We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Sunday lunch, on a wet day”

Trattoria del Fagiano
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Moltrasio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful Sunday lunch, on a wet day”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

As we had transport, our friends suggested this venue for a family Sunday Lunch. On arrival the locals advised us where to park and friends suggested suitable items on the menu, only to be advised by our 'host' that she would take care of things so mundane!
Well, it certainly was a very memorable meal of good local produce cooked to perfection matched with suitable wines … the only problem it's a long way from Sydney, Australia

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GSirett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    162
    51
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stopped in Maltrasio whilst visiting my daughter in Swtizerland. Trattoria del Fagiano was recommended by the locals.Its a restaurant that serves quality, local Italian food and is very popular with the locals. this in itself is a recommendation.
The service was friendly and attentive with the usual Italian hospitality. We left the choice of dishes to the waitress and were not disappointed. If you visit Lake Como, stop of at Trattoria del Fagiano, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meboDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pasta Lives up to Name”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We let the cook choose what to prepare for us as a group of 5 adults. One of the 3 excellent pasta dishes was twisted cannelloni with Pheasant Ragu (Ragu Fagiano). We also had Panzerotti (layers of cheese rolled up with pasta) and Fagottini (crepes filled with porcini mushrooms and tied into bags with green onion tops). All to be recommended. The reason for the mediocre rating was that the dinner came with a perfectly fine, but ordinary antipasta, inferior house wines, and decent desserts. Then the bill was as extraodinary as the pasta considering what we had - approximately 35 Euros a person. The service was adequate, and they did smile.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Suprize Menu!”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Absolutely amazing "primi" dishes. Served family style, we were all about to explode after the full plate of cured meats and cheeses for the antipasti and three primi pasta dishes (each to feed five). We had to decline the secondi course because we were too full. Dessert was good as well with good espressos. Ask for the SURPRISE menu and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stefanCSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Traditional cooking with no Menu”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Absolutely amazing food that was served continuously, enough to feed an army. very inexpensive and ideal for a large group of people. A wonderful Northern Italian delight hidden away from the spotlight.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria del Fagiano also viewed

 
Moltrasio, Lake Como
Carate Urio, Lake Como
 

Been to Trattoria del Fagiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing