We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and excellent food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Padenghe sul Garda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agriturismo Pratello
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Small 'Agriturismo' Hotel. We can recomend it for a Family or friends. The Location is not far from Lake Garda, in a beautiful wine area. The best part of this place is the Food and the wine.
Real Italian Food and their own wine with it. Go there and try it.
This is not a 5 star Hotel but very homely. For a small 'Agriturismo' Hotel, they have a huge swimmingpool and the Kids enjoyed it alot.

Room Tip: Pratello offers also Apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarnentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

It's a Tuesday, and it's market day in Desenzano. So what do we do after an exhausting time at the market ? We drive on up to Pratello, and we have another delicious (post market) Pratello lunch. Then after the food and wine, I force down a coffee and one of their own Grappa. Just like last year.

Room Tip: Dunno, we just eat here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarloBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

If you like peace, beautiful gardens, superb food and wonderful rooms. Woken every morning by cuckoos and the church bell.. Heaven. Located in a tiny village, high above the lake, it is a superb place for walking. The train station at Desenzano is about 8km away, making Verona (20 mins) and Venice (90mins) easily accessible. Car hire recommended if you're not a walker but we were happy to amble and take in the atmosphere. The staff are lovely. Breakfast was delicious! The restaurant superb. We could've stayed all summer! The bio lake was incredible. Full of frogs and fish.. How swimming should be but the conventional pool was beautiful too. We had the stunning gardens all to ourselves. A romantic, peaceful retreat with Italy's beauty at your feet

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Countess_of_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My partner and I stayed in pratello hotel for 3 nights at the end of may. We were blown away by this hotel...an old converted epic Italian building surrounded by vineyards & olive trees. We had struggled to find many English written reviews on pratello so were a bit anxious about it...but needn't have been! The quality and standard of the accommodation was unbelievable. A beautiful pool and Georgeous grounds to walk around. We actually ate in the attached restaurant all three nights which was not like us st all...Usually we prefer to eat out and explore different restaurants. But the food and staff were so good that we ended up eating there every night! Such good value too. The hotel is based on a vineyard and they make their own wine...they offer wine tasting for €4 per person so you can enjoy sampling all the wine & know which ones to carry on drinking for the rest of their stay! A wonderful place. You do need a car as its a 10-15 min drive to the lake or any good local towns but it was totally worth it for the hotel. Breakfast was fab and the room extremely clean, big, fridge, tv etc. Absolutely loved pratello & their wonderful staff!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed in August this year for the 2nd time, this year with our "almost" teenage kids for one week.

The place:
The place is very nice, offside the touristic area of lago di garda at the south-western end of the lake a little bit up the mountain. The family-owned and –driven place has become popular during the last years and was growing to a size where I assume the owners now have to decide to make it professional and employ people or still leave it at the size and let it drive by the family. It all has been renovated and built in a very nice way, the whole area including the pool area is really a very nice play to stay. On the other hand you can see here and there that there a small issues which make you start thinking…… fix it and it would be paradise….

The hotel & the rooms:
We had room no 3 (last year) and room no. 11 (or 10???) this year. The latter is better for families since it is located at the end of the hallway which ends at a balcony. This gives you more freedom since you can leave the door open without you and other guests being disturbed (in hot nights even better since you can switch off the A/C and open door and window. Rooms are simple but clean. The small things which makes you nuts are e.g. that they use different bulbs in the bathroom (one candle-like bulb to the right of the mirror one globe-like to the left). The shower needs decalcification (last year and this year) since almost no water is coming out of the shower, the room door clamps in the frame like hell and for kids almost not possible to open or close. The ladder to the bunk bed cannot be fixed at the bed and has been a safety risk for our children. They both had to sleep in the lower part of the bunk bed. No reaction from the staff when we asked them to fix.

The breakfast:
The breakfast is served in a small room in the main building and is simple and good. You even get freshly brewed cappuchino. Bread, buns, cheese, meat, egg you can cook yourself a.s.o. but they forget to refill and in the middle of the breakfast time there is almost no breakfast left.

The restaurant:
The restaurant is opened for lunch and dinner. You can reserve a table, then you will be served at the table as well, or you just pick one table and sit down then you have to order and pay everything at the counter (this is also the difference between tables with table cloth and without!). The menu has not changed from last to this year, still the typical simple italian food, but cheap and very good and (thanks to grandma’ who is taking care of the charcoal grill!). But after a week you get bored since they do not even have a “today’s special” and therefore you will know the menu by heart after a few days. With regards to drinks you will be satisfied, own produced wine to fantastic prices and quality. Try the rebo grappa (white) it is fantastic and if you order more than five the bottle of grappa is cheaper than 6 glasses (they will tell you and give you the bottle straight away!).

The pool area:
The pool is just huge, clean and suitable for small kids and adults. Sometimes not enough sunchairs and umbrellas available if the hotel (with it approx. 15 rooms is fully booked) But also here you will feel that if they would take care about the small things more this place would be paradise. Why do they have broken sunchairs and old magazines just lying in a corner where all the guests can see it?

Summary:
A nice place (for families, too) with a lot of small things which you would like to see them fixing it to make it paradise....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Two years after our last visit, my wife and I finally returned to Lake Garda on holiday. In particular, the Tuesday market in Desenzano and after an exhausting two hours in the market, we head up to Pratello for lunch.
We have been holidaying at the lake for the past 16 years. It took us 2 years to discover Pratello but with every subsequent holiday, we've lunched at Pratello at least once. This year we discovered the new layout of Pratello. They’ve shifted the kitchens across the courtyard (and the Peacock is no more).
Again this year, the rustic quality of food was as ever consistently good. Very down to earth. No frills, but good quality, and the prices are very reasonable given the quality of the food & wine.
Service continues to be almost non-existent. You go to the self service counter (it still reminds me of a works canteen from the 60's). You look at the newly multi-lingual menus to discover what's on offer (no English spoken) and you order. The lady on the kitchen side of the counter gives you your cutlery and paper table mats, plus your bread, but not before she's taken payment (cash).
As well as the Pastas – the Cheeses, Salami and Prosciutto continue to be of an excellent quality.
Last week, two of us lunched for 35 euro inc fanta, water and wine and coffee plus house grappa.
Despite it's unfussy presentation, it continues to be a popular lunching place for local business people, and well-heeled retired clientele. If you are serious about good local produce cooked in a typical Italian kitchen, you'll enjoy it. But, fine dining it isn't.
...... Buon appetito!!

Room Tip: The plastic chairs are a little bit flexible, so stack two together for a more comfortable 'seat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarloBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We didn't actually stay here, but nearly did and decided to visit for food while we were in the area.
While it obviously is a splendid building, it appeared to be in the middle of a refurbishment, with many of the rooms around the courtyard being used as storage or empty. Some of them obviously had been in use, but not at the moment. We didn't eat there in the end either, as the menu looked very limited, so again not sure why?

you need to check this out BEFORE you book, as there was no mention of this on their website or when we made the booking enquiry.

The pool looked great and the whole place has a lot of potential.

The pool looke dgreat

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank Jager66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padenghe sul Garda
0.9 mi away
West Garda Hotel
West Garda Hotel
#1 of 6 in Padenghe sul Garda
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Terrazze sul Lago Residence & Hotel
Le Terrazze sul Lago Residence &...
#5 of 6 in Padenghe sul Garda
143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Arzaga Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Palazzo Arzaga Hotel Spa & Golf ...
#1 of 1 in Calvagese della Riviera
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Il Ghetto Farm Holiday
Il Ghetto Farm Holiday
#4 of 4 in Soiano Del Lago
65 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Garuti
Villa Garuti
#4 of 6 in Padenghe sul Garda
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Paradiso Del Garda
Il Paradiso Del Garda
#3 of 10 in Padenghe sul Garda
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Pratello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Pratello

Address: Via Pratello, 26, Padenghe sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Padenghe sul Garda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Padenghe sul Garda
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Pratello Lake Garda/Padenghe Sul Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing