We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly atmosphere enjoyed the locality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Garni Riviera
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Gargnano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed for 1 week and could not fault this hotel, the management and staff were extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and the locality was perfect for eating out and or just enjoying strolling bye the lakeside or having a coffee in one of the cafe's

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco S, Proprietario at Hotel Garni Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Only short time ago they advised us that we could answer to TripAdvisor Reviews.
Well, better late than never....
Thanks for the good review and to share with others your impressions.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again....
Elisa and Gian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

It is a mystery to me why this place has such good reviews. I have been there in June with my girlfriend and had a terrible time. The rooms are old with an ugly old rug. It is unbelievable loud and since the room maid starts work at 9. Reason is there's only 1 for the whole hotel with 3 floors! It is not possible leave your car at the hotel, you gotta park it half a mile away and even pay for it. Bottom line: zero hospitality, apparently the owner stopped putting any Money in here and is running the place until it will fall apart.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hansfranziskus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garniriviera, Proprietario at Hotel Garni Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

We have the serious doubt that this review comes from the same “source” of the former (and only) bad review.
We were going to answer the same way, but we have been suggested to reply anyway, so here we are:
You may not like it, but we changed ALL rug 4 months ago.
We ALWAYS have 2 chambermaids (sometimes 3).
The parking lot is 100 meters from us and cost euro 3,00/day;.
Gargnano on Garda Lake is as “incredibly loud” as a 1000 people lake hamlet can be during the normal day life.
It’s a pity that you use TripAdvisor to spread your spite, hiding yourself behind a nickname.
We have honourable reviews not only here, but also on main tourist guidebooks: are they all mistaken?
Finally: when you ask yourself how could people have an opinion different than yours, I suggest you to take 5 minutes or your valuable time to think about the question itself: the answer will come alone...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We've been recently to the Garda Lake, and among other beauties of the place we we're delighted to stay in this beautifull little hotel in Gargnano. Is from another time and world, for whom appreciate the tranquility, the italian taste and hospitality. The rooms are old style but very clean and elegant. There is wi-fi access in the entire building which is very rare in Italy, comparing with other big hotels. The owners and the entire personell are very friendly, helpfull and very professional in all what they do for their customers. Last but not least the breakfast on the terrace is something owesome, nice service and all but if a client want to stay the whole day long on the terrace from the early morning until dawn when she/he will see the city and its beauties and visit the places, nobody came in a foreign place to sit on the hotel terrace for free instead of seeing what is to be seen in such a wonderful place. This is for the grumpy lady from Germany who is missleading the other readers.

Room Tip: booking before
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Turista2011054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco S, Proprietario at Hotel Garni Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Only short time ago they advised us that we could answer to TripAdvisor Reviews.
Well, better late than never....
Thanks for the good review and to share with others your impressions.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again....
Elisa and Gian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This hotel slightly spoiled our stay at the Lago di Garda. We were utterly disappointed upon arrival: the room was small, the decoration horrific, the double bed made up of two single beds that kept sliding apart from one another, and the bathroom was equally unimpressive.

The next morning, we were awoken early by banging doors as the building is clearly not well built, and by bustling cleaners. At 9am already they were banging on our door, again and again although we shouted out that we were still in bed. There wasn't even a Do-Not-Disturb notice we could hang on the door. When we complained to the receptionist, she implied this was a perfectly normal time to get up. Someone needs to explain to her that when you go on holiday, it's for a rest, and you certainly don't want to pay 75 euros a night to be sleep deprived in a grotty hotel.

The hotel's one point of redemption was the stunning view of the lake from its breakfast terrace, what a fabulous way to start the day..... if only the breakfast lady wasn't also extremely rude and forced you to leave your table when she started tidying up, even if you might want to stay and read or write postcards!

And what is it about Italians thinking that other Europeans don't appreciate the taste of good coffee? Every hotel we stayed at served horrific coffee for breakfast and this one was no exception. Shame given how delicious coffee can be in Italy.

Finally, the town is pretty and right at the lakeside, but there it's not anything special, there is no beach, so you'd be better staying further north in Riva di Garda or Torbole which both have much more stunning views as the mountains are more impressive there, and beaches, and some action! We ended up driving up north every day and just staying in Gargnano to sleep.

So: the hotel owners need to remember that they should respect their guests and it's really not that difficult to be nice and smile!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarahmarsh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garniriviera, Owner at Hotel Garni Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2011

We have been pondering what to answer to this review.
At the end, we decided that it's no worth....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We planned to spend 2 nights on Lake Garda and selected Gargnano as a small, unspoilt location - how right we were - and Hotel Garni Riviera proved to be the ideal place to stay! It is right in the centre of the small village and everything was within a short walking distance. Our room was huge, light and airy with a panoramic view of the Lake - it appeared to have been recently renovated and decorated, so everything was fresh and clean. There was a ceiling fan over the bed and full-length windows/doors which we had open at night, so no need for A/C. The owners, Gianfranco & his wife Elisa were friendly and helpful throughout our stay and gave us lots of local information, and even arranged a tour of a nearby lemon grove. They both speak excellent English and could not have been more helpful. Breakfasts were self-serve on a covered balcony overlooking the lake - a very pleasant start to the day. Parking is available for 3euro/day a few hundred metres up the road but we didn't need the car and left it there for the duration. Walking in either direction there are other small villages each with it's own little harbour and delightful cafes to stop for a drink or light lunch beside the lake. It was even warm enough for a dip in the lake, which I had expected to be freezing! I cannot imagine why this hotel is only rated 2* - everything about it seemed to be at least 3*!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherry_bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianfranco S, Owner at Hotel Garni Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

I just realized that we didn't answer to your good report.
Thank you, also if we are a bit late.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I stayed at this hotel 1 year ago, and decided to leave a review - this means the hotel is reallly great. The location is perfecct in the center of a small nice Italian town, with lake view from some rooms. The breakfast was perfect (you can see the lake while having breakfast), with plenty of good quality food. Rooms are European-style small but very clean. The real value of this hotel are the owners. They are very helpful and try to accomoday your needs. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone who decides to visit Lake Garda.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Volga981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraOK, Owner at Hotel Garni Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Jane,
thanks a lot for your kind review. We hope to welcome you again, in the future, to try our Limone Superior lakeview rooms which ( I should not say this but ...you are right) are really nice.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

The location of this hotel is absolutely wonderful and the hotel is outstanding value for money. We stayed in a lakeside room which was perfect - very comfortable and outstanding views directly onto the lake. The manager was extremely helpful and friendly and spoke excellent english. (We were surprised how few English people there seemed to be in this beautiful little town - everyone assumed we were German).

Gargnano is a wonderful place - some of the other places on the lake were too busy (peak time I know) but Garnano was much quieter. The Pizzeria next to the hotel was very good and reasonably priced. Parking 3 euros per day arranged via reception.

We hope that we can stay here again one day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraOK, Owner at Hotel Garni Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Dear Guest,
we discovered late that we coud reply to the reviews. We reply now because it's never too late to say thank you......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gargnano hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Punte
Hotel Tre Punte
#3 of 3 in Navazzo
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Bartabel
Hotel Garni Bartabel
#18 of 19 in Gargnano
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia D'Oro
Hotel Baia D'Oro
#8 of 19 in Gargnano
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Bogliaco Hotel
Bogliaco Hotel
#17 of 19 in Gargnano
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#19 of 19 in Gargnano
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Giulia
Hotel Villa Giulia
#11 of 19 in Gargnano
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Riviera

Address: Via Roma 1, 25084, Gargnano, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gargnano
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gargnano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range: £64 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Garni Riviera 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The thick walls, high ceilings, marble stairs, the roof terrace: Everything in this old house, speaks of a simple and elegant tourism past. Our cozy rooms and a bar with stone walls will be your companions in blissful relaxation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Garni Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garni Riviera Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing