We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Currently staying at the Imperiale in a deluxe lake view room. The room is only partially lake view, as it is in a new wing, behind another building. Room is spacious, and modern, staff are helpful, but the hotel has a few annoying niggles.
Hair dryer broken on first day, was told it would be fixed, later in the evening still broken, so I was told I could use the vacant room next door, but the key would only work for the day. No offer of actually coming up to the room with the key, until requested, told it would be fixed the next day, which it wasn't. When I asked again, told that they couldn't fix it, and would send a replacement up. Why didn't they do that in the first place?
Wi-fi is a complete pain. You are offered one code, which only works on one device, so you need to request multiple pieces of paper for your devices. The first day wi-fi was down for numerous hours, then you have to log in each time you come back to your device, even if you have left it for just five or ten minutes. There is an option to stay logged in, which doesn't work, and each time you go to log in, the hour glass goes round and round and round etc etc etc before login screen comes up.
For goodness sake it's 2014, JUST GIVE THE CUSTOMER PROPER WI-FI.
For the pool you are given a credit card,which enables you to exchange it for ONE towel. You are warned that if you don't return the card at the end of the stay there is a 50 euro charge, what's that all about?
Also be warned that the pool man thinks it's hilarious on your first visit, to tell you the pool is closed for a private party.
On the plus side, the Imperialano restaurant is very good, breakfast buffet is of good quality, and a nice spa, which is included for superior rooms. Fitness room is limited however.
Having little prior knowledge of the lake, if we returned, we would opt to stay in the resorts towards the middle, such as Terrazzo or Bellagio, as to reach these more interesting towns, takes two hours on the ferry service, which stops virtually outside the hotel. Como is around 25 minutes by ferry however.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank annieabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned from 10 night stay at hotel. We had booked a Superior Lake View room which is shown on their website as a period style elegant room in a Classic Italian Villa Hotel on the edge of Lake Como. Disappointingly our room was on the top floor of a 1980's extension to the rear of the Hotel with a "lake view" over the roofs of the main building and about 20metres from the noisy and smelly Kitchen Extract ventilation duct on the roof. During our stay the hotel was mainly occupied by various tour groups and/or corporate groups for a couple of nights at a time with only a few independent travellers present. Breakfast was therefore usually busy as groups were all down at the same time and whilst the selection of the breakfast buffet was good it was no surprise that it quickly disappeared as the groups devoured it before their coaches left. We tried both of the hotel restaurants for dinner and found the lake side terrace to be beautiful and stunning, however the food was nothing special and somewhat expensive. We found the restaurant at the adjacent Hotel Posta to be better food and value for money, and on most evenings occupied by fellow residents from the Imperiale. The Hotel bar was pleasant but unfortunately the resident pianist with a slightly out of tune piano and electronic backing music was very annoying, fortunately the bar next door to the Hotel was really good.The swimming pool on the lake side (across the road from the main hotel) was lovely and had a stunning view of the lake, the beds and parasols were plentiful as most of the the hotel residents were away on coach trips. Finally a positive comment on the Hotel Staff who were, without exception, helpful friendly and charming throughout our stay. Overall great staff but a disappointing hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in old part of hotel overlooking the garden and Lake Como
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandv s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked the first three nights of our trip to Lake Como at the Grand Hotel Imperiale in Moltrasio with their "romantic getaway package." The package included: spa access, daily breakfast (excellent breakfast buffet), WiFi, car park, champagne & fruit in-room upon arrival, four-course dinner for two at their waterfront restaurant Ristorante Imperialino (wine included), and free room upgrade if available.

We were upgraded upon arrival from our Deluxe Spa Lake View room to Deluxe Villa Lake View room. The room was spectacular; a large room with king bed, large marble bathroom, balcony and all with incredible views of Lake Como. The villa rooms are the closest to the pool, which we loved. The pool is open from 9 am to 7 pm so there were no noise issues.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, always willing to take the time to answer questions. They even suggested many things to do in Moltrasio and other surrounding areas without being asked. The pool staff were also very attentive to their guests and willing to accommodate most requests.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Lake Como. I would also say the room packages are an excellent value (dinner alone was worth the extra expense).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

the location is perfect right outside the hotel is the ferry to take you to all the wonderful places along the lake. The staff were happy to help and offered lots of tips for getting around. A couple of restaurants directly outside the hotel but the one attached was our best meal all trip...once again the staff were warm and friendly and offered lots of advice.

thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicjay160992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We staying in the old part of the hotel looking over the front garden and Lake Como. Our room was a great size and we had a small balcony with a little patio table and 2 chairs to sit outside. It was all very beautiful. The mattress was old and saggy. It desperately needs to be replaced. We did not eat in the hotel as the menu of the hotel next door offered the pasta dished we were looking for. Moltrasio does not have a lot to offer in the way of restaurants or shopping but it is a a typical Italian Lake Como village and fun to walk about. The hotel boarders on the ferry dock. That was very handy so we took the fast ferry one way to Bellagio and the slow ferry back. We had a car, parking at the hotel is good. We drove up the lake to vist other villages. I would not go back to the Grand Hotel Imperiale Moltrasio not because of the hotel but because there are other villiages that we found out offered more in terms of dining and activities. Menaggio would be my choice of places to stay.

Room Tip: Lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeymoonjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed four days at Imperial Moltrasio. What can I say, the view, amazing. The room, beautiful with a lake and mountain view. A short ferry ride to Como and a beautiful slow ferry ride to Bellagio, taking in all the beautiful scenery. The staff at the hotel Imperial were very accommodating, breakfast was sumptuous. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marnie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spending 2 nights in this flawless luxury hotel,we appreciate the quiet rooms in the modernpart
of this classic hotel.Rooms have all modern amenities with balcony.
Professional and friendly room-and receptionstaff;huge convenient garage and perfect breakfast in a large diningroom,where the waiters are too highsounding and pompousness,but professional;
The hotel is 50 meters walking distance from the lake and no roadnoise will reach your room.

Room Tip: If you want lakeview,ask for rooms with a view in the "old "part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patricklaberche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moltrasio
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,116 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
882 reviews
11.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
450 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Lake Como Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Imperiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Imperiale

Address: Via Regina Vecchia 24, 22010 Moltrasio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Moltrasio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Price Range: £61 - £868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Imperiale 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Moltrasio on the shores of Lake Como, Grand Hotel Imperiale Resort & SPA is a Resort of great charm located 5 minute drive from Cernobbio, 35 minute from Malpensa Airport and 40 from Milan. The wellness & beauty center I-SPA, the lakeside pool, the gourmet Restaurant Imperialino and the luxurious rooms, some set in the Villa Imperiale and others in the Grand Hotel, make this Resort the ideal destination for Italian and international tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Imperiale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Imperiale Lake Como/Moltrasio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing