We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Marino - Laglio
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Laglio
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Family vacation”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed here for four nights with group of 7 from 60 years to 4 years. The pool was a must because the young ones and San Marino provided that with reasonable price. The rooms were a bit out of date, but with a balcony and nice view to lake (if booked). The restaurant was mediocre and staff a bit slow. Desert came straight from the freezer... We ate on a room bill and we saw only one bill (and request for this took like half an hour...) before the check out, so keep your own accounting for costs. And even in the check out only the total amount was displayed. You need a car to see anything more than the hotel when staying here. Steps to down-town Laglio are quite long and there is nothing to see in Laglio either.

Room Tip: Air condition only in rooms down-stairs without balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lomalaiset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    46
    29
    24
    29
See reviews for
35
75
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Although we did not plan to stay at the San Marino (we were moved there when the hotel we had originally booked, the Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior, lost our booking) we were so glad that we did. The hotel is located above the village of Laglio (where George Clooney has his villa) and meals are served on a terrace overlooking the lake. The food is very good - a selection of pizza, pasta and meat dishes cooked fresh to order, the pizzas in particular are amazing. We saw a number of locals come in to the hotel for dinner, which we think speaks volumes for the quality of the food. The rooms, though basic, are comfortable and clean with a daily maid service. There is also a garden area with gorgeous views of the lake, which includes a pool and sun loungers. Although there is not too much going on nearby, the transport links are great - there is a bus stop immediately outside the hotel (bus number C10) or you can take a walk down to the lake, through Laglio into the village of Urio to catch the ferry. The buses and ferries serve various destinations around the lake (Bellagio in particular is a must see) - it is very easy to get around. Getting to Lake Como from Milan airport is also fairly easy and cheap too - we took a train from Malpensa airport, changed trains at Saronno and came straight into Como before getting the C10 bus along the lake. The staff at the San Marino were faultless - the family work extremely hard and will do absolutely anything for you. For us, it was a taste of the real Italy and we would highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed in the Hotel San Marino when our hotel had outbooked us here on our last night of our trip to Lake Como. The hotel is quite basic, but the rooms are spacious and clean with everything you need. The food and drink are good and worth the money. The location is within walking distance if George Clooney's place however, other than that, I would say a car or form of transport is a necessity as the buses are not the most reliable .... we'd still be waiting for the bus now if we weren't home! The only real downside other than location is the fact the hotel is situated on a busy italian road. I would not recommend this for families. If you do stay here, ask for a room on a higher floor or a room at the back as the noise can keep you awake all night.

The hotel is used as an overspill by the Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior but is worth the money overall.

Room Tip: Request a room at the side or back as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palm_trees_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We reviewed trip advisor before staying here, I'll admit we gambled but it paid off. The hotel is basic but it is only 80 EUR in one of the most picturesque places on earth, spitting distance from George's place. The room is basic but fine, the breakfast is basic but fine.

I'd recommend as a cheap hotel but nothing more.

Room Tip: pick one at the back of the hotel to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinclair1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I've just returned from a wedding in Como and my husband and I, along with other guests, stayed at the San Marino. Although the hotel is fairly basic in design and facilities, we had a great time there. The pool was nice and quiet and the hotel had incredible views over the lake. We had nightly table tennis tournaments and chilled in the bar and restaurant at night.

The family who run this hotel are very quiet but very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hotel is very reasonable for it's sought-after location (only being 20min walk from George Clooney's house!) and our room had a lovely balcony. Only room issue was a loud fan on the ceiling, so I think the hotel need to get this sorted. Yes, it was off one of the main roads, but most houses are... this didn't bother me at all and it's not a main road in the 'city' sense with multiple lanes etc.

Laglio as an area is hard to get around by foot (we did a lot of stairs to get down to the lake!) but we did manage to see lots on foot and hired a speed boat and found some lake-side beaches. I would recommend having a car though.

The food was lovely and very reasonable in the hotel, as was the alcohol.

I can see why people who have luxury expectations of Como would be disappointed with this hotel, but we thought it was basic but lovely - great value for money.

Finally - I thought it was very clean, so my experience is very different to that of the other reviewers.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank folds_outwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We arrived at the San Marino after booking at a differenet hotel that was over booked.

I have to say when i arrived i was absolutly gutted as it wasn't up to the standard of the hotel i had originally booked, the location wasn't great either.

However the food here was fantastic, i'd recomend people go for the all inclusive option. Everything is feshly cooked and just great italian food.

W e also found 20 metres away steps that went down to the water front where we could get a boat from to take us anywhere in como, it was about 15 mins walk.

We have said that if your after a cheap and cheerful holiday with basic accomodation but fantastic food this is a good place to go.

It has probebly had unfair reviews due to its sister hotel the Britannia Excelsior transfering guests here when they over book.

Room Tip: we had room 2, lovely view however it does look out onto th road, if you don't mind noise its fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

My family and I had the misfortune of staying in this dump for 2 Long days and nights last week.

Where do i begin???

Rooms,

Room 16 was our cell for the duration, dirty, smelly, broken door handle and toilet flush, and when checking around on leaving we found a pair of pants left by a previous user underneath the cloth covering the bathroom table. They are probably still there, as i wasn't moving them, and neither will the sour faced woman who runs the place i suspect. The beds are poor, and have the Grand Brittania Hotel Cadenabbias coat of arms on the headboard, so god knows how old they are.

Pool

Absolutely filthy, half the sun loungers are held together with tape, i complained to holidaysbooked.com and was confronted by the manager Marina who told me the pool looks dirty because the floor is green. The milky appearance,debris, and dead insects were obviously a figment of my imagination.

Toddlers play area

This was bordered by a flimsy fence with a 20 foot drop to the main road below, and there is a gap starting to appear at the bottom.

Bar and restaurant,

The food was absolutely shocking, the wine was awful, the espresso was undrinkable( from a vending machine), all this was complimented by very poor service.

i suspect the hapless couple running the place are not the owners, and google seems to back this up, however you can make up your own mind.

We also witnessed a family staying in one of the rooms with a dog, i don't suppose he will have enjoyed it much.

This hotel is used as a dumping ground by holidaysbooked.com and Grand Brittania Cadenabbia as an overspill facilty, so be prepared for angry and upset travellers scattered about the place, who are not staying there by choice, but because they were double booked.

ps..Google Ross Whieldon Doriana Marina, and see if you can spot any other connections to Grand Britannia Cadenabbia.










  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSNO1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Laglio hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laglio
9.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
2,930 reviews
5.8 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
111 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Orso Bruno
Hotel Orso Bruno
#1 of 1 in Carate Urio
207 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mirabeau
Mirabeau
#1 of 1 in Civenna
96 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ristorante National
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marino - Laglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marino - Laglio

Property: Hotel San Marino - Laglio
Address: Via Regina Nuova 64, 22010 Laglio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Laglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Laglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marino - Laglio 3*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Marino - Laglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Marino - Laglio Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing