We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How disappointing this hotel was especially for the price we were charged.!”
Review of Hotel Sogno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sogno
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
359 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“How disappointing this hotel was especially for the price we were charged.!”
Reviewed 17 July 2007

We were really disappointed with this hotel. We booked it via the telephone and were promised two rooms with a lake view. On arrival we were shown one room with a view of the lake and a second, (which smelt), with a view of a house under construction at the rear. The receptionist was rude unfriendly to day the least, and told us on arrival that we could not have supper as there was a wedding. This was even more disappointing, as we were only staying for one night and with two young children wanted dinner in the hotel. After checking in, we looked for the receptionist/manager in order to report that one of the lavatory handles was broken, and in order to get a drink. Imagine our horror to find that we could find no one in reception or any other member of staff available in order to order a drink as presumably all the staff were helping at the wedding. This was disgraceful. This is not run as a 4* hotel. Needless to say, when we returned from having an indifferent meal (at a place recommended by the hotel) there was no parking space due to the wedding party, and there was a lot of noise from the wedding. In the room overlooking the lake, the curtains did not draw so we could not shut out the lights! In the morning, breakfast was pretty average - more like a 3* hotel, although the waiter was more friendly. You had to carry your food through to the front (no tray provided) and boil your own egg. We would certainly not recommend this hotel again. We paid a lot of money (more 5* prices) for this hotel. Indifferent and rude service particularly from the girl on the desk. The pool was nice, and had we been able to enjoy either dinner or breakfast at the restaurant overlooking the lake we might have thought differently about this hotel. We should add that we are used to staying a better quality hotels in the course of our business, and chose this small hotel as being suitable for a young family, with a restuarant overlooking the lake being an attractive feature. We
thought the service at this hotel appalling.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — Unfriendly and unhelpful staff when you could find them!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Reports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossiLombardia, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sogno, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
Hallo first of all sorry if we answer just now. We are sorry to read that you have been so disappointed about us. But there are some things that I remember exactly. You called us last minute and you spoke to me, and I told you that it was not possible to have 2 rooms lake view because we were fully booked because of a wedding, and I told you also that the restaurant was fully booked because of that wedding. You insisted to stay here also if we were fully booked.. As soon as you arrived you were immediately angry about that, also if I you knew that before arriving, and let me say that ,you were not very polite...Second thing the reception is 10 mt from the bar , where we were working, I am sorry if you didn't find me or someone alse at the reception , because you are right, we were all helping at the wedding, but 10 mt is not so far away... but anyway, that is our fault. For what concern breakfast, you are right, and this is one of the things that we changed in order to have a good breakfast for our guests. The problem was all due to this wedding, because the guests booked the entire hotel and there were 2 rooms left because some guests didn't arrive, and we didn't want to book them but as you insisted you were coming from Venice and you wanted to stay here we decided to give them to you, at a special price also..... but we are still here if you want to join us it can be that next time you can change your mind
Best regards
Rossana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    23
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brescia in Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2007

Hotel Sogno is a perfect location to enjoy the Garda lake. The view from our room was amazing overlooking the lake, the rooms itself was spotless and spacious and the hotel is very well maintained too with a lot of glamour oriental furniture, moreover there is a new nice pool in the garden. Finally Rossana greetly warmed us at our arrive and she's very friendly and helpful for all our stay. The italian word "sogno" say it all, our stay there was really a dream!

  • Liked — amazing lakeview, superlative resturant and wine choice
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Gianmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden-Baden, Germany
Level Contributor
299 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2006

This is a modern hotel, run by a famlily, located directly on the Garda Lake. Room size is average and decor modern and comfortable. Public rooms and bed rooms are clean. Breakfast ist buffet style and a variety of coffees are offered. Aircon did not work properly and there is no pool which is rather unusual for a four star hotel at Lake Garda. Restaurant is rather pricey and choices limited. Location is difficult to find and a car is a must.

  • Liked — lake location
  • Disliked — difficult to get to
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Felice del Benaco
1.3 mi away
Park Hotel Casimiro Village
Park Hotel Casimiro Village
#2 of 7 in San Felice del Benaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Luisa Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Luisa Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in San Felice del Benaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Hotel & Leisure
Bella Hotel & Leisure
#3 of 7 in San Felice del Benaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 10 in Manerba del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bellerive
Hotel Bellerive
#3 of 16 in Salo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sogno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sogno

Property: Hotel Sogno
Address: Via Porto San Felice 41, 25010 San Felice del Benaco, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > San Felice del Benaco
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in San Felice del Benaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sogno 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel lies in a very quiet village in Valtenesi, area of vines and olive-trees, castles and churches, where traditions are still present in people's faces and places. Everything here helps creating a magic atmosphere reminding you of the past. In San Felice fishermen still cast their nets at sunset, swans lay their eggs, early in the morning the only noise you can hear is that of nature, of waves breaking on the seashore, of gulls trying to catch some food... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sogno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sogno Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing