We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful villa with breathtaking views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa La Ruga

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
120 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Argegno, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 120 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
tennispla...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Wonderful villa with breathtaking views”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

For a family looking to get away, this villa is the perfect place. Snuggled in a small cozy town, the residence is very charming. We especially liked the bocce court, as it can be enjoyed by all ages in the family. We had a boat pick us up right at the dock of the villa for 3-hour tour of the lake that we will never forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bocce court, mountain views, huge living room with lake view, proximity to town, proximity to neighboring towns by boat
Liked least: Note that the villa is located down a hill, so elderly folks may need additional time to walk into town.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Villa you dreamed about!”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were eight seniors from Arizona, and this was the best trip we have ever taken together. The Villa was more than we expected. Beautiful on the outside, and beautiful on the inside. The perfect location on Lake Como for the best views possible, and Francisco, the young owner, was the most accommodating landlord we have ever encountered. He is a lawyer by trade, yet somehow found the time to help us in any way we needed without hesitation.
We had a birthday dinner by the chef Francisco provided, and the meal he made for us was outstanding.
The little tow a few minutes walk has everything you could ask for available, and we spent a lot of time there.
The ferry boats form town, can take you to any part of th lake you wanted to see.
The area around the Villa is rather hilly, so for any seniors visiting, I would recommend renting a car to make the trips easier. Our group ranged in age from 65 to 82, in fairly good condition, and we had little problem getting around. The younger people will have no problem.
The Villa is a beautiful, magical place, and we would certainly go back again, and refer it to friends, and family. You can't go wrong here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful grounds, and the view.
Liked least: Some difficulty adjusting the heat when needed.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy Lee...
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfecto”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We loved the villa, Francseco the manager was so helpful, so cheerful and kind. We will love to go back with family and friends again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the view,
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
824michel...
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous views”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Fabulous views, wonderful host, fantastic villa. We loved our few days relaxing on the last leg of our Italy tour. Would love to go back and stay again. Clean, well stocked kitchen, comfortable, lots of room, short walk to lovely food and quaint town, many options in the area for taking in the views, nature, boating or just relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SibelL43
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“It was extraordinary”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We did see the pictures of the Villa at time of booking but the actual house was even better than the pictures. It was a great weekend with family and friends. We will definately revisit the Villa. Francesco welcomed us the first day although we arrived late and advised us tips about the area. He also helped us organise a boat trip by the lake which was very convenient. Overall, it was a superb vacation. Thank you Francesco for everything!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia D
1 review
“Unforgettable experience!”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Francesco was a great host, very responsive and in a good mood!
Villa is on an amazing location, with great views on the lake and mountains.
The access by boat makes it feels so special and enables you to enjoy fully the natural and architectural beauties of the Como lake.
We were a bigger group, 2 families, and 2 more couples, the organisation of rooms was just perfect.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THaushalt...
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best of the best on Lake Como”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Villa La Ruga with my mother and father and just can't say enough great things about it! The ease of booking it with the host Francesco was impressive since I booked at 10PM and wanted to arrive the next day. This villa is right on the lake with a massive yard, covered and uncovered decking, lots of parking space, and a very well-laid out home. It even has a bocce ball court and boat dock. The house is wonderfully private, yet an easy walk up the street and there are many restaurants, boat rentals, etc. We were greeted upon arrival and shown everything we would need to know by Francesco, who also was happy to arrange private chef and many other nice services for us.

It is hard to impress via this review how special of a place Villa La Ruga really is, but if you get the chance do book this place as a treat to yourself. Enjoying places like this is why we all work so hard. If it is an option for you - do it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the home and the on-lake location
Liked least: Going home.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing