We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Residence Santa Giulia
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed for a week at the holiday apartment during August. We were a party of 3 families with little children. The hotel was great. The apartment was well equipped and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pools are lovely (a bit cold though :-)) and there is a supermarket only a five minutes drive from there. Our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daphna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed for a week during July 2013.
We reserved a holiday apartment that should be fully equipped including a functional kitchen.
Apparently there are all kinds of apartments with various level of maintenance.
We received a place that looks like 1 low level 1 star hotel room.
Kitchen – old, dirty, broken microwave, very small refrigerator.
Batroom – shower partially working, really need to learn how to use it!; holes in the wall that someone blocked with some paper!
TV- I think the last time I saw a hotel room with old bulky TV was 15 years ago. Only one TV with No TV in the parents room.
Hotel Lobby- no air-conditioning, impossible to stay due to the temperature;
Hotel Breakfast – poor, every day the same poor food; no variety.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SB2013New
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santagiulia2010, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Residence Santa Giulia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

we thank you for your reservation and we appreciate any criticism that help us to improve our service but we will appreciate more if you can report the facts as they are in reality and not in you imagination, otherwise we risk to give a wrong impression of our resort.

you have booked an apartment on self catering for 4 persons; on arrival day we offered one night in our suite on bed & breakfast because our staff was working on the manteinance of the apartments that had a small problem with hot water.

you accepted it and day after received the apartment fully working and clean. Apartments on self catering are very different to suite rooms – in the furnishing and in the price – but match all the standard required by our regulation to be ranked 4 star.

if you did not like it we are very sorry but we would appreciate an appropriate description; the dirty kitchen is a burned spot that cannot be fixed unless we change the kitchen; unfortunately this cannot be done until the end of the season; anyway it’s not dirt at all and you received the apartment spotless clean.

What you call a dirty floor in the picture, is a vintage type of tiles, in italy we use it often and I am sure in your country too. The hole in the wall in the bathroom is because we replaced the tub with the shower when we renew the bathroom recently; the shower box multijet is new and if you don’t know how to use it you could have asked in the reception.

Air conditioning is working in all the rooms and common areas and we keep an indoor temperature around 24-25 degrees against 35-38 outside. In the apartments and rooms can be set manually by the guest.

the breakfast buffet that we offered you complementary has all the food that a 4 star hotel requires as hot and cold drinks, marmalade, chocolate, bread, croissants, jogurt, muesli, eggs and much more.

kindest regards
Grazia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I have just returned from a week's stay - with Just You holidays. I would say that this hotel is fine to stay at with a coach tour or with your own car. It is on a road that is not at a resort although one can walk to a small bay with two bars in about 10 minutes. There is also a mini market about five minutes walk away. Buses stop outside the door, although I did not use them. I think they run about every hour or so to places along the lake. I am sure that the rate at the hotel reflects the location.

Most of the accommodation is in apartments and is quite adequate for a stay with television, kitchenette, nice clean shower room. The grounds and pools are very well maintained and there is only a 5 euro deposit required for the big towel to use at the pool.

As we were on a package tour, we had to choose our dinner the previous evening but for independent guests there is a large a la carte menu and two fixed price menus - we did not eat from these menus. As it was very hot when we stayed, other guests were eating on the terrace. The continental breakfast was adequate for me.

I want to add how wonderful all the staff were. On arrival my apartment did have ants, but this was dealt with immediately and did not re-occur. I did not know everyone's name but Grazia, Shana and Emilia could not have been more helpful and made my stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harrietlouise186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 7 days/nights with Just You. The hotel was fabulous. Very clean & the air-conditioning was marvellous. The staff were ALWAYS very polite and helpful. Food was lovely, as are the hotel grounds. It is on a main road, but this is NOT a problem, as the hotel is backed away from main road & is surrounded by orleander trees/bushes which absorb any car or motor sounds and to be honest, who sits in their rooms listening out for the sound of traffic whilst on holidays? not me or any of my lovely travelling companions. As for walking distance to Lake Garda, this is not an issue as the hotel is not on the lake (otherwise it would sink). There is a bus & water bus service to Desanzo, so problems getting out and about and exploring the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank blondegirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This is rated as a 4* hotel. It is in fact an Apartmotel, with 90% of the accomodation being in apartments, in various states of disrepair scattered around two swimming pools.there are only about 10 real bedrooms in the hotel. I was unfortunate to be stuck there for a week, by "Just You" holidays (a brand of Page & Moy which caters for solo travelers).
LOCATION. On the main road , a quarter mile from the lake,a couple of miles from the Motorway,With no local buses, bars, restaurants, ferries. A taxi to the nearest town Desenzano cost 15 euros each way.
ACCOMODATION. I was allocated a run down apartment on the edge of the complex, to say it was distressed is an understatement, and refused to stay there. I was then given a normal bedroom within the hotel which was acceptable.Most of the other Just You guests were in similar apartments, complaints included no hot water, faulty lights, ant infestations etc.
FACILITIES. Being a motel, there was no comfortable lounge area, there was an outside terrace but too cold and wet to sit on in May.There was a reception, small bar, and three dining areas, because it was also a pizzaria.There were 2 swimming pools, the small one free, a charge of 5 euros to use the large one.
FOOD. Breakfast was the same every morning,ie. cheese and tasteless boiled ham (no salami, Italian meats, boiled eggs etc. Dinner had to be ordered the previous night, with a choice of 2 dishes for each course.The only decent Italian food I had was when I escaped in a taxi, or on an excursion,at lunchtime.
SERVICE. Was virtualy non existant, one girl tended the bar, served the food, cleared the dishes with little help from the Italian men who watched and talked.
CLEANLINESS. the initial apartment was a bit grubby, but my hotel room was acceptably clean.the main hotel area was fairly clean, but almost empty.
CONCLUSION. Only stay here if you are touring northern Italy by car and are desperate for a single nights accomodation.

Room Tip: If you want a hotel room insist on staying in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ronjon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My wife and I stayed 1 night at La Locanda Santa Giulia on our way to the north end of lake Garda. The hotel was easy to find and has dedicated guest parking. Check-in was very simple, we stayed in room 94 right above the main entrence. No problem with noise though - the double glazing was excellent. Our room had a seperate bedroom and bathroom which was a nice surprise (perhaps because it was a corner room?) plus a balcony.

The receptionist gave us good sight-seeing directions and all of the staff that we met spoke good English. We had dinner at the hotel and the pizzas were excellent, with great service throughout the meal. The breakfast selection was good and check-out was smooth and fast.

I've given the hotel 4/5 as there were a few items requiring maintenance in the room, but otherwise it was a great experience.

Room Tip: Room 94 is above the main entrance. It has a seperate bedroom and balcony. Noise was not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cloted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My boyfriend stayed for week in a lovely apartment just around the swimming pool. There are 3 swimming pools in fact, all well maintained and clean. The apartment was spot on and fuctional. The restaurant is also very nice. In summer you can dine on the terrace overlooking the pool. We tried it twice and the food was eccellent not to mation the authentic napolitan pizza that you can order by the metre. 1,20 cm it's what we had for 2 people: to die for. The stuff was joyful but descrete and always at your disposal. They serve a lovely continental breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, ham cheese and croissants.
We had a pleasent stay and felt like at home. It's nice to hang around in the bar area and sit on the terrace. I strongly raccomend this hotel well catered for families as well.

Room Tip: We has a self contained apartment around the pool. We loved it every minute of it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cinquebalconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padenghe sul Garda hotels
0.3 mi away
Splendido Bay Luxury Resort
Splendido Bay Luxury Resort
#1 of 6 in Padenghe sul Garda
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Terrazze sul Lago Residence & Hotel
Le Terrazze sul Lago Residence &...
#5 of 6 in Padenghe sul Garda
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Garda Hotel
West Garda Hotel
#2 of 6 in Padenghe sul Garda
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Garuti
Villa Garuti
#4 of 6 in Padenghe sul Garda
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il Castello B&B
Il Castello B&B
#4 of 10 in Padenghe sul Garda
10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Paradiso Del Garda
Il Paradiso Del Garda
#3 of 10 in Padenghe sul Garda
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Santa Giulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Santa Giulia

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 78, 25080 Padenghe sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Padenghe sul Garda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Padenghe sul Garda
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Santa Giulia 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Residence Santa Giulia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Santa Giulia Hotel Padenghe Sul Garda
Hotel Residence Santa Giulia Lake Garda/Padenghe Sul Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing