We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Helen House Laglio - Absolutely Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Helen House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Laglio, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Sightseer...
1 review
“Helen House Laglio - Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Helen House in Laglio from Oct 3rd to 11th 2016. The flat is lovely and clean
and has stunning views of Lake Como. Laglio is very central for travelling from and to, all the lovely little towns on the lake.

Everything was provided by Cinzia, a lovely hostess. Thank you for a wonderful holiday!!!

Shonna and David Porter

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexicofri...
London
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Stunning views of Lake Como from Laglio”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Helen House at the end of May 2014 for three nights. We were met by Cinzia at the property (a friendly and helpful lady who looks after the flat for the owner. She speaks Italian, English and French). If you are arriving by car (with a sat nav) make sure you type in 'Via Regina Nuova 17' in Laglio to find this place as we got a bit lost! Coming from Como, the building is located on the right-hand side of the road just after the sign for Hotel Plinio au Lac. The flat comes with an allocated parking space (space 'H') which is right next door to the property and very useful as parking is at a premium in Lake Como.

The flat is on the ground floor (no stairs!) and as soon as you walk in you will see the stunning views of the lake. This is the first thing that hits you as there is an almost floor to ceiling window with the view. The flat is just one room (lounge/dining/sleeping area) with a separate bathroom and kitchen. We found the flat to be clean and bright with lots of linen and towels available. The kitchen is quite small (enough space for one person really) but it has all the things you need during your stay including a toaster, oven/stove, kettle, fridge/freezer, plates, cups, saucers, pans, glasses, cutlery etc.

The bathroom has a shower (although the shower curtain is shorter than the height of the shower - be careful with this as the floor can get very wet!), a large mirror, toilet and hair dryer.

We slept well on the sofa bed (all linen, pillows and even a quilt were provided) during our 3 nights. The flat is in a building which is on the main road to/from Como so you will hear the traffic and buses but the flat itself is located at the back of the building so there is less noise there. The Colico-Como bus goes through Via Regina Nuova and the old road below the property. There is a lot less traffic at night than during the day on both roads. Once the windows were closed you can still hear a bit of road noise. If you are a light sleeper, I would recommend wearing earplugs. When the road noise subsides though it is so quiet that you can hear the lake water lapping.

The lounge/dining/sleeping room comes with a large sofa bed, small sofas, table and chairs, wardrobe and a tv.

Did I mention that there is also a large terrace next to the flat? We ate our breakfast there every day as it overlooks the lake which made for a lovely start to each day.

There is a cake shop immediately across the road (Pasticceria). We tried one of the two restaurants in Laglio - La Laconda del Cantierre (the other restaurant is right next to this one) and you can walk there from the flat. To get there (and also to get to the old road below) you need to cross the main road (Via Regina Nuova) and walk to the left of the cake shop (Pasticceria). The path loops around the back of the cake shop and goes under an arch down a load of stairs to get to the old road. It is about a 5 min walk.

Overall, we really enjoyed staying in what is effectively a self-contained studio flat in Laglio. It is comfortable and has everything you need for your stay. Please note that there is no pier (Pontile) in Laglio and the nearest one is in Carate Urio opposite Hotel Orso Bruno (10mins by car/30-40mins walk) or Argegno which is 15mins by car. Argegno is better as there are fast boats to Como/Bellagio etc from Argegno and there is free parking by the church in the town. There is a large supermarket called Sigma in Lenno which is just after Argegno (about 20mins from the flat by car).

Laglio is lovely but there are no amenities there (only 2 restaurants and no shops). We would stay at Helen House again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The short shower curtain in the bathroom!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Mari...
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feuillara...
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nonna7dec...
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Seul(e)
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing