We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lago di Como

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lago di Como
Ranked #1 of 9 Colico B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel is not in front of the lake, but it offers many other things that compensate for that: excellent attention from Giacinto and family (who really do everything possible to please their guests), clean rooms, good breakfast, free wi-fi, and practical location just 5 minutes from the lake.

This is the second time I come, and I plan to return. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Castall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    48
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
53
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel is not in front of the lake, but it offers many other things that compensate for that: excellent attention from Giacinto and family (who really do everything possible to please their guests), clean rooms, good breakfast, free wi-fi, and practical location just 5 minutes from the lake.
This is the second time I come, and I plan to return. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GezColico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Small hotel in a narrow alley, quiet with central location. Big room with air condition and free WiFi, spacious bathroom. There is a free parking for the guest, wonderful and tasteful breakfast and very kind and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monicfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We recently spent a week at this hotel. It proved to be a wonderful decision. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. We had booked a triple room online, as this was all that was offered at the time. When we arrived, the desk clerk recognized that there were only two of us and offered the option of changing to a double room at a lower price.

The rooms were immaculate and quiet. While we couldn’t see the lake from the hotel, our room opened onto the second floor terrace with pleasant views of the surrounding mountains. The free WiFi connection was quick and reliable. The hotel is a short walk to the train station and the lake, providing ready access by ferry or train to the other towns and cities around the lake, as well as the restaurants along the promenade.

The breakfasts provided sufficient variety to satisfy everyone. A machine was present to brew coffee, but the staff also offered to make coffee from the espresso brewer. The restaurant provided a selection of well-cooked dishes and good wines. We would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willwiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

This was my second time in this Hotel. I generally prefer to stay in the Hotels beside the lake because of the lake view. The location of this Hotel is near the only busy road in Colico. So you will not get any lake view etc. But it is very quiet in the room even if it is very close to the road.Rooms are clean, free Wi-Fi with good speed.
Staff very helpful & prompt. Parking is available, not many spots though.
The highlight is the Food. It was delicious. Pasta, deserts were awesome.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pankaj t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed here for two days in February on business. Staff very helpful, room spotlessly clean, free wi-fi, food very good and excellent location in centre of Colico.
Within 5 minute walk of railway station and easy walk to lakeside.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank photographie1659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed in Hotel Lago di Como for one night. The hotel is in a residential area, with the heavily trafficked mainstreet one block away (no noise in the hotel). Restaurants are just a couple of blocks away, down by the waterfront. There are just a few parking spots available at the hotel, they fill up quickly.

Our room was spacious and clean with laminate floor. It faced the inner yard, and was a bit dark. The bathroom was spacious and clean, but with a few tiles missing. The airconditionining maintained a good temperature in the room, but was leaking water and in the morning we had to dry up a bigg pool of water underneath it. This was mentioned to the staff at checkout. Internet was provided at no extra charge, with a fast and reliable connection.

Breakfast was served in the nice and bright hotel restaurant. It had plenty of sweet cakes, and some bread, cheese and ham. Coffee from machine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halvklart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colico
0.2 mi away
Seven Park Hotel
Seven Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Colico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Risi
Hotel Risi
#1 of 3 in Colico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 1 in Sorico
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
9.7 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Colico
Hotel Villa Colico
#2 of 9 in Colico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lago di Como? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lago di Como

Property: Hotel Lago di Como
Address: Via Legnone 4, 23823, Colico, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Colico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Colico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lago di Como 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Lago di Como reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lago Di Como Colico, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing