We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, away from the crowds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Locanda Milano 1873
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brunate
Lincolnshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice place, away from the crowds”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at Locanda Milano for 2 nights during a trip to Lake Como as part of a European touring holiday.

The hotel is situated in the village of Brunate, which is high on a hill above the lake. The road to Brunate rises out of Como town, and boy, do you go through some tight/steep turns to get to it! Once there however, you're rewarded with some spectacular scenery. It was very hot and muggy during our stay and the air quality was bad, resulting in slight murky views, but still worth seeing.

Everyone at the hotel seemed super-friendly, helping us up the stairs with our cases, showing us where things were, and our room was large and airy with a balcony (unusually) leading off from the bathroom.

The hotel is very conveniently situated about 3 minutes walk from the funicular railway which takes you down to (or up from) Como town. This is a must, as Brunate is a proper village, where people live, rather than a tourist attraction (well, maybe for the views of Como) - Como's where it's all at, really. It has a bustling feel, and you have to keep reminding yourself that you're not on an island, as the boats come and go from the quays.

We took the rapido service boat to Bellagio. This is a sort of jet-foil, similar to the flying dolphins in Greece. It takes about 50 minutes, but you have to sit inside the boat. We caught the traditional ferry for the return journey to Como. This takes about 2 hours, but you can sit in the sun on the deck or at the back of the boat and observe local life at the various stops and do some people-watching. Catching the boats is informal and easy. Just go to the ticket office at the pier, having decided where you want to go and they will tell you how much it costs and when the next boat leaves. Bellagio is by far the most touristy stop, but it's quite pretty. About 2 or 3 hours is enough to see it all and still have time to eat. Boats return to Como approximately every 2 hours.

We did eat at the Locanda Milano on our second night. We had the set 'tasting menu', which includes local food. We would suggest starving yourself for the whole of the day before attempting this, as the portions are huge. At the end of the second course, we were eyeing a very small dessert with great reluctance and wondering if it wasn't just a step too far!

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this friendly hotel, bantering with the barman about the football (Euro 2012), and would recommend it to anyone who wants a clean, no-frills place to stay away from the crowds of Como town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EloquentSwanJoggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    52
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
60
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Not easy to get to, especially if you have a larger car. Simple place, not elegant but clean. Really nice gentleman who checked us in, served breakfast, and got our car out of their tiny parking area like a professional driver. Would stay here again, though I might consider splurging for a few more amenities next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvjameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed at the Locando Milano in October 2011 and found it to be good value, rather than very good as the rating implies (there is no good). It was clearly not tourist season and we had to call to get someone to come and let us in (this is poorly signposted by the way). After that hiccup the experience got better. Our room was quite spacious, if not a little dated but perfectly comfortable. The breakfast was very good and plenty of it and the hosts are charming and attentive. Probably due to the time of year it was really quiet and the bar and restaurant were closed so we had a great dining experience at Bellavista

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Good side: Great atmosphere, great hosts, nice town and views, good breakfast, free WIFI.
Bad side: small rooms with no AC, tiny shower, noise from the road if you sleep with window open.

Funicular to Como is close by which is nice, also great view if you go up the hill with car, there is a place to stop and enjoy the view.
I stayed for one night and it was pleasant and nice.
Not sure I got the best price, waiting a bit longer might have saved me some $$

Room Tip: get one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Facilities are basic. The owners are friendly and attentive - but don't arrive on a Wednesday (restaurant closed). You have to phone Frederico/Massimo on arrival, which is disconcerting if you get routed to an Italian voicemail...

Rooms are small, but OK. En suite is a struggle if you are a 6ft 200lb rugby player.

Restaurant is not cheap - but so are all the others in Brunate... Bar is frequented by locals (since it has TV sport), which does add some charm.

Other reviews mention parking problems - don't worry. Leave your keys at the desk and they shuffle the cars around as needed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This charming hotel is located close to the venicular from Como. It has great charm, in no small part due to the Italian family that runs the place, neither Freddy or Massimo were never too far away (from the bar) at any stage which along with the local soccer supporters (visited during an overcast weekend which coincided with several seria A games) lead to a cosey bar atmosphere. The rooms were adequate and bed was very comfortable, expect it could get quite hot in summer and no sign of air con but wasn't an issue when I was there. There is also a tidy restaurant attached to the hotel which served up some pretty delightful local cuisine.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have balcony and a nice terrace area, 3rd floor has the internet station
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10111011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Charming hotel. Fantastic for those without a car as is near funicular. Lovely people. Great atmosphere in bar. Amazing pasta and antipasta in restaurant. Perfect!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COSCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunate
7.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante National
9.5 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ostello Villa Olmo
Ostello Villa Olmo
#25 of 32 in Como
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
590 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#12 of 32 in Como
250 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Il Nibbio
Hotel Il Nibbio
#1 of 1 in Magreglio
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Milano 1873? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Milano 1873

Property: Locanda Milano 1873
Address: Via Alessandro Volta 62, 22034 Brunate, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Brunate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brunate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Milano 1873 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda Milano 1873 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Milano 1873 Hotel Brunate
Locanda Milano 1873 Como
Locanda Milano 1873 Hotel Como
Locanda Milano 1873 Brunate, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing