked about the hotel is that it's family run. They are really friendly and helped us out when we were looking for places to go, even researching routes and printing out details and directions for us. Location-wise it is beautiful in that it's right by the lake (which is why I picked it over one further away from the lake), but it is a bit of a walk into the main town, which may be a bit much for some people. You could drive but it really is a pleasant stroll.

There is not a great deal going on in the area, but we are outdoorsy types so we enjoyed going for walks - you can walk up the hills and get great views of the lake. We also drove a bit further afield to do some Via Ferrata. The town itself is one of the smaller, less touristy ones I believe - suited us fine as we didn't want to be in a big town. There are some lovely restaurants in town, and we had dinner in the hotel as well, which was really nice (although the choice is more limited for fussy eaters like I am, which is why we didn't eat there again). The breakfasts are very pleasant out by the lake, with the funny ducks who come to visit in the hope of getting some bread.

Yes, it is a bit old fashioned but I think that's part of its charm. I really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nao C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

My partner and I have now visited Hotel Gardenia twice, and I've _never_ gone back to a place before. It was as magical the second time around (Sept '09) as the first (May '07). It's a beautiful, family run hotel in the old style - good service, clean rooms, good food, beautiful location. We stayed in the Panorama room and, although reasonably pricey (I think it was 77euros per person per night for B&B) it was worth every penny.

The hotel rooms have been renovated to a very high standard. There's nothing better than to sit on the balcony at the end of a relaxing day and look out over the lake with a glass of prosecco. The restaurant serves good quality food (although the restaurant itself looks quite dated) and you can eat out on the lake-front garden when warm. It's as good a choice for dining as other restaurants in Gargnano. Breakfast is excellent, albeit of a 'Continental' style, and served out in the garden. Again, the attention to detail is excellent and goes a long way to making the holiday as relaxing a break as possible.

Gargnano harbour and lake-front (with hydrofoil stop!) is a scenic 10-15 mins walk and there you have a choice of restaurants and cafes. Perfect for a relaxed week for two, but no good for kids or for longer than a week - there's precious little to do except eat, drink and relax. So much so, we took a taxi from the airport (around 60 euros each way). It was quicker, cheaper and easier - we find that if we have a hire car we try and travel too far and see too much, instead of relaxing and walking to see the local sights. And the roads near Gargnano are not for the faint hearted, even if you enjoy driving! There is a frequent, cheap bus service if you need to escape and see Salo and other lakeside towns.

Their website is very good and I can honestly say that reality matches the site - there's no disappointment when you arrive due to cleverly shot photos or over-inflated claims.

After reading PeripateticPrincess' comments, I felt I had to give an independent response to her one of her negatives. Both Andrea and Giorgio have always been extremely helpful and attentive to us. It is simply that they are very different characters: Andrea is the extrovert and therefore handles more of the 'front of house' work, whereas Giorgio is more introverted and handles more of the day to day paperwork. However, we have found both brothers to always be inordinately polite and helpful. Indeed, when my girlfriend accidentally left behind a necklace, it was Giorgio who attended to everything, and immediately posted the necklace (free of charge) to the UK.

Would we go back again - of course, but for now we want to explore other areas of Italy. Would we recommend Hotel Gardenia? In an instant, provided it's for a relaxing, romantic break and not a family holiday.

It's the only place that always makes my partner and I smile when we think back to the wonderful times we've spent there..

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oohmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Super hotel, wonderful location. Having breakfast outside by the lakeside was a real treat!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

hotel Gardenia is a lovely family owned/run hotel right on lake garda, about 1/2 mile from village of Gargnano. our room was good size, with beautiful view of the lake and a small balcony. antique furnishings were nice, but strange that there was absolutely no artwork/decoration of any kind! satisfactory breakfast with delicious cappucino etc , fresh fruit, croissants and a full "granola bar", but didn't seem to offer anything hot i.e. eggs. lovely garden area with many chaises on which you can relax, read or just look at the lake. Andrea, one of the sons speaks perfect english and is EXTREMELY helpful, friendly and cheerful. restaurant is good - with excellent wine list, unlike other restaurants in gargnano. best is to eat outside if weather permits. Negatives: Giorgio, the other son, is so unhelpful and unaccommodating he is borderline inhospitable - shocking as is quite different from his brother! also, did not like pillows on bed, and the neighbor's dog (south side of the hotel), is left outside and barks a lot! also, while there is a small parking lot on the premises, it is small, and difficult to get in and out of, hence best with a compact car

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peripateticprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

What a relief to arrive at the gardenia al lago following 2 days in dissmal Venice.
We expected this hotel to be the best on our tour and were instantly impressed with the room and the
excellent view from the panoramic room and balcony. Gargnano is a little gem of a place. good location for getting around the west side of Lake garda.
We visited Malcesine, Riva del Garda, Heller gardens, a must, and gordone rivera. A trip up mount Baldo is worth the effort for the views..stunning. Riva del Garda is one of the nicer towns we came across during our 2 weeks in Italy.

The hotel is 10 mins away from the centre, but there are a few bars and restaurants near by, all quite resonable, with great views of the lake. The room we had 309, is very spacious, and nearly perfect. The hotel seems to lack any character or atmosphere. However it will remain special to us, as it was part of our 25th anniversary celebration, and was where we were when news reached us of the birth of our first grand child, jamey grace
The restaurant at the sister hotel a few doors down provided the best food and setting that we came across anywhere during our Italian visit..definately worth the expense. All in all very good, but outshone by the views on Lake Como, and the hospitality at La Fontana in Stresa.

Steve C

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank springfieldwhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gargnano hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garni Bartabel
Hotel Garni Bartabel
#18 of 19 in Gargnano
24 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Meandro
Hotel Meandro
#10 of 19 in Gargnano
190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tre Punte
Hotel Tre Punte
#3 of 3 in Navazzo
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#19 of 19 in Gargnano
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Giulia
Hotel Villa Giulia
#11 of 19 in Gargnano
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garni Riviera
Hotel Garni Riviera
#9 of 19 in Gargnano
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardenia al Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardenia al Lago

Address: Via Colletta' 53, 25084, Gargnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gargnano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
#8 Family Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range: £89 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quite and charming House located directly on the water in a splendid and peaceful position. The renovated rooms are furnished with old period furniture, are air-conditioned and have a balcony with lake view. The garden with its olive trees, palms and Mediterranean vegetation is the ideal place to relax, wrapped in a triumph of flowers and silence. When the weather is nice, breakfast, lunch and dinner are served in the magnificent garden facing the lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gardenia Al Lago Gargnano
Gardenia Al Lago Hotel
Hotel Gardenia Al Lago Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing