We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Griglia H

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Griglia H
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Argegno
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa
2 reviews
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

I really love this hotel. The location is actually not good for travels without car. But if you have car and GPS, it's ideal place. If you like quiet and romantic places it's for you. Yhe restaurant is good, traditional italian dishes (only small portions I think ), wine is excellent. No prroblem with parking. But nothing entertainment surround, only the hotel restaurant. Have to drive to the narrow and quite dangerous road. The interior is very cosy.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick8Vick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    48
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
56
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed for one night after having read all the positive reviews.
Well, we couldn't almost sleep: too noisy! There are no carpets on floors so you hear everyone walking , the walls are thin and far from soudproof and the noise of the extractor fan in the bathrooms travels from room to room, for your happiness.
Go to La Griglia for a good dinner, but avoid "sleeping" there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaPigna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

If you plan a week near lake Como, make sure you spend a couple days at La Griglia. It is a small hotel and restaurant, which is firstly known among locals as a great place to eat. Me and my friends were probably the only guests in the hotel, while restaurant was filled by locals.

The hotel is located high in the mountains so it's not exactly on the coast. It will take you around 10 minutes to get down to the beach road and another 10 minutes to nearest big city. Pricing is rather high for a off-site hotel, following the trend for entire Como region.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone (couple or friends) who is driving by their own car, likes good food and doesn't wants some quiet place to enjoy the view.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgi_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2008

This is a popular destination for locals and not-so-locals (there were several Swiss cars there when we arrived on a Sunday lunch) and it's easy to see why. The food is authentic Northern Italian - lots of local game in season served with robust, steaming puddings of polenta. Fish from the Lake is offered in various forms, well, if simply prepared - there's nothing fancy about this kitchen. Pasta and risotto is good. Fine wine list with a really super house red bought from the same Garda producer by the family since 1967! Rooms are better than they look on the website, very nicely appointed and comfortable. Breakfasts are fairly ordinary with poor coffee. Lake Como is 10 minutes drive down the hill and fleeting glances of the lake are possible from parts of the hotel - or should I say inn - which is what La Griglia is, in the best traditions of innkeeping. Avoid Tuesdays as although you can still stay the restaurant and snug little bar is closed all day. If you do stay on Tuesday the neighbouring hotel, Locanda Sta. Anna has a reasonable restaurant.

  • Liked — All round hospitality
  • Disliked — Coffee at breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank housered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

Sorry it's taken me so long to write this review, we stayed here May of 07', but hopefully the fact that I am still remembering my time here is evidence enough of the time we had. We were fortunate enough to stay at La Griglia for 2 nights last May and had a wonderful time. Other than staying in waterfront accomodations which we couldn't afford anyways, this is the next best thing. Argegno is a great place to have as a home base. There is a ferry dock right in town that will take you to anywhere you'd like to visit on the lake, and Switzerland is only about 20 minutes away in case you get a chance to visit. The accomodations were simple yet very clean and property was gorgeous. There were flowers everywhere and a great restaurant with outdoor seating. We had a great view of the lake from our bedroom window and being the time of year we went, were able to keep the windows open at night. It's about a 5 minute drive up the mountain from the lake to La Griglia but to us this wasn't an issue at all. If you have a rental car, which we did, this isn't a problem. As far as the service, it was fantastic. To give you an idea, we called at the last minute and changed our reservation from 1 night to 2 and they didn't try to charge us anymore. We also had a very early flight the day of checkout so they arranged to have breakfast waiting for us downstairs @ 4:00 am, pastries, hot coffee, fruit, etc. They really made us feel at home and were very helpful with any questions we had etc. I think that's the highlights. Good luck with you travel. I promise you that for the money, you can't beat this place.

  • Liked — Views, Service, Value
  • Disliked — None, it was perfect
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCTOLLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phxglobetrotter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

Great small hotel in Lake Como area. It was a real bargain compared to most other places in the area. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable, and very good breakfast is included. The restaurant is also great for dinner (awesome wine list at very reasonable prices). The property is about a 5 min drive from Argegno up a mountain road. Great base for day trips in the area.

  • Liked — Great service/ staff.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank phxglobertrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argegno
4.8 mi away
Hotel Orso Bruno
Hotel Orso Bruno
#1 of 1 in Carate Urio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
10.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#7 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Argegno
Hotel Argegno
#3 of 4 in Argegno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Locanda Sant'Anna
Locanda Sant'Anna
#4 of 4 in Argegno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
8.8 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 33 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.4 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Griglia H? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Griglia H

Property: La Griglia H
Address: Localita Sant'Anna 1, 22010 Argegno, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Argegno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Argegno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Griglia H 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Griglia H reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Griglia Argegno
La Griglia H Lake Como/Argegno, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing