We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda Milano 1873
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brunate
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Charming hotel. Fantastic for those without a car as is near funicular. Lovely people. Great atmosphere in bar. Amazing pasta and antipasta in restaurant. Perfect!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COSCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

The hotel is quite old, but the rooms are renovated, though small and dont have Airco.
Our room was on the second floor and had a small balcony.
Their is a computer with internet on the second floor, which works slowly.
Possibility to park your car at the premises, but as parking place is very limited you are asked to leave your car keys if you leave the building.
Breakfast is continental and good.
Restaurant is also recommended, but not special.
The road to Brunate, which is situated on a hill near Como is quite small and with a lot of small curves.
We staid here 2 days and visited como. While we were there the funicular was out of order and replaced by a bus, which also costed 5 eur for areturn ticket.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We stayed here while visiting Como, and we were very glad we had a GPS in the car to find this place, other wise it would have been impossible. A nice hotel but with lots of tiny stairs (we were on the second floor) to navigate. The furniture was a bit dated and the room pretty small, but for a budget stay and an interesting ride up and down the hill on the funicular railway to Como it was good for the two nights we stayed there.

The resturant attached served a nice value for money meal, and sitting in the common room drinking with the locals added a nice touch to this friendly hotel.

and the furniture was a but dated

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrxpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Massimo and Federico will make you feel at home. Homely atmosphere, great (but not cheap) food, accomplished buffet for breakfast, Just twelve (very clean) rooms.
Quiet village with breathtaking view of Lake Como, the cable train (funicolare) an attraction itself.
Highly recommended, stayed there twice and most certainly going back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PanagiotisKavala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We were looking for a place to stay in Como however didn't want to be in the middle of town. Being situated on top of the hill it was out of town and had a family and village feel yet you could get the fenicular and walk to the port/town in about 15 minutes. The hotel owners are very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were continental and loads of food options. The shower was quite small and an odd design where it has a shower curtain across a corner of the bathroom so water splashed around however enough towels to manage it. Plus daily servicing of the room which was great. The hotel is on a main street of the quiet village so is a little loud/busy at peak times however the double glazing really reduces the noise which is good. It seems that the locals come to the bar/restaurant in the evenings so can get quite lively which is good but clearly if you want an early night it won't get quiet until around 11pm. WiFi was intermittent however they have a desktop available but quite slow connection. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzChards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I hope I am writing about the Locanda Milano in Brunate up above Como! If you have not been there you must. I came across this place by accident. I did not stay there but I did eat there. The tasting menu was out of this world. Pasta with fresh porcini mushrooms, braised beef with polenta, a delicioso apricot tort wine water coffee, It was the best. DO not skip this place if you are staying on the Lake in Como . Take the Funiculare to the top and just ask you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
Thank NancyHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Funiculare to hotel expensive if used frequently. Hotel closed during our stay due to poor weather and no tourists. Fresh breakfast rolls stopped . No cornflakes 2 days. Bottle of local wine on arrival cost €17. Restaurant expensive but similiar to others in area. Rooms small and poor shower with no bath. Location was nice and quiet, rooms cleaned quickly and neat. Breakfast menu usual cold fare .

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanairtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunate
9.5 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#9 of 32 in Como
268 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#11 of 32 in Como
302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Continental
10.7 mi away
Hotel Il Nibbio
Hotel Il Nibbio
#1 of 1 in Magreglio
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Milano 1873? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Milano 1873

Address: Via Alessandro Volta 62, 22034 Brunate, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Brunate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brunate
Price Range: £46 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Milano 1873 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda Milano 1873 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Milano 1873 Hotel Brunate
Locanda Milano 1873 Como
Locanda Milano 1873 Hotel Como
Locanda Milano 1873 Brunate, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing