We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago
Ranked #1 of 8 Brunate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Only a two hour drive from Milan airport, yes, the road up to Brunate is winding but it's pretty and well worth it when you reach the hotel, with the most magnificent view. The host was welcoming and professional. We really appreciated the complimentary drink on arrival after a long flight into Milan. We also loved the quiet and peaceful location and being able to go down to Como for the day on the funicular but return afterwards to the quiet and beautiful surroundings in Brunate. We loved being able to go for long walks into the hills overlooking the lake, directly from the hotel, and walking around the narrow lanes and walkingdown to the funicular. The buffet breakfast was good and ended up being the best of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiratSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    66
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
47
87
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salina, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Proprietor greeted us with a welcome drink when we arrived. He spoke excellent English. The views from the terrace are amazing and we were able to enjoy these views every morning during breakfast. Room was comfortable with a good sized terrace, though the bathroom was on the small size, but not a problem. The road to the hotel is rather narrow and winding, with hairpin turns. Beware! But the views from the top of Brunate are well worth it! You could always use the funiculare from Lake Como up to the mountain and arrange with the owner to come and collect you as he did with other visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irgam89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warragul, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stunning views of Lake Como in a Village like atmosphere. Worth the extra travelling by train and then funiculare up the mountain. The owner collected us from the funiculare, it can be walked but not recommended with luggage.Rooms were neat and tidy. The views from the terrace sensational. Unfortunately the outdoor pool on the terrace was not in use. It had snowed the week before. We enjoyed Pizza night at the hotel. Helpful staff with good recommendations for sight seeing ideas.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Absolutely stunning views of Lake Como from rooms we stayed in as well as yard where pool and Jacuzzi are located. Wi-Fi connection in our part of the hotel/room was quite weak and you have to pay additional money for the Jacuzzi, but those are very minor things. If you're driving and not used to Italian roads the road to hotel can be, should I say "challenging"? Overall, definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was truly a wonderful experience for us - the view alone is worth the stay, but with a pool, a patio, and very friendly staff this place is a little bit of heaven above Como. Yes, the rooms are a bit small, but book one on the lakeside of the hotel. The owner will pick you up at the top of the funicular, so don't be afraid to call him to do just that. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We got there it was raining, and we hated that we had to carry our own bags up a flight of stairs.

the rooms were cold (temperature and design) very hospital like. the bathroom is anything but private, not to mention the rooms are NOT sound proof!!

but when the rain cleared, the view was spectacular and made the climb up mountain worth it.

the indoor pool was nice as well, and very private considering it was raining. and there was not much people.

Room Tip: choose one with a balcony, there is only two or four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibn_bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

stayed here as a stopover. The drive up the hillside to reach the hotel was very windy, but as a driving enthusiast, I found this enjoyable. (Recommend driving up as it is a well laid tarmac road surface) the owner/host was very welcoming and even gave us a lift to the cable car junction later in the evening.

the jacuzzi carries a small fee to use but the pool is a nice place to relax with stunning views.. breakfast was simple (continental) but the owner went out of his way to accommodate our requests.

A good stay all round, and I would recommend this hotel for anyone interested in natural beauty based on the views. Best not as a stopover, but to spend at least 3 nights there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jit-V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunate
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
781 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
1,286 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Lake Como Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bellavista Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
461 reviews
12.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago

Property: Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago
Address: Via Giovanni Scalini 70 - 74 | Frazione San Maurizio, 22034 Brunate, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Brunate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Brunate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small eco-friendly family hotel Paradiso sul Lago, existing from 1908, is located at 900 metres a.s.l. in a wonderful panoramic location with view on the nicest area of the Lake Como from Moltrasio to Laglio where George Clooney owns Villa Oleandra. There are several possibilities for boat tour or hiking from the hotel and for your relax you can use the big swimming pool and solarium on the lake view terrace. At walking distance there is the Volta Lighthouse tower with a unique view on the Alps and the Lake Como. The hotel and its 12 rooms have been renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Paradiso Sul Lago Hotel Brunate
Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago Brunate, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing