We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent campsite, great for young children”
Review of Piantelle Camping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Piantelle Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at Piantelle in one of the campsite's own Aurora cabins in mid-June 2012 with our children aged 2 and 4 and enjoyed it so much we plan to go back next year. The kids loved the small lake beach (pebbles, not sand), but enjoyed swimming mostly in the pools - a toddler's pool and a larger swimming pool, both clean, well-maintained and well-managed, with a lifeguard on duty. The site is a comfortable size, pools and beach only a few minutes walk in opposite directions from the restaurant/shop (which our cabin was near), has a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere, and is very good value for money.

The small shop has the staples, including good bread in the morning, but don't rely on it for all your needs - as other reviews point out, there are supermarkets close by (but they do have a good supply of water toys etc, so no need to cart them in). The restaurant has good pizzas, chips, fish at reasonable prices.

The staff are great - very helpful and friendly, very tolerant of monolingual or barely bilingual guests, and very happy to help their younger visitors. The cabin was clean and comfortable, airconditioning effective and reliable, lots of shade around, with a nice deck - maybe it was the early summer timing, but we had no problems with mozzies. The kids entertainment for the season started on our last night and was a big hit, with an enthusiastic and very child-friendly cast, no doubt a welcome addition in season.

Overall, highly recommended for families with young children.

Room Tip: Book directly with the site - their own cabins seem to be in the best locations.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Piantelle Camping
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

Really enjoyed it here. Fantastic site with so much on offer. What I enjoyed most was the close proximity to the beach and to the harbour where you can get cheap boats rides that take you to various beautiful towns that surround the lakes. I stayed in a chalet/mobile home at the site which was really lovely but I think I will camp next time. The only downside is the shop on site is very pricey, however the is a very well stocked supermarket 10 minutes walk away in the town of Moniga and it is a very plesant walk to it too. I highly recommend this site!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lifenlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had a wonderful time at piantelle. We have been to Lake Garda 5 times to different sites but found the large xxl pitches and the friendly , medium sized site to be the best yet. So much so that we have booked again for next year. Take mosquito repellant with you though!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hoylek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We just returned from a two week holiday at Piantelle Camping. We had left booking a pitch for our holiday to Italy to the last minute and as we were taking our own tent we initially only booked 4 nights. However, after arriving at the site we extended our stay and ended up being there for 2 weeks. It is a great campsite. Not too big as some of the other campsites around Lake Garda are. As the other reviews state, it has a good sized restaurant and small shop and a good sized pool. We found that we spent more time at the lake which is accessible from the campsite. There is a small cordoned off area of the lake which is great for smaller kids to swim in and our kids (11 and 8) were happy fishing for minnows, or rowing their dinghy around the outskirts waters edge. At night there is plenty of entertainment for the kids and the mini club staff put on a performance every night which seemed to go down well with the kids. All staff were friendly and welcoming. There is a supermarket at the top of the hill above the restaurant which is also very convenient. There are many attractions around the lake to entertain the kids. We chose Movieland mainly for the water park but we were a little disappointed. Le Vele Aqua Park out towards Brescia is much better value and immaculately clean although it does take 40-45 mins to get to from the campsite. Would recommend this campsite to anyone wishing to go to Lake Garda.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
9  Thank Munich4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed in the campsite's own accommodation for 9 nights in April 2011. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, well equipped and very spacious and was terrific value for money. This is a nicely landscaped and well maintained campsite. We were there in low season so the campsite was very quiet.The only downside to this was the pool wasn't yet open which was a shame as the weather was unseasonably hot.
Staff at the campsite were extremely helpful and knowledgable. The campsite sits right on the shore of Lake Garda - an idyllic setting. The immediate vicinity is lovely for strolling - either along the shores of the lake or to the nearby village Monica del Garda. There's a supermarket just a five minute walk away and a small shop on site for essentials. We ate at the campsite's own restaurant and thought the cheaper (pizza/pasta 7 - 10 euro) options on the menu were probably better then the more expensive options (fritto de misto was disappointing).
The campsite is a great base to day trip from. We had a day in Verona (an hour's drive), a day a Gardaland (never expected to enjoy a theme park, but it's lovely), a day driving round the lake and other days mooching round nearby towns.
I don't usually want to take the same holiday twice (life is short, small world...) but I'd go back to Lake Garda and Camping Piantelle in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank SusanOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We have stayed here twice and going back for another 2 weeks Summer 2011. The site is well managed and has a good restaurant/takeaway and very small shop for bread etc. Staff are excellent. Most visitors are German and Dutch with smattering of other nationalities - all friendly. It's a big site but well spread out. On the side of a hill down to the lake but not too steep! We stayed in the campsite's own caravans - very good and very clean. We drive down from UK via France & Switzerland. The site is adjacent to the lake and has its own small beach with shingle/pebbles (recently improved). The Lake is lovely to swim in so we hardly use the on-site pool (which is also nice). We took our own small RIB speedboat and go waterskiing on the lake. The roads get very busy especially if you go towards Sirmione and around the very busy South East part of the Lake. Plenty of supermarkets within 15mins drive and a big Auchan Hypermarket about 20 mins towards Brescia. Venice is about 2.5 or 3 hr drive away to ferry terminal where you get ferry to Venice (campsite reception will help). Verona about 1hr away and you could see a concert in the evening at the Colloseum (need to book). Florence about 3hrs drive away. Some beautiful towns to visit around the lake. Malcesine has a cable car up the mountain (we paraglided off the top!!).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Richard_from_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

A great campsite in a good location. Reception staff are very friendly and speak excellent English. Showers etc. very clean and campsite is quiet but lots going on. Good sized swimming pool and never had a problem getting a lounger. Even though it is a big campsite it is split into different sections and so doesn't feel so big. Lots of restaurants in walking distance.

I would recommend

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tommygun147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moniga del Garda
9.0 mi away
Camping Bella Italia
Camping Bella Italia
#2 of 35 in Peschiera del Garda
1,372 reviews
3.9 mi away
Camping Europa Silvella
Camping Europa Silvella
#1 of 14 in San Felice del Benaco
226 reviews
9.4 mi away
La Rocca Camping Village
La Rocca Camping Village
#4 of 41 in Bardolino
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Camping San Francesco
Camping San Francesco
#2 of 25 in Desenzano Del Garda
284 reviews
5.3 mi away
Campeggio Villaggio Weekend
Campeggio Villaggio Weekend
#3 of 14 in San Felice del Benaco
113 reviews
8.3 mi away
Camping Bergamini
Camping Bergamini
#3 of 35 in Peschiera del Garda
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piantelle Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piantelle Camping

Address: Via San Cassiano 1/A, 25080 Moniga del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Moniga del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Moniga del Garda
Price Range: £25 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Piantelle Camping 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camping Piantelle has been in the Cavazza family for three generations. It started out as a farm, mainly making olive oil. While the olive trees are still here, the tractors and animals that used to roam the fields have long gone. We became a campsite in 1964 and since then thousands of guests have had happy holidays here. Today tourism is our main priority, however we still respect the land as much as we did in the past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Piantelle Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piantelle Camping Hotel Moniga Del Garda
Piantelle Camping Lake Garda/Moniga Del Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing