We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It doesn't get much better ...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa La Ruga

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
121 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Argegno, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Departure...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It doesn't get much better ...”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I wanted something special to celebrate my 50th birthday with my friends and I certainly wasn't disappointed. The villa is beautiful, it is quirky, unique and has the most stunning location on the lake. The views are amazing and they are even better than Clooneys old shack up the road and that is saying something! The surrounding towns are beautiful and restaurants and bars are in abundance serving very good quality food. We hired a beautiful boat and had a few hours cruising on the lake and that was bliss. Francesco is a great host, he is very supportive and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. He helped prepare before my trip and was on hand to advise during our stay. He even managed a surprise birthday cake and stocked the fridge with champagne. I have travelled extensively and I can honestly say that the Villa and the location is unrivalled. I would recommend this for a group of friends or family, we had the most fantastic time in a beautiful, charming place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa & location
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sodaash
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As Good as it gets”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We rented Villa La Ruga for the last week of our stay in Italy. The only words to describe how we felt were, Beautiful,Relaxed,Charmed,Spoiled. For us it was the great relaxation of a closing week. We traveled the lake by car, by ferry, and with our eyes from the deck. We played Bocce,Cooked dinners with local produce and products and drank wine and forgot about the world for a short while.We walked to town,had drinks or took the ferry.
The owner Francesco was a charming young gentleman who was there to offer any amenity we might choose.He provided us with his phone number and checked in mid week to make sure we were ok. We choose to have dinner in the Villa on the night we arrived(We drove from Rome).Umberto made us a lovely dinner. Bruschetta,and local meat and cheese to start, second Lasagna, followed by Sea bass with capers, olives and tomatoes.Dessert also. While wine was offered we choose to bring quite a bit of Tuscany with us as we had spent three weeks traveling there prior. Francesco also made sure that we had Coffee/Expresso for the morning,eggs,cereal and milk. There was fresh fruit and all the things needed to accompany any meals we might want to make, Umberto left us enough for Breakfast and lunch in the next day.For this group this was the perfect end to our travels in Italy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View and connivance to the Lake
Liked least: The traffic
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Views on Lake Como”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Villa La Ruga is a wonderful place to take in the beauty of Lake Como - a truly spectacular view greets you every morning from the terrace. The waterside location is five star!

The villa has a lovely homely feel to it and is a very comfortable place to unwind and relax over some good Italian wine and food. It is positioned very close to the main road going into Aregegno so access was easy coming from the village where there are a few good bars and restaurants,

The property manager is Francesco - his hospitality and welcome is very warm and friendly, and throughout our two week holiday he was always available to offer advice or answer any questions.

The boat that was available to hire was a fantastic addition to the villa and made our stay even more special. Great being able to slip out from the villa's boat house for trips around the lake.

We also enjoyed a lovely traditional meal cooked by Valentina at the villa (Umberto was on holiday) which the six of us enjoyed very much.

In short - a fabulous setting with superb hospitality. We will be back.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoungFami...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The BEST villa on lake Como”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a totally perfect villa right on the shore of lake Como. The views are stunning and the villa itself is totally brilliant. We stayed there for a week and we are already thinking about our next trip. Our two children loved swimming in the lake and speeding around in a motor boat we rented. Argegno is a lovely little town within easy walking distance, with plenty of nice restaurants, and the other nearby towns are also very picturesque. Switzerland is an easy day trip from the villa and there are plenty of other activities near by - climbing, canyoning, hiking etc. Francesco, the villa's owner, could not have been more helpful - he booked restaurants for us, arranged boats and wake-boarding sessions, gave us advice about where to go, and nothing was too much trouble for him. If you want to spend some time on an Italian lake in style then this is the perfect place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y909OYlis...
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“A Room With A View!!”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Such a beautiful property you will never want to come inside! We have loved our stay here and feel lucky to have found this special place. Francesco has been so helpful to us and arranged for anything we needed. What makes this villa so special is the view of the lake. The inside is simple and a bit dated but clean. The kitchen is a bit small if you like to cook, as we do, but manageable. Overall we have really enjoyed our stay!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Dear Madame,

thank you very much for your kindness!! If you will come on the Lake again you are Always welcome!!

All the best.

Francesco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita F
1 review
“AMAZING 6 DAYS”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Villa La Ruga in July and from the time we were greeted by the owner Francesco we new we had booked the right place. The villa was perfect for the eight of us travelling from Australia. The views from this villa are simply amazing and you never get tired of looking at the lake or the mountains. The bedrooms and the living area are spacious and comfortable and it also has a fully equipped kitchen which came in very handy. Francesco organised for a chef (Umberto) to cook for us on our first night at the villa, so well worth it, the food was amazing and he set up the table for us outside on the balcony. Francesco was very helpful with organising day trips for us which made staying at the villa even more memorable. It also has a bocce pitch in its beautifully manicured gardens. I would recommend this villa to anyone who is looking for a relaxing and private place to stay. Looking forward to going back again some day soon. Thank you Francesco for your wonderful hospitality.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancycro
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
“An extraordinary villa on Lake Como is a place for dreaming”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This spacious villa on the western bank of Lake Como is a special place. The stone patio projects over the lake; you sit there in a comfortable chaise watching the ever-changing ripples on the water and the mists rising and falling from the mountaintops. At the private dock you can be picked up and taken wherever you like by water. Out on the lake, you look back on the patio and its stone base as a kind of ship’s prow and the 2-story house itself with its arches as the deck. The bocce court (which can be lit at night) is enclosed by a formal garden of gray stone and green lawn that pulls you in and makes you want to linger. The real world slips away. La Ruga is a place for dreaming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Incredible space inside and out; great patio for dining; fun bocce court and garden right on the lake; easy walk into town; well-located for trips to famous villas and gardens; charming/helpful host; good restaurants nearby.
Liked least: Nothing; everything was great.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing