We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (969)
Filter reviews
969 results
Traveller rating
399
347
154
50
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
347
154
50
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view piano bar lakeside restaurant main building beautiful location ferry stop swimming pool easy access head waiter per day buffet breakfast boat station water taxi hotel bar large room wonderful hotel deluxe spa
Filter
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 969 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned from 10 night stay at hotel. We had booked a Superior Lake View room which is shown on their website as a period style elegant room in a Classic Italian Villa Hotel on the edge of Lake Como. Disappointingly our room was on the top floor of a 1980's extension to the rear of the Hotel with a "lake view" over the roofs of the main building and about 20metres from the noisy and smelly Kitchen Extract ventilation duct on the roof. During our stay the hotel was mainly occupied by various tour groups and/or corporate groups for a couple of nights at a time with only a few independent travellers present. Breakfast was therefore usually busy as groups were all down at the same time and whilst the selection of the breakfast buffet was good it was no surprise that it quickly disappeared as the groups devoured it before their coaches left. We tried both of the hotel restaurants for dinner and found the lake side terrace to be beautiful and stunning, however the food was nothing special and somewhat expensive. We found the restaurant at the adjacent Hotel Posta to be better food and value for money, and on most evenings occupied by fellow residents from the Imperiale. The Hotel bar was pleasant but unfortunately the resident pianist with a slightly out of tune piano and electronic backing music was very annoying, fortunately the bar next door to the Hotel was really good.The swimming pool on the lake side (across the road from the main hotel) was lovely and had a stunning view of the lake, the beds and parasols were plentiful as most of the the hotel residents were away on coach trips. Finally a positive comment on the Hotel Staff who were, without exception, helpful friendly and charming throughout our stay. Overall great staff but a disappointing hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in old part of hotel overlooking the garden and Lake Como
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandv s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked the first three nights of our trip to Lake Como at the Grand Hotel Imperiale in Moltrasio with their "romantic getaway package." The package included: spa access, daily breakfast (excellent breakfast buffet), WiFi, car park, champagne & fruit in-room upon arrival, four-course dinner for two at their waterfront restaurant Ristorante Imperialino (wine included), and free room upgrade if available.

We were upgraded upon arrival from our Deluxe Spa Lake View room to Deluxe Villa Lake View room. The room was spectacular; a large room with king bed, large marble bathroom, balcony and all with incredible views of Lake Como. The villa rooms are the closest to the pool, which we loved. The pool is open from 9 am to 7 pm so there were no noise issues.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, always willing to take the time to answer questions. They even suggested many things to do in Moltrasio and other surrounding areas without being asked. The pool staff were also very attentive to their guests and willing to accommodate most requests.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Lake Como. I would also say the room packages are an excellent value (dinner alone was worth the extra expense).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

the location is perfect right outside the hotel is the ferry to take you to all the wonderful places along the lake. The staff were happy to help and offered lots of tips for getting around. A couple of restaurants directly outside the hotel but the one attached was our best meal all trip...once again the staff were warm and friendly and offered lots of advice.

thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicjay160992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We staying in the old part of the hotel looking over the front garden and Lake Como. Our room was a great size and we had a small balcony with a little patio table and 2 chairs to sit outside. It was all very beautiful. The mattress was old and saggy. It desperately needs to be replaced. We did not eat in the hotel as the menu of the hotel next door offered the pasta dished we were looking for. Moltrasio does not have a lot to offer in the way of restaurants or shopping but it is a a typical Italian Lake Como village and fun to walk about. The hotel boarders on the ferry dock. That was very handy so we took the fast ferry one way to Bellagio and the slow ferry back. We had a car, parking at the hotel is good. We drove up the lake to vist other villages. I would not go back to the Grand Hotel Imperiale Moltrasio not because of the hotel but because there are other villiages that we found out offered more in terms of dining and activities. Menaggio would be my choice of places to stay.

Room Tip: Lake view!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeymoonjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed four days at Imperial Moltrasio. What can I say, the view, amazing. The room, beautiful with a lake and mountain view. A short ferry ride to Como and a beautiful slow ferry ride to Bellagio, taking in all the beautiful scenery. The staff at the hotel Imperial were very accommodating, breakfast was sumptuous. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marnie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews