We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant with room for improvement”
Review of Locanda Sant'Anna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Locanda Sant'Anna
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Argegno
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is in a tranquil location with fantastic walks nearby. The rooms are clean and spacious but nothing special. A couple of issues - the rather lacklustre reception when we arrived and the incongruous plastic conservatory extension with plastic chairs (one of my pet hates!) and artificial flower arrangements(another one!). This sits so uncomfortably with their fabulous restaurant where we dined (alone, though it was a Monday night). Again, the service was half-hearted at best - we speak italian so this was not an issue but we just felt as if we were a bit in the way and they wanted us to hurry up so they could go home/out! However, the meal was superb and we would go back for the restaurant alone.
In the morning we wanted to go for an early run and found everything still locked up so had to limbo under the plastic conservatory shutter to escape! Breakfast was a little brighter as the signora who served us was much more animated than her colleagues/family!
A note for wi-fi enthusiasts, this is available but only accessible in certain areas of the hotel, in our room it was only available in a corner of the floor by the door!
To sum up, very good but could be excellent with a little more effort all round!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SignoraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2010

Of course every hotel near the shores of Lake Como is expensive, but if you have no lake view like our room this is more a disadvantage. The hotel is quite far from the lake and high in the mountains, but even from there the lake view is nice.
The hotel has a restaurant (not tried) and a couple of rooms, named after flowers. Our room at the second floor (Anemone?) was very small and not cosy but clean as well as the bathroom. There is no hotel lobby or lounge you could hang around only a mini space at the entrance and the restaurant itself. If it is warm weather you can sit outside which is nice. Owned by brother and sister (we suppose) the brother is very helpful and the sister mainly hunting your bucks. So in toto we would recommand it only for one night and nothing els is at hand. We have cut our stay form three to two nights.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valgella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I stayed at Locanda Sant'Anna for 5 nights at the end of July/beginning of August. The hotel far exceeded my expectations - it is quaint and the decor is simple yet very stylish. The views of the lake are breathtaking. The first room we were given overlooked the hills at the back - really pretty. The hotel then offered us one of the rooms looking out over the lake for our last 2 nights - it was breathtaking, especially at sunrise.
I found the rooms to be clean and the bathrooms bright and spacious. The food at the restaurant is excellent - the tiramisu is heavenly - I ate one every night I stayed there!

We celebrated my partner's birthday and the hotel even prepared a special hot breakfast (complete with candles) for him.

Although you need a car to reach the hotel, the drive up in itself , on the winding hairpin bends, is an experience.

I cannot wait to return to Locanda Sant'Anna and I will be recommending it to my friends and family!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterfly_tayis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

There is much promise here, but very little delivery, which is most unfortunate. The locanda is beautifully situated with a stunning view of the lake and, when we were there at least, the snow covered mountains that surround it. Aside from our bedroom, which was spacious and functional (apart from the usual Italian disappointments of exhaust fans for the shower and hair dryers), there was also a very promising restaurant. This was most welcome as the drive back from the lake after dinner might have been a little awkward to negotiate. Despite all these benefits, it was a very strange place to stay. I speak both Italian and English, but the staff seemed reticent to speak in either. After dinner (for which we were charged coperto despite being hotel guests, a fact I find annoying), no staff member acknowledged us, nor asked if we had enjoyed our meal. We just left in silence and returned to our room. I observed the same with another couple who had finished prior to us. Having travelled a great deal in Italy, to find Italian restaurant/hotel proprietors that do not communicate with guests is very rare. At first I thought they may have been shy (not ideal for the job, but at least some rationale). However, given the disdain with which they treated us, even locking us in, I think they were just plain rude.

Pity - so much potential, so little result.

NB I wrote the same review into the review of the restaurant. I am disappointed by the experience - it is the type of thing you really want to find in Italy. But yo want it to be genuine.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JGinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

we found this small boutique hotel ...out of no where ,it runs by a family and believe me it was totaly fantastic,,,,,very cheap price for double room 5 minutes from lake como away from sound and noice ,with an amasing restaurant downstairs......well i think one photo can tranlslate my feelings...... if u ever be there give a big HI to ALBERTO..from Greece.......really you will have nothign to loose by spending your time at this area.....only negative u should have a car,,,,,,,if it can be negative....

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerdolp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2007

This is an excellent small hotel, run by a friendly family. It has a sophisticated, quiet and unhurried air, suitable for couples and not really for families with children. It looks stunning and is high up above Lake Como, via some tight hairpin bends and along a narrow road, but the views are fantastic (from most but not all rooms). It has a superb restaurant (noticed that a lot of locals came to eat) and a delightfully relaxed atmosphere. Rooms are good and individual, but not outstanding. The croissants and bread at breakfast (cold food only, but excellent) were the best I have ever tasted. When we left ,we were given a bottle of local wine and a DVD on Lake Como. Definitely one to return to, even if the lake was a little disappointing - well not the lake itself, but the roads and villages, due I think to the fact tha everything is so squashed together, because the mountains are so steep; on top of that, whilst Como is delightful, a lot of the flat parts south are all pretty much hideous ribben development leading to Milan.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiore947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argegno
6.1 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
834 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#10 of 32 in Como
275 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Orso Bruno
Hotel Orso Bruno
#1 of 1 in Carate Urio
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
La Griglia H
La Griglia H
#2 of 4 in Argegno
123 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
855 reviews
15.4 mi away
Oasi dei Celti
Oasi dei Celti
#1 of 1 in Dorio
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Sant'Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Sant'Anna

Address: Via Per Schignano 1, 22010 Argegno, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Argegno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Argegno
Price Range: £63 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Sant'Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Locanda Sant'Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Sant'Anna Lake Como/Argegno, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing