We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place and relaxing weekend”
Review of Giardino Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Giardino Lago
Ranked #1 of 6 Minusio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Hotel is in a very charming location just at the shores of the Lago Maggiore.
The room we had was not very big, but very clean, new and modern and pleasant in all aspects.
The staff is very freindly. The reastaurant and the terrasse ideal to make you feel on a real hoilday far away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

This lovely boutique hotel is situated right on the forefront of Lago Maggiore offering fantastic views from the rooms as well as restaurant and terrace.

The place has been recently refurbished and has modern and "green" feel. Rooms are not big but furnished to a very high standard. Bed, pillows, bed linens are what you can expect from the Swiss luxury hotel.

The place is very clean. Stuff helpful and attentive. Also during our two nights stay we were finding nice small treats in our room such as specially prepared by the restaurant iced tea or fruit plate.

We are very happy with our stay and would definitely consider coming back in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ispaniolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June 2012 for a friend's wedding. Rooms are tiny, but clean and stylish. Room prices are pretty hefty. The wedding dinner at the hotel was very good and vegetarians were well taken care of. Breakfast not super-big, but yummy. Our car found a parking spot on the tiny parking lot of the hotel, which we appreciated very much.

Room Tip: Small rooms are only minimally smaller than the big ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bleug79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Small hotel on top location, very friendly host and staff, great food, trendy setup.
Do not expect big rooms or you will be disappointed.
Try out the stand up paddling, it's great fun and free to use. Also free bikes for a ride along the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerRolfRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We just had an amazing time! Impeccable service, caring and warm welcome! Everything is so well thought - in every details! From the little notes in the room, to the drink they offer you at arrival and at departure, you feel pampered all the way. The location is magical (even if it rains!), peaceful and beautiful. The Spa at Giardino Ascona (we tried the outside pool) is a continuity to a high quality treatment. The staff was very helpful and patient before and during our stay...which was way too short! We can only hope to go back there soon! THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH FOR MAKING OUR STAY SO SPECIAL!!!!!!!!! Krystel and Sebastiano

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank absolutelyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Thank you Giardino for perfect weekend! Very friendly staff, fantastic restaurant (meat from 800 degree oven is must try dish!!), beautiful view over the lake and nice terrace. It was all we need for pleasure romantic time:-) Iryna and Martin

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iryna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer 107, nicht direkt zum See, dafür mit schöner Terrasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minusio
2.5 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Remorino
1.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 27 in Locarno
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Castello del Sole Beach Resort & SPA
3.0 mi away
Hotel Ascovilla
Hotel Ascovilla
#7 of 32 in Ascona
136 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giardino Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giardino Lago

Address: via alla Riva 83a, Minusio 6648, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Minusio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Minusio
Price Range: £214 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Giardino Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little gem of a hotel right on the shores of Lago Maggiore, Giardino Lago is sublime and blissfully relaxed - a heavenly escape for the modern traveller. Quality of life, sustainability and a friendly service underpin the concept and image of this Personal Retreat. The hotel forgoes convention and stars, but plays up intimacy with 14 individually designed rooms and one suite that invite to dream and relax. The restaurant Lago combines a laid-back atmosphere with striking architecture and breath-taking views of Lake Maggiore. On warm days the 400 sqm Roof Lounge is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Giardino Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giardino Lago Switzerland/Minusio, Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing