We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camping Spiaggia
Nearby Hotels
Contrada Lunga(Abbadia Lariana)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bed and Breakfast Le Colombine(Abbadia Lariana)(Great Value!)
US$77
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel Abbadia(Abbadia Lariana)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trattoria "I BODEGA" B&B(Abbadia Lariana)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rifugio Soldanella(Piani Resinelli)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Stanza di Giulia(Abbadia Lariana)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
49
49
14
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
49
14
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat campsitemobile hometrain stationlake comovisit comostayed here for three nightsgreat holidayfacilitiesmountainsshoreferrypizzeriamotorhomeviewscampgroundprivacy
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

It was our first trip to the Italian Lakes, and this was by far the best way to see them - from right on the shore. The site is lively and has a nice beach, the bar has great food and a really nice atmosphere, and you are close to Varenna by car where you can reach also the towns of Bellagio and Mennagio. It was a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TreanyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a place to relax in the sun, eat some nice food and have a beer, this is the place.

We camped for 3 nights and were very fortunate with the weather - sunny and 30°C every day. So, we didn't do a lot other than go to the beach and water based activities. We did, on one day, catch the train to Milan, which was fine - but only something we did for a previous appointment.

The beach was roughly 40m for our tent and we were in the middle of the campsite. It was easily accessible, as were all campsite facilities. There were canoes for hire and free wifi. The bar/restaurant served good food and cold drinks at a reasonable price.

I'd have to agree with previous reviews, that it was a little noisy - for the bar, and the occasional train passing by further up the hill. The bar noise wasn't a huge issue and certainly wasn't when we were down there enjoying the atmosphere.

The staff were friendly and there was a nice community feel to small layout of the campsite.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Small friendly campsite right on the pebbly shore of lake Como. The bar has a beach-bum feel, served reasonable pizza and pasta, had bread in the mornings and wasn't particularly noisy at night. We stayed in a family bungalow which was a tiny one-room thing but had a comfy bed, shady terrace and equipped kitchen. Some of the smaller bungalows were up in the car park, I would avoid those. There is a very small space for tents which looked a bit too crowded to me. Couldn't fault the location on a little beach on the lake.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getmeoutofthedrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The SatNav was constantly upset by so many tunnels for miles and they look never ending. Bring a good map. Turn from main road to camping will cost a new exhaust if not careful because it is so steep, on a difficult turn and we were perhaps overloaded with a teenager and her makeup.
There is a train station across the road which might be of use if you have no car and still want to enjoy the camping experience. The camping is as advertised. Not anything to say that is wrong. It is all very small and not a lot of space. Our tent at 8.5 meter didn't fit and we had to buy another one. This was our mistake as they told us in the email and on the website. Bring a separate sail or sheet to find some shelter from the intense power of the sun. Shower system with 50 cent coin system pay before you get in. You can put a second one I'm but that means walking naked to the coin slot machine for others to see your poor body, so it is advisable for you bring a dressing gown. No doors on the showers but decent curtains. Expect the occasional opera classic to be performed at the male shower units. O sole mio. The main male toilets are the well known aim for the whole on the floor system. I am proud to announce that I have mastered this task. Internet from the camping probably everywhere as the camping is so small. We could use the freezer to keep our groceries as cool as possible. Bring your own tennis table equipment as there is a table. Nice little kids play area. Don't bring table or chairs if you need to space in your car as they might have some spare.
Although nothing compares to my Suzuki Volusia buy there were some nice Moto Guzzi coming and going at this camp side. Nothing beats waking up by the sound of a Guzzi throttle. It seems that the drivers of these ancient bikes are males and definitively not their first midlife crisis. A good place to enjoy different motorcycles. On a hot weekend the locals come here and that is a good sign. However, the small bar and camping become crowed. I saw some Italians getting a 41 euro fine for parking in the streets opposite the camping. Lots of staff to help you part with the money you saved up to com(o)e here.. The beautiful sunshine so abruptly interfered by the thunder and lightning to a level so frightening. Make sure your tent is secured with high duty pegs and drill them as the stony ground is as dry as my humour. The lake is obviously beautiful but you should be able to water-ski or do anything except for just sitting on the dock of the bay wasting time. I don't want to travel miles to ski or surf I need to do it when I feel like it. Someone open a water sport business here and get so rich you can't imagine. Or a midget exterminator business as they are a real nuisance. Look into Avon body oil to enjoy your holiday. They do suffer here from the I have my towel over this sun bed syndrome but there are enough so don't join the sheep who need the towel syndrome in their life. No place on the stony, pebble beach after 8 in the morning during the weekend.
Church clock rings frequent and sometimes plays famous tunes. Still don’t know what is plays, just let me know (thanks). Make a day trip to Bergamo's old town, it is nice to do and not too far away. We drove down to Bellagio and this road is very narrow and winding with Italian drivers over/under taking you at any opportunity. It is a nice place to visit but prices are inflated to profit fully from the tourists. We had to pay 2 euro each for just the privilege of eating in a restaurant with very small portions of food and I was hungry. Today Sondrio one massive traffic jam, the town itself no one to be seen. Still don't know where they all went to. Barzio is a ski resort close by and worth the 10 euro plus 3.50 parking but no snow obviously in midsummer. This place is good for people who like looking at architecture, sunshine, walking, cycling but nothing to do on the water itself. Thanks.

Room Tip: No swimming pool on the camping but no real need as the lake is great to swim in. Small camping with not a lot of space but good service with nice and friendly staff.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JHB_Snainton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We decided to stay at a campsite on Lake Como on a trip through northern Italy to save a bit of money, and there is a lot of money to be saved on Lake Como. This is a very well equipped campsite right on the beach, and there are a lot of information leaflets available as well as friendly staff. The campsite has a bar/café on the beach which is pretty much the social hub of Abbadia, as there is nothing else in the village bar a couple of shops, cash machine and pharmacist. The village is not on the tourist list for the Lake for a reason... Also, the ferry service down this leg of the lake is very sparse due to this. There are regular trains (5 min walk from the campsite) up to Varenna on the regular ferry routes. If you have a car it would be much easier, but still you are a fair way from the tourist attractions. We got a small cabin with a bed, drawers, light bulb for Euro 33 per night. Nice, clean and comfortable. Showers and toilets were also clean and well appointed - tokens purchased for showers, think it cost a Euro and one was long enough. Overall it's a good campsite, but if I were to go to Como again I would stay at one on the western shore near one of the ferry stops.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews