We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, better in summer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago
Ranked #2 of 8 Brunate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have stayed there only for 1 night. Was nice, clean, for 3stars plus hotel, you dont expect something outstanding. For sure it is a nice place to stay during the summer period, as it have a breakfast room on a terrace outside, while theview on the lake of Como is really wonderfull. They have sauna s well, if required. 1 minus, they could not offer us the dinner ( may be as of the low season) and we were forced to visit the only restaurant was in surrounding. For people who know Italian cuisine and who is able to appriciate it that please was auful. Please dont be lazy to drive down ( as this place is realy ON THE TOP OF THE MOUNTAIN) and find another one :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lapochkajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

After a full-day tour around the beautiful Lago di Como we had a nice dinner right by the cathedral in the town center in the city of Como. it was getting late and we had no place to stay so we started searching the internet and found Paradiso sul Lago. We made a quick decision to stay at this hotel, which we will never forget!

It is located in the village of Brunate which sits high in the mountains above the city of Como. This provides for a spectacular setting of the hotel. Our room has a fantastic view over the lake. From the lighthouse situated on a mountain top only a 100 meters away, you can see the other side of the lake.

The surroundings of the hotel are not only beautiful but also quiet - in other words ideal for relaxation and pleasing the mind.

The service was very helpful and friendly. We came at night, with the air turning cool, and they kept the outside pool and spa open for us - what a fantastic way to end a long day!

The rooms are nice and clean, equipped with the necessary. The hotel offers a quite good breakfast selection which is served downstairs in the large dining room which has a good lake view.

We came with two small children (aged 1 and 3) and we felt very welcome and relaxed.

Room Tip: Be sure to get lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danbjerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Albergo Paradiso sul Lago in Brunate for two nights while traveling on our honeymoon. We loved the hotel and it was a great place to relax and enjoy each other’s company after being on the go for several days.There are multiple “villages” on the lake and Brunate is not exactly on the lake but high on a hill overlooking it. I had no trouble making a reservation and the hotel staff was very helpful and provided great directions for how to reach the location. We arrived in Como late in the evening. It was dark and we had trouble getting a taxi, but with the help of some loclas a driver finally arrived and took us for the ride of our lives up the steepest, curviest road ever! We eventually made it to the top of this high mountain and we welcomed with complimentary glasses of prosecco. Our room was cozy and the view we woke up to was phenomenal.

The hotel has a great breakfast and good deals on wine and beer that you could bring up to your room. While here we went to the quaintest restaurant run by this little old couple. The hotel recommended it and while I cannot remember the name, if you were to ask for the restaurant where the owner will come pick you up they would know what you were talking about. This little old guy picked us up from the hotel and drove us to his restaurant/home. His wife was the cook and made everything to order. They handwrite their menu every day and speak VERY little English so make sure you know what things mean ahead of time. It was DELICIOUS.

During out stay we just chilled on their terrace overlooking the lake for a day and then headed down the funicular back into Como where we caught the high speed boat to the mid section of the lake. It is not necessary to stay in Brunate, but it was a cool experience that I thought was worth sharing. The hotel, restaurant and view made it well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Room was great! Large, open. Bathroom clean and roomy. Breakfast was plentiful. Staff were very accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank europa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

- Nice view (hotel is almost on top of the (steep) mountain)
- Nice owner, very helpfull and service-oriented (and good pizza chef) :-)
- Small but good breakfast
- Clean rooms
- Nice whirlpool on the terrace
- Funicular nearby (10 minutes drive from hotel) for quick and easy travelling to Como
- Recommended restaurant nearby (under the funicular) is Ristorante Bellavista in Brunate: very nice view and nice food
- Good location for hiking if you like steep hikes or cycling if you like climbs by bike
- Recommended visits: Bellagio, Bergamo, Lecco, Milano (by train) and in bad weather go to Fox Town in Mendrisio, Switzerland
- Ask the owner or receptionist to advise you about nice places to visit
- http://www.paradisosullago.eu/

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hugo2011aug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

This place surprised us with the amazing view, friendly hospitality and peacefulness. We enjoyed swimming in the pool in the morning and the breakfast was great. The personnel took very good care of us and we got many nice advices what to do and where to go in the area. It was easy to go down to Como even though the hotel is situated up on a hill. The rooms were clean and we felt like home from the first day until the day we left. We slept here very well! Next time when we go back to lake Como, we will defenitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3womenfromFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Very nice little hotel. Small rooms but with good furniture and a good bathroom with shower. Most of the rooms with a fantastic view to the lake. The view changes during different light conditions. I had to take a picture each time I looked out of the window.

Very nice and helpfull owner and staff. It takes 20 minutes to drive on small mountainroads up from the city of Como, but you get a lot of views to the city and the lake on the way.

A nice area with a good breakfastrestaurant. Right next to the hotel there is a good restaurant. At least 2 moore restaurants within 1 km.

We are a danish couple. We stayed for a week and made daytrips to the city of Como, by boat to the beautiful city of Bellagio. Drove in our rentet car to Milano. We also made a daytrip to another beautiful city, Menaggio and up into the the mountains through Schwitzerland to Lugano.

The hotel offers very good value for trecking in the mountains surrounding the hotel or as a base for daytrips to Milano, around the lake, to the city of Como an many other destinations in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmortensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunate
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellavista Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Locanda Milano 1873
Locanda Milano 1873
#2 of 3 in Brunate
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
883 reviews
12.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,118 reviews
15.4 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago

Address: Via Giovanni Scalini 70 - 74 | Frazione San Maurizio, 22034 Brunate, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Brunate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Brunate
Price Range: £88 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small eco-friendly family hotel Paradiso sul Lago, existing from 1908, is located at 900 metres a.s.l. in a wonderful panoramic location with view on the nicest area of the Lake Como from Moltrasio to Laglio where George Clooney owns Villa Oleandra. There are several possibilities for boat tour or hiking from the hotel and for your relax you can use the big swimming pool and solarium on the lake view terrace. At walking distance there is the Volta Lighthouse tower with a unique view on the Alps and the Lake Como. The hotel and its 12 rooms have been renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Paradiso Sul Lago Hotel Brunate
Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago Brunate, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing