We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view”

Locanda del Dolce Basilico
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Brunate
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We chose this place based on previous reviews and were not disappointed-it's nestled up in hills above the funnicular station but the view was well worth the effort. Dinner on the edge of a cliff with the whole sky in front of us- even a distant lightening storm. The antipasti was delicious including the lettuce balls and very fresh mini pastry with cheese. Gnocchi with aubergine was rich and smoky. Main dishes also delicious. Not to be missed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeeBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    94
    23
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best food I ate in Italy”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Run by 2 sisters, this restaurant is so full of character and rustic Italian charm. Yes, the place looks a bit run down, yes I had to go and find the waitress so I could be seated at a table, but for me that added the whole experience.

From beginning to end me and my wife enjoyed the whole meal. Not just the food but seeing the way the waitress was with everyone. She creates a great atmosphere in the restaurant.

Service isn't the slickest, but it doesn't matter, the food is worth the wait. If you are in Brunate you must visit. If your in como you must visit. If your in Italy...you must visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very pleasant place,”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Perfect place to relax and enjoy the sun, good pricing and if you are nice you will get a free orange as I did to cheer you up once you have to leave the place:))

Finger food and drink

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertmaciej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful honeymoon dinner”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My new husband and i came here twice in one day -- first around 4:30pm for a drink outside and saw the amazing views at a wonderful table. The owner was so nice and told us to come back for dinner and that they would open at 7pm (as opposed to the normal 7:30). We did return and had some of the best food of my life. We had pasta with pesto, gnocchi, and the rabbit and it was all delicious. The walk back to the funicular at night would have been impossible without the flashlight app but the views were really fantastic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KSl0an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Traditional Ligurian dishes in a homely setting with amazing views”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Very friendly yet quirky waitress/owner, serving traditional delicious Ligurian dishes. The antipasto plate with tasty salami, fried lettuce balls (delicious!!!), crostini and more was excellent and there was plenty of it. The spicy baby octopus stew was divine, the roast veal melted in the mouth. A local Valtellina red wine was a perfect companion to the food!

The restaurant is a 15 minute walk up the hill out of Brunate, which can be reached from Como by a funicular. It is also a short drive from Brunate and only 20 mins from Como. It is well worth a diversion off the beaten track.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FifiCH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locanda del Dolce Basilico also viewed

 

Been to Locanda del Dolce Basilico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing