We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake como. A weeks break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A weeks break, weather predictably unpredictable. Accomodation good bedroom service very
Good. But no hot drink facilities, that is a first ever. Bar facilities not available until after six. P.m.
Only available via swimming pool cafe.
Only English paper , one,on a Sunday in lounge. Telegraph.
Pool good. Views over lake.
A pleasant experience, would recommend, but not the hot breakfast...

Room Tip: Overall a good family break. Good service. Breakfast could have more attention regarding Delivery o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jdmt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Imperiale for 3 nights as we were attending a wedding at the Villa Erbe in nearby Cernobbio.

The hotel itself is really lovely, with beautifully preserved old architecture and immaculate gardens. The pool is awesome, and is right by the lake. Our (standard) room was modern, with a very large bed and a sizeable bathroom. The gym and spa also have great amenities which my husband made the most of!

The breakfast buffet is copious and the food is excellent - we would highly recommend it! The staff at the restaurants and bar are attentive and friendly, and the service is prompt. We also ordered some room service, and the food was delicious with generous portions, but without breaking the bank!

The reception staff are one of the best assets to this hotel. They all spoke English beautifully, which was very helpful as our Italian is at best basic!! They were cheerful and very helpful, and accommodated our rather complicated requests. Everything went very smoothly, which helped us relax and enjoy our trip all the more!

Overall, the hotel is lovely and what makes it stand out compared to many luxury hotels & resorts is definitely the excellent service and staff. So we would highly recommend this hotel, we really enjoyed our stay there and we hope to go back soon!!

Room Tip: If you can, request a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony, preferably overlooking the terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SamRMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Upon arrival we were given our room ( with Lake view ). Well room was on the 4th floor attic room , view was a small window on the roof line. Asked first night to be moved but took 2 days before we were moved to another room . We liked the breakfast buffet and the staff were great, table service was good. The hotel was in a nice location next to the ferry terminal so travel up and down the lake was easy.. Really enjoyed Lake Como.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eurotecsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Although weather has been lousy this summer at lake Como, the hotel has been a pleasure to stay at as a guest. It's less then an hour to drive to marvelous Milan, famous off cause for it's shops. A tour around the lake takes approx 4 hours but is nice to do. The hotel is nice. One point of criticism, a cover charge at the restaurant should be forbidden!

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dammy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHI1995, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Imperiale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Dammy E,
thank you for your review, I hope you had a chance to enjoy the Lake, the weather of last days was terrible. News says we had the worst weather in the past 90 years!!
Regarding the cover charge cost I would like to clarify that is not a cost applied only from the Grand Hotel Imperiale: most of restaurants and pizzerias in Italy charge this cost on the bill, this expense usually include bread (some like us include a welcome flute of sparkling wine and a daily miniappetizer created by the chef).
This cost became very common in Italy when a law was introduced that made compulsory to show all the costs in the menu (including service and tax). By the way tip left to the staff (quite common) are comparable to extra tip in country that have tip (15% to 20%) separate from cost of food and drinks.

Umberto Butti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here with two boys on our way to our holiday address. The hotel has two parts on either side of the road (there is a tunnel connecting the two). In the large building the rooms and the main restaurant are located. At the lakeside are the (rather small) pool and the 'gourmet restaurant'. In the summer, please reserve a table at this restaurant and specifically ask for a lakeside table. Although the food is not 'top of the bill', it will be an unforgettable experience to see the sunset over the lake. If your children wouldn't enjoy this, you can let them eat a pizza at a small pizzeria on the other side of the swimming pool. Our family thoroughly enjoyed this arrangement.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Schreuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have just returned from Italy (Lake Como) what a wonderful hotel and such a lovely location.
The staff were so friendly nothing was any trouble when you asked them for anything, the food was out of this world a great chef.
It was very easy to visit other places by water taxi which was located just next to the hotel.
Rooms very cosy and nicely furnished.

Would recommend to all

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank bjcorfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful location with great views over the Lake. The facilities are very good however we stayed in a Family Room across the road from the main hotel building which was a little tired and in need of some TLC.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AshleeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moltrasio
13.6 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
466 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
902 reviews
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
830 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
514 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Imperiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Imperiale

Address: Via Regina Vecchia 24, 22010 Moltrasio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Moltrasio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Price Range: £92 - £927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Imperiale 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Moltrasio on the shores of Lake Como, Grand Hotel Imperiale Resort & SPA is a Resort of great charm located 5 minute drive from Cernobbio, 35 minute from Malpensa Airport and 40 from Milan. The wellness & beauty center I-SPA, the lakeside pool, the gourmet Restaurant Imperialino and the luxurious rooms, some set in the Villa Imperiale and others in the Grand Hotel, make this Resort the ideal destination for Italian and international tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Imperiale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Imperiale Lake Como/Moltrasio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing