We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to the name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked the first three nights of our trip to Lake Como at the Grand Hotel Imperiale in Moltrasio with their "romantic getaway package." The package included: spa access, daily breakfast (excellent breakfast buffet), WiFi, car park, champagne & fruit in-room upon arrival, four-course dinner for two at their waterfront restaurant Ristorante Imperialino (wine included), and free room upgrade if available.

We were upgraded upon arrival from our Deluxe Spa Lake View room to Deluxe Villa Lake View room. The room was spectacular; a large room with king bed, large marble bathroom, balcony and all with incredible views of Lake Como. The villa rooms are the closest to the pool, which we loved. The pool is open from 9 am to 7 pm so there were no noise issues.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, always willing to take the time to answer questions. They even suggested many things to do in Moltrasio and other surrounding areas without being asked. The pool staff were also very attentive to their guests and willing to accommodate most requests.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Lake Como. I would also say the room packages are an excellent value (dinner alone was worth the extra expense).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

the location is perfect right outside the hotel is the ferry to take you to all the wonderful places along the lake. The staff were happy to help and offered lots of tips for getting around. A couple of restaurants directly outside the hotel but the one attached was our best meal all trip...once again the staff were warm and friendly and offered lots of advice.

thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicjay160992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We staying in the old part of the hotel looking over the front garden and Lake Como. Our room was a great size and we had a small balcony with a little patio table and 2 chairs to sit outside. It was all very beautiful. The mattress was old and saggy. It desperately needs to be replaced. We did not eat in the hotel as the menu of the hotel next door offered the pasta dished we were looking for. Moltrasio does not have a lot to offer in the way of restaurants or shopping but it is a a typical Italian Lake Como village and fun to walk about. The hotel boarders on the ferry dock. That was very handy so we took the fast ferry one way to Bellagio and the slow ferry back. We had a car, parking at the hotel is good. We drove up the lake to vist other villages. I would not go back to the Grand Hotel Imperiale Moltrasio not because of the hotel but because there are other villiages that we found out offered more in terms of dining and activities. Menaggio would be my choice of places to stay.

Room Tip: Lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeymoonjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed four days at Imperial Moltrasio. What can I say, the view, amazing. The room, beautiful with a lake and mountain view. A short ferry ride to Como and a beautiful slow ferry ride to Bellagio, taking in all the beautiful scenery. The staff at the hotel Imperial were very accommodating, breakfast was sumptuous. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marnie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spending 2 nights in this flawless luxury hotel,we appreciate the quiet rooms in the modernpart
of this classic hotel.Rooms have all modern amenities with balcony.
Professional and friendly room-and receptionstaff;huge convenient garage and perfect breakfast in a large diningroom,where the waiters are too highsounding and pompousness,but professional;
The hotel is 50 meters walking distance from the lake and no roadnoise will reach your room.

Room Tip: If you want lakeview,ask for rooms with a view in the "old "part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patricklaberche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Grand Hotel Imperiale - Lake Como

This hotel is located in Moltrasio which is a nice town in Lake Como. From the como station one can take the bus or can take a ferry which takes approx. 15-20 mins.
The location of this hotel is superb as it is a 2 min walk from the jetty pier. In term of value for money I don’t think I would give this hotel a very good rating. We had a lake view room and the room was decent. Nothing exceptional or to write home about considering the fact that we paid a little over euros 200 per nite. The thing that I was not happy about was the breakfast. There was no variety at all. We stayed there 4 nites and for all those days nothing changed on the menu. Everyrhing was just the same. Don’t think anything moved and what you got and was available on day one was available all the other days. Having even a slight variety would certainly help. Wonder what happens to those who stay there for a week.
No complaints about the staff and they were nice. Stafff at the reception were helpful and gave us information about transport and about getting around the area.
Don't expect anything out of the ordinary in terms of your room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynnie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

For about EURO 200 per night, you do not get what one would expect. Service is okay, rooms are okay, but location is great when it comes to wanting something secluded and close to the Lake Pier to take a boat. It is close to Lake Como central. The breakfast was nothing to write home about as we had the same breakfast for 5 days in a row, no change in the menu ...... service was friendly by the waiters. There is a superb restaurant about 5 minutes walk from the main road of the hotel, do not have the name of the restaurant, but one would have to climb a few steps to get to it, but worth every penny, average about EURO 60 for two.

Would not book at this hotel again for that price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the lake view and with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moltrasio
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,116 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
882 reviews
11.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
449 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Lake Como Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Imperiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Imperiale

Address: Via Regina Vecchia 24, 22010 Moltrasio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Moltrasio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Price Range: £61 - £868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Imperiale 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Moltrasio on the shores of Lake Como, Grand Hotel Imperiale Resort & SPA is a Resort of great charm located 5 minute drive from Cernobbio, 35 minute from Malpensa Airport and 40 from Milan. The wellness & beauty center I-SPA, the lakeside pool, the gourmet Restaurant Imperialino and the luxurious rooms, some set in the Villa Imperiale and others in the Grand Hotel, make this Resort the ideal destination for Italian and international tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Imperiale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Imperiale Lake Como/Moltrasio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing