We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a relaxing escape”
Review of Hotel Villa Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Aurora
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lezzeno
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Such a relaxing escape”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel. We are currently traveling around Europe and decided somewhat spontaneously to go to the Lake Como area. After a bit of research we found Hotel Villa Aurora and started a drive up from Rome. We ended up hitting a slight detour and got in later than we had hoped but they were there to accommodate us and were very communicative along the way. The hotel is family run and you can feel the love and good teamwork that goes in to building it. We were so tired when we arrived but found that the lakefront restaurant attached to the hotel had delicious pizza until late so we got that. We had gone for the most budget room at the hotel, but when we were shown to our room we almost couldn't believe how nice it was. As it turns out, the hotel had upgraded us to a lakefront room because there was a vacancy - and they didn't even tell us this until we asked the next day - "this couldn't possibly be the room we booked?" They were so sweet. The rooms are by far the nicest we have been in during our travels, with every comfort and the most amazing view of the lake. Our plans to explore Bellagio the next day fell by the wayside a bit because we were so much enjoying just relaxing at the hotel, playing cards, and taking in the serene energy and view. One other thing to mention that was amazing - the breakfast! The best we've encountered in Europe. Soft boiled eggs even! And a gluten free spread for those who might want that. They absolutely thought of everything. We will definitely return for a romantic weekend or something in the future.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms overlooking the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilynoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    132
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
125
450
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Our room in the annex was comfortable, spacious, and clean, with a spectacular view of Lake Como. The restaurant next-door was convenient, and the bus service made it easy to reach Bellagio. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We'd love to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex are right on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyageursfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We have just spent a lovely week with the Gregorio family in the main part of their quaint hotel. Our room was basic, but very clean and comfortable, and the views of Lake Como and the surrounding mountains were truly spectacular. Although at the front of the hotel, the double glazing is surprisingly efficient and the road noise was never a problem.
The continental breakfast each morning was plentiful and varied, and for evening meals, the restaurant is excellent with pages of pizza on the menu and a great variety of dishes incorporating lake fish. They offer delicious food to suit all tastes and every meal we had was scrumptious.
All the staff are friendly, but Margherita is without doubt the hotel's greatest asset. She is charming, warm and welcoming, and couldn't be more helpful - she really is the perfect host.
Although there is not much to see in Lezzeno itself, it is very well located and there is plenty to do and see in relatively close proximity - Margherita will happily give you suggestions and directions complete with maps and timetables should you require them.
If you prefer to relax at the hotel, there is plenty to keep you occupied on the lake with free kayaks available, a large water trampoline and plenty of sunbeds and deck chairs provided. Various other water sports are also on offer, obviously at a charge.
We would definitely return to this hotel, and would recommend it without hesitation. A big thank you to all the staff. Don't change a thing - you're doing a wonderful job.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer 'villa' section of the hotel are a bit more spacious, tastefully deco...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kempos_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This is a family run Hotel villa, which sites itself on the east side on the left leg of Lake Como in the Village Lezzeno which is just the next village from Bellagio. The hotel is well situated with the main house on the opposite side of the road to the restaurant, with the restaurant on the lake and next to it an added guest house.There are beautiful views of the lake, hills and Swizz Alps with the creditiable Villa Balbianello on the opposite side of the Lake. Our room was pleasant and clean.The staff were happy to help and inform. The restaurant was fab. It was a pleasure to have stayed here. Note; there is a wall of Jasmine which carries on the air around the villa which on a sunset evening makes this place so romantic along with the bottles of prosecco. (jasmine grows around the lake and its gorgerously sweet)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charmaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Book a room in their newest building in front of the lake as it has a wonderful view and a great terrace. Our room was squeaky clean with brand new bedding and convenient bathroom. Price was very accessible given the region's usual prices.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ly-Antho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here in September 2011 as part of our honeymoon and after our experience last year we couldn't wait to return. This time we travelled over from Austria and after a ten hour trip it was a joy to arrive. This time we stayed for 5 nights between 4th and 9th June 2012 and everything was just as good if not better. This time we stayed in one of the lake view rooms in the main building and although smaller than the new rooms in the villa is still very comfy and immaculate. The hotel now has free wi-fi which works perfectly even when lazing by the lake! (Still not managed to find the courage to wake-board.....the owner's son will show you how its done!) We ate every night in the restaurant and the choice of food and wine is extensive and of great quality and value.....bring your appetite!
All the staff were really friendly and helpful, Roberto in the restaurant is a great laugh. The owner Margerita is always on hand to provide useful tips and advice (she spent time planning how we would get home from Milan Bergamo airport) and as always seems to take great pride in providing good customer service and this is reflected in the attitude of her staff.
We will definately return again as Lake Como is a stunning place to visit and this hotel is the perfect place to stay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KILester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
135 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay here last year so much that we returned this year and brought our adult children with us. We're glad we did.
The proprietress welcomed us with a complimentary glass of wine when she saw us enter the bar. She either has an excellent memory, excellent records, or both. Rooms are as well kept as before and the staff as friendly and helpful as we remembered.
Dinners in the lake front dining room are lovely, simple, friendly, and totally enjoyable. The included breakfast is ample and has nice variety.
Guests may use the hotel's kayaks, trampolines, and other "toys" free of charge. The lake was a little chilly for us, but we observed many people enjoying the water.
The proximity to various attractions around Lake Como and the ferry service make this a great spot. We will definitely return and plan to rent one of the fully furnished apartments in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Villa are worth the extra expense. Our lower level room was ON the water, so quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jawms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lezzeno
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.7 mi away
Filario Hotel & Residences
4.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Aurora

Property: Hotel Villa Aurora
Address: Frazione Sossana, 2, 22025 Lezzeno, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Lezzeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lezzeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Aurora 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR SERVICES- Restaurant Pizzeria- Wine & Snack bar- Breakfast Room- Private & free garages and parking- Beach towels- Baggage Store- Equipped sun deck with sun beds and beach umbrellas- Free use of canoes, kayaks and trampolines in the water and on the ground- Packed lunch on request*- Organization of guided trekking/hiking tours*- Tourist information- Storage for bicycles- Transfer with private cars on request*- Internet station and wifi throughout the Hotel- Laundry room with washing machine, dryer and ironing board*- Water ski , wakeboarding school banana & doughnut** Paid Services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Lezzeno
Hotel Villa Aurora Lake Como/Lezzeno, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing