We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth staying”
Review of Giardino Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Giardino Lago
Ranked #1 of 6 Minusio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I had spent few days at this hotel, the location is really great and from here you can have nice walk along the lake to Locarno and take buses to all the great valleys in Locarno. The hotel staff are super helpful and friendly. They know how to make you feel at home. Here, you just feel so comfortable as if you're at home with people who are welcoming and warm. The restaurant at the hotel provides fantastic view in the mornings. It gives you great start of the day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boloroo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Such a beautiful location and food was delicious.
There was definitely a good choice of "cold" breakfast in between muesli and breads.
I kind of missed the English breakfast option but honestly didn't ask for it. Maybe if you ask you can get it.
I will definitely go back and I'm happy to tell friend about this place.
Amazing

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Za036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We attending a family 40th birthday party here and hotel was chosen for us by the organiser. When we finally arrived (the sat nav could not find it) the first impression is of a very modern contemporary hotel right on the edge of the Lake. it is not a huge hotel. The reception staff were very nice. Our room was not huge but big enougth for two nights (some members had very small rooms) it was spotlessly clean and fresh crisp linen. My partner felt the bed was not very comfortable. The room was contemporary and fresh colours of white aqua and browns so quite calming too. hairdryer tv ipod dock, tv toiletries are all supplied. The down side was that after we returned from our dinner out there were no hotel has around at night. The Bar and restaurant were shut and we had to sit in the reception and chat... An other downside of this is that when a member of the party left their door room fob in the room and was unable to get back in their room it took 1.5 hours for the concierge to come. Not ideal at 3 am when you just want to get to bed. On the whole this is a clean crisp and well situated hotel and the free bikes and body boards are a bonus. The main downside was the price it was rather expensive and no where to get a night cap.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms up the stairs turn left and the first room on the right not sure of the number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanne105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have stayed in the hotel for 2 nights, and enjoyed it. On the pros side, the location right on the lake (pedestrian zone) and yet with a good closed parking; the restaurant - seems to be a bit of "it-place" in Minusio, the food is very good and service is excellent, and Sunday brunch is fabulous - book table ahead; and finally, the staff was very attentive and accomodating, which was important for us travelling with a toddler which can get noisy and messy! On the cons, the rooms - as been mentioned in the past reviews - are really tiny, no provacy of the bathroom whatsoever (ssemi-transparent glass sliding door separates it from the bedroom). So make sure you are comfortable enough with the person you are staying with, if you know what I mean:) Overall a bit on the expensive side for what you get (although we are not budget travellers, but for the price one expects a bit more from the rooms), but well worth a visit for a night or two.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bukish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Agree with all other comments - rooms are tiny. However they are also fitted exceptionally well. The food in the restaurant was excellent - definitely worth booking a table...especially the steak...probably the best steak I've tasted outside of the US. Staff were friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel calls themselves "boutique" which I find really difficult to understand? Absolutely nothing special what so ever.....The rooms are tiny weeny and if you have a full sized case there is nowhere to perch it and no floor space to prop it open on. For E300 a night the least I expect is a bathrobe and slippers and to have a member of staff available in the hotel after 22.30 in case of emergencies, like the one, one of our group had when they locked their keys in the room and couldn't gain access. They called a random number found in the unmanned reception area and had to wait an eternity for them to arrive and let them in the room. They really sell themselves on the services of the sister hotel located in the centre of Ascona which you are expected to treck over to everyday if you want to use the pool or spa facilities.If you would like to paddle board and use the hotel jetty on the lake to access the water do so at your peril-there are more planks of wood missing than present creating a very dangerous walkway. The staff were lovely but this place is just a simple B&B in a lovely location misusing the title "boutique" they should call it "bijou" as it's much more appropriate! I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tesoromio01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet residential area right on the shore of Lake Maggiore. The walking distance to the city is about 25 minutes. We stayed two nights in May in this modern boutique hotel. We enjoyed our stay, however for 330 EUR per night the room #104 was tiny (13 sq.m. including bathroom). This was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. For all the attempts to make the room nice and functional it was really too small for a double room. It appears that the size of the rooms was sacrificed in favour of a restaurant, a terrace and a huge lounge. The parking is small, which might be a problem when the restaurant is even half full. The breakfast was really nice, as well as the service in general. There was no mini-bar in the room, so water and tea were provided for us in the hall free of charge. That was extremely thoughtful and convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elena076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minusio
2.5 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Remorino
1.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 27 in Locarno
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Berno
Hotel Casa Berno
#12 of 32 in Ascona
109 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castello del Sole Beach Resort & SPA
1.1 mi away
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giardino Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giardino Lago

Address: via alla Riva 83a, Minusio 6648, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Minusio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Minusio
Price Range: £175 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Giardino Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little gem of a hotel right on the shores of Lago Maggiore, Giardino Lago is sublime and blissfully relaxed - a heavenly escape for the modern traveller. Quality of life, sustainability and a friendly service underpin the concept and image of this Personal Retreat. The hotel forgoes convention and stars, but plays up intimacy with 14 individually designed rooms and one suite that invite to dream and relax. The restaurant Lago combines a laid-back atmosphere with striking architecture and breath-taking views of Lake Maggiore. On warm days the 400 sqm Roof Lounge is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Giardino Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giardino Lago Switzerland/Minusio, Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing