We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Lovely”
Review of Villa Maria B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Maria B&B
Ranked #3 of 7 Lierna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at Villa Maria and wished that we could have spent more time there. If you are looking for a home away from home, providing clean and comfortable surroundings in a beautiful part of the world, then this is definitely the place to stay.This delightful B and B had only been opened a couple of weekI prior to our stay and it exceeded all our expectations. Villa Maria is situated in Lierna - a little village on Lake Como, within easy reach by car or ferry of the larger towns of Bellagio and Varenna.
Our first impression upon driving up the curved driveway, with delicate trees forming a canopy overhead, was one of peace and quiet. The rambling house came into view at the top of the drive and we had no sooner parked our car, than we were greeted warmly by our beautiful hosts Mira and Marco, who instantly made us feel at home and provided us with welcome drinks before we had even unpacked the car.
With hospitality pouring out of every door, they couldn't have made us feel more welcome.Even the small shower in our ensuite, caused far more hilarity than discomfort.
The view of Lake Como from the majestic ground floor lounge windows is breathtaking and makes one just want to snuggle up in the comfortable arm chairs, relax and watch the world go by.
Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, they booked dinner for us at a local restaurant, provided us with lovely afternoon tea as a surprise and the ample breakfast each morning, ensured we were well fed.
We reluctantly left Villa Maria to continue our holiday but we now have two beautiful friends in Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for room with the larger ensuite
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, Proprietario at Villa Maria B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

I think that sometimes are some magic people create by themself the perfect atmosphere and with the help of our special house everyone might feel at home and among friends.
Thank you also for the cultural enrichment of the Australian slang. Bonza! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Villa Maria B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Absolutelly remarquable place.
we loved the bauhaus style of the house. you have impression that the time has stop around you and you find yourself in old italien movies.
If you spend time on the terasse (nearly feet in water), in a hidden corner of the fantastic garden, or in the living room watching Como trough the big glass walls, you only can LOVE being at this place.
and i am not talking about Zorro, the best dog ever (except mine of course) and the breakfast under the tree....
Mira was perfect host, always smiling and always helpful. Unfortunatelly we haven't meet Marco, but we hope next time, because we will definately come back.
it just feels like home....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindaBosorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, Proprietario at Villa Maria B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

I'm sure Mark would have liked to know you had it not been really busy with other work in those days. I was very happy to have met two guys so happy and content. I hope that next year we can go back and see us :-) Mira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We spend a week at this wonderful place. The hosts, Mira and Marco were such a charming couple always very helpful and caring to make our stay perfect. Villa Maria is a beautiful very unique B&B build in Bauhaus architecural style with the owners putting a lot of emphasis on keeping the original style of the interiour matching with the house. The living room with big windows facing the graden and breathtaking views of Lake Como - unbeatablle!!! The breakfast on the terasse wih the great tastes of Lombardia, Grana, Salami, Ham and many other local treasures - hard to describe with words!
The garden is beautiful with big trees and wonderful views to Lake Como. A perfect peaceful place to enjoy and relax in a most comfortable and warm atmosphere. The location is a good starting point for trips to Varenna, Ballagio, Mennagio with a number of amazing spots to visit. We had a great time - thank you again Mira and Marco!

Room Tip: We really recommend the Master Suite with a very large Master Bathroom - very generous space and bea...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte and Fr... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, Proprietario at Villa Maria B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

A very pleasant day with our new friends from Stuttgart, lovers of good food and our landscapes. We recall with great pleasure the evening with your full of excitement and fun. We will always try to improve and expand our offering to the best of our knowledge but we are sure that certain levels of satisfaction are attainable only with excellent guests as You.
A great warm greetings to a very beautiful and genuine family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent 3 days at the house but once there we would have spent the whole week at Villa Maria if it had been possible !
The house is splendid, built in the spirit of the Bauhaus concept, the view on the lake is outstanding,
the suite's room is large and magnificent, the real luxury comes with the bathroom - so large and comfortable - designed by Marco (the owner)
himself !
But the most valuable : the owners : Mira, Marco and their cute dog Zorro, they are so wonderful !
We enjoyed every breakfast in their garden, nice food, music. Everything you can dream to relax.
And less tangible but most valuable : the long discussions we had with them and the "Welcome experience" they provided to us.

We will be very happy to meet these exceptional couple again and again !!!
We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dehockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, Proprietario at Villa Maria B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

In this new activity Mira and I have had the opportunity to meet wonderful people. To us, that makes us rich and happy than anything else. I hope to see you again guests by us and for more time because the only 3 days when you were unforgettable stay. Many people are very happy of our villa, our breakfasts, our hospitality and friendship, and so many other things that often do not give other structures and this is what makes us the most pleasure, knowledge to be more than just a business tourist. Thanks again of the delightful moments spent together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joseph1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa M, Proprietario at Villa Maria B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Elke kamer is anders, dus het hangt af van je eigen wensen. De kamer waar wij verbleven had een heel...
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annevdb2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa M, Proprietario at Villa Maria B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank chemakee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lierna
3.7 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
438 reviews
3.5 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
526 reviews
4.6 mi away
Park Hotel Abbadia
Park Hotel Abbadia
#1 of 1 in Abbadia Lariana
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Nini B&B
Casa Nini B&B
#1 of 7 in Lierna
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Patrizia
B&B Patrizia
#4 of 7 in Lierna
17 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Della Musica
Casa Della Musica
#5 of 12 in Mandello del Lario
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria B&B

Address: Via Roma 66, 23827 Lierna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Lierna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lierna
Price Range: £72 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Maria B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maria B&B Lierna, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing