We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel on top op the mountain wit a stonning view to the lake 600 meters below”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago
Ranked #2 of 8 Brunate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Very nice little hotel. Small rooms but with good furniture and a good bathroom with shower. Most of the rooms with a fantastic view to the lake. The view changes during different light conditions. I had to take a picture each time I looked out of the window.

Very nice and helpfull owner and staff. It takes 20 minutes to drive on small mountainroads up from the city of Como, but you get a lot of views to the city and the lake on the way.

A nice area with a good breakfastrestaurant. Right next to the hotel there is a good restaurant. At least 2 moore restaurants within 1 km.

We are a danish couple. We stayed for a week and made daytrips to the city of Como, by boat to the beautiful city of Bellagio. Drove in our rentet car to Milano. We also made a daytrip to another beautiful city, Menaggio and up into the the mountains through Schwitzerland to Lugano.

The hotel offers very good value for trecking in the mountains surrounding the hotel or as a base for daytrips to Milano, around the lake, to the city of Como an many other destinations in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmortensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2010

It took us 40 mins to drive up the steep mountain to Brunate but as we pulled into the driveway we saw the view of the lake... amazing! The staff were so accommodating, a complimentary drink on check in and the manager escorted us to our room. She invited us to a party at the lighthouse where all the locals were celebrating. The staff were knowledgeble and helpful about getting down the funicolare to Como.

The rooms were basic but we had free wi-fi and a view of the lake so I didn't need anything else.

We had complimentry continental breakfast which was nice, as there are no restaurants to have breakfast in Brunate.

The last night we were there we saw fireworks down on the lake, during a lightning storm, it was so spectacular.

I highly recommend buying a Kangacuvallo t-shirt from the little stand across the road.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TianaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Its hard to find..but worth it. Views are stunning. Its a small B & B with warm and accommodating owners and staff. The hotel is spotless and although the rooms are small and sterile it is a great value considering the view, the terrace and pool (which is hard to find in the Como at B&Bs) Its a great value B&B. Great for hikers as many trails lead up to or out of San Mauritzio. You need a car if you plan to visit the lake a lot, but if you want to hike or just hang out and chill on the terrace...this is the place. One of the most beautiful views on earth...and the staff are incredible. Nice breakfast too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cositanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

The vieuws where amazing, the people at the hotel very friendly and helpfull. We also got a welcoming drink. Breakfast was very good. It was very windy, so if we opened the window in the room it was very cold and the wind blow everything away in the small room. For that price we expected a slitly bigger room. The foto's at there website of the rooms are not correct. Bathroom very small and old. Ideal for staying one night but sertenly not longer. Take in account that the road to the hotel ( 12 km ) is very small and steep.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petraAarschot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

+ nice view to lake of Como
+ good polenteria nearby (not part of the hotel)
- room size ok but no passion for detail
- walls so thin you hear the neighbours talk (and snore)
- no curtains, no shutter (help yourself with towels)
- wardrobe without hangers
- wouldn't give any reduction in price

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy8129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Unfortunately the rooms with a view were already booked. We went to bed before midnight because we planned to leave early. The place was so noisy, people entering, doors banging, water pipes, every sound reverberated through the corridor. It was more like we stayed in youth hostel than an hotel. As we left early we cannot tell you what breakfast was like. Friendly staff.
When you are in Brunate do visit the restaurant Il Bettolino. It is at the top of Brunate with excellent home made Italian food and wine, service, and a sensational view. The owner has a pick up service so you can drink as much as you like.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabethvO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Absolutely loved this quiet B&B overlooking the magnificent Lake Como. The staff was not only helpful and accommidating, but provided an extra touch of friendliness that made you feel as though you were staying in their home as a personal guest, very different from many Hotels with their generic talk and amenities. After extensive touring throughout Europe, Paradiso Sul Lago is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-MorganAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunate
0.5 mi away
Bellavista Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
846 reviews
0.6 mi away
Locanda Milano 1873
Locanda Milano 1873
#2 of 3 in Brunate
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
512 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
901 reviews
9.2 mi away
Filario Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago

Address: Via Giovanni Scalini 70 - 74 | Frazione San Maurizio, 22034 Brunate, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Brunate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Brunate
Price Range: £70 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small eco-friendly family hotel Paradiso sul Lago, existing from 1908, is located at 900 metres a.s.l. in a wonderful panoramic location with view on the nicest area of the Lake Como from Moltrasio to Laglio where George Clooney owns Villa Oleandra. There are several possibilities for boat tour or hiking from the hotel and for your relax you can use the big swimming pool and solarium on the lake view terrace. At walking distance there is the Volta Lighthouse tower with a unique view on the Alps and the Lake Como. The hotel and its 12 rooms have been renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Paradiso Sul Lago Hotel Brunate
Hotel Paradiso Sul Lago Brunate, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing