We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and nice situation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food and nice situation”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As we were on a tour we only stayed one night. The room and bathroom were very good. We had a view of the lake from our room. We ate in the Lakeside restaurant and the food was delicious. The staff were friendly All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watercolourpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    281
    127
    38
    13
See reviews for
150
368
9
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

On the website the hotel looks to be on the beach, yet the main building is behind a through road. Rooms are tiny, TV is tiny and actually not a TV but a computer display. We arrived on a hot day and there was no air condition available in the rooms, because it's not yet season, excuse me. Mic hotel but too expensive for what it offers.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHI1995, Direttore at Grand Hotel Imperiale, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you to give me the opportunity to explain that the Grand Hotel Imperiale Resort & SPA has
121 rooms with 4 categories : classic (the less expensive ones) like the room you have booked, superior lake view and balcony,
deluxe-spa rooms and deluxe-villa rooms directly to the pool and the lake, presidential suite and junior suites.
For each room category, as in all the hotel in the world, there are different amenities and different rates!
In the website you can clearly see that there is a road between the main Building and the lake side area with Villa Imperiale, panoramic pool and restaurant.
This is a secondary road : the panoramic Via Vecchia Regina!
Furthermore to reach the lake side area the guest of Grand Hotel Imperiale do not need to cross the road because there is nice a passage under it.
So the title of your comment is not correct!
Your sincerely
Silvestro De Bolfo
Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I chose this hotel to spend a two-day break just before a conference in Milano. The taxi driver who drove us there straight from Malpensa airport had some difficulty in finding it, but we enjoyed the drive around Como, being on holiday and not tired! Our room was a penthouse classic room on the 4th floor, with a wonderful view over the lake, well decorated, although small, with a well loaded mini bar. The reception was efficient and quick, extremely helpful and kind. We tried both the restaurants of the hotel, which were first class gourmet restaurants with first class, friendly (but not too friendly) service. The restaurant across the street, named Imperialino, has a wonderful garden and balcony over the lake. The main restaurant of the hotel, in the main building, has a nice view to the garden. We also tried the Veranda Restaurant, in a small hotel named "La Posta" next door, which was another pleasant gourmet surprise. The boat station is right in front of the hotel, which is very handy if you want to cruise around the lake. Would definitely come back and I would recommend it to all friends travelling in the Lake Como area.

Room Tip: You will definitely need a room with lake view, no matter how small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimTerzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHI1995, Direttore at Grand Hotel Imperiale, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Tim,
thank you very much for your positive feedback.
The best reward for us is when guests leave our Hotel with a good experience.
We hope to welcome you again in the next future.

Silvestro De Bolfo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had an absolutely great stay in the hotel. The staff are very helpful and make it a point to remember your name which is really nice considering it is a larger hotel. The rooms are very nice and the views over the lake are wonderful. We also visited the gym and sauna and this is one of the nicest saunas I have been too in that they have a lot of little neat features to make it special and memorable. I wont mention what they are so that you get the experience without knowing beforehand. ;) The gym is small but has all the key things needed like running equipment and weights which was great. The breakfast is also very nice with a large variety of things to choose from.

Are only frustration in leaving was that considering that the hotel has its own private parking garage, we were frustrated by the 20 Euros charge per night to stay there. Its a really large parking lot, and I do appreciate that there is limited parking in the area, but I would rather see more of an all-inclusive approach from a hotel of this calibre than to have to pay for items on departure.

Otherwise I want to leave this on a positive note because we had such a nice stay there and were very relaxed and at ease. We will most certainly consider staying again in the summer so that we can enjoy the pool and stay in one of the nice villas on the lake instead of staying in the main hotel building.

Room Tip: stay in a villa or get a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHI1995, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Imperiale, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Steve,

I reported to our staff your review. It's very important for us to have feedbacks about our job to understand better what our customers like and all their expectations.
Regarding the garage, we will improve our communication to the people arriving by car. It shouldn't be a surprise the cost of the garage and the free options have to be more clear to everyone.

We have packages on our website with an "all inclusive" approach with parking included.

Far 300 mt. from the Hotel there is a public free parking space.

I'm sorry about the little drawback and I would like to thank you for your contribution to improve the service of the Grand Hotel Imperiale.

Special thanks also from our Staff that is very glad with me to welcome you again this summer.

Umberto Butti
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed at the hotel for an international conference in March 2014. The hotel appeared to be reopening from its winter closure, as there was still some work going on, but that hardly mattered, as it was carried out discreetly. the funnny smell in the corridor of rooms 214 onwards could possibly be explained by months of being shut down. No problem with smells in my room and anywhere alse, as everything was nice and clean and efficiently laid out, meeting rooms included. Meals and waiter service were very much OK, in keeping with the grand surroundings, especially in the restaurant across the road, where you dine by the lakeside. Fabulous!
Reception service was efficient (problem with key card sorted out within minutes) but rather cool while we were there, but then a conference with so many people at one time can be testing.
The immediate surroundings are excellent, though the conference schedule only allowed time for a short walk to the village and the waterfall. The fabulous views of and from the lake, of course, will be the reason for and stay. If this hotel is your base, you will certainly be well catered for.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grifre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHI1995, Direttore at Grand Hotel Imperiale, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Grifre,
first of all we would like to thank you very much for the positive feedback given to the Grand Hotel Imperiale Resort & Spa.
As you perfectly noticed the hotel reopened only few days before the conference, this year it was an hard process because we had work delays on the completely renovation of the rooms on the 4th floor.
We are also very glad that you have enjoyed all our services including the restaurant and the Reception
Regarding the "funny smell" I went up to the corridor after viewing your review but there was no smell at all.
Looking forward to welcome you again at the Imperiale we remain with our best regards

Silvestro de Bolfo
Direttore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel in November 2013, and drove from Linate airport in Milan.
The hotel is situated in a very quiet location, with only a short stroll to Lake Como.

The hotel itself is quite big and well laid out. The rooms were split into various types and we stayed in the standard lake view rooms. It was well sized, appointed and comfortable.

The only real issue I had with the hotel was the food, it was a bit disappointing for an Italian hotel on the lake, the quality was ok but the taste was a bit disappointing.

We came here for a wedding so it was organised very well but pricing (which is to be expected). They have a multi-story car park which costs 25 Euros a night, however it was safe and secure.
Moltrasio Lake Bus service is just opposite the Hotel and reasonable priced to get to all other stations.

All in all, a pleasant stay, but have stayed at better.

Room Tip: Spa rooms are expensive, but get better views and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for an extended weekend with our little one (12 months) at this hotel. Pool terrace was nice but small, hotel overall ok. We selected this hotel since we were looking for a kid's friendly place near a wedding of friends of us, and for this purpose this ended up a good choice. Would we come back? Not sure, while hotel was fine, there is not much to do in Moltrasio, and we may select another town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moltrasio
11.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
11.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
373 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
811 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Imperiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Imperiale

Property: Grand Hotel Imperiale
Address: Via Regina Vecchia 24, 22010 Moltrasio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Moltrasio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Imperiale 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Moltrasio on the shores of Lake Como, Grand Hotel Imperiale Resort & SPA is a Resort of great charm located 5 minute drive from Cernobbio, 35 minute from Malpensa Airport and 40 from Milan. The wellness & beauty center I-SPA, the lakeside pool, the gourmet Restaurant Imperialino and the luxurious rooms, some set in the Villa Imperiale and others in the Grand Hotel, make this Resort the ideal destination for Italian and international tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Imperiale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Imperiale Lake Como/Moltrasio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing