We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Italian hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A very quiet and relaxing hotel in a quiet somewhat isolated area. Very good food and good staff. The restaurant by the lake is not to be missed. We spent a lovely eight nights there. The ferry terminal is a hundred yards away. There is a very extensive breakfast. There is a nice pool right on the lake where you can also have a light lunch.
If you are looking for a relaxing holiday this is your place.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the lake and to lay in bed and see this wonderful view was extraordinary .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    290
    133
    39
    13
See reviews for
156
385
9
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights. Our room was very comfortable (great beddings!), completely up to its 4 star standards, the SPA was very nice. However: be careful when you book your room, the alleged lake view we paid for was merely a distant sight of the water and a big red roof right in front of our window. Very disappointing.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

In Como for a wedding in Cernobbio and this turned out to be a good base for the four days of festivities. We had a top floor room with lake view and balcony. Pool was very busy and pre-dinner swim stopped abruptly as it closes at 7pm! The piano bar is a good place for a drink on the lawn and on one night we had a really nice dinner in the restaurant. Breakfast seemed a bit steep so we went round the corner to a great little cafe/bar/restaurant each morning for a fine breakfast. This hotel had a nice feel to it.

Room Tip: high floor with balcony offers best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drewwat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A weeks break, weather predictably unpredictable. Accomodation good bedroom service very
Good. But no hot drink facilities, that is a first ever. Bar facilities not available until after six. P.m.
Only available via swimming pool cafe.
Only English paper , one,on a Sunday in lounge. Telegraph.
Pool good. Views over lake.
A pleasant experience, would recommend, but not the hot breakfast...

Room Tip: Overall a good family break. Good service. Breakfast could have more attention regarding Delivery o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jdmt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Imperiale for 3 nights as we were attending a wedding at the Villa Erbe in nearby Cernobbio.

The hotel itself is really lovely, with beautifully preserved old architecture and immaculate gardens. The pool is awesome, and is right by the lake. Our (standard) room was modern, with a very large bed and a sizeable bathroom. The gym and spa also have great amenities which my husband made the most of!

The breakfast buffet is copious and the food is excellent - we would highly recommend it! The staff at the restaurants and bar are attentive and friendly, and the service is prompt. We also ordered some room service, and the food was delicious with generous portions, but without breaking the bank!

The reception staff are one of the best assets to this hotel. They all spoke English beautifully, which was very helpful as our Italian is at best basic!! They were cheerful and very helpful, and accommodated our rather complicated requests. Everything went very smoothly, which helped us relax and enjoy our trip all the more!

Overall, the hotel is lovely and what makes it stand out compared to many luxury hotels & resorts is definitely the excellent service and staff. So we would highly recommend this hotel, we really enjoyed our stay there and we hope to go back soon!!

Room Tip: If you can, request a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony, preferably overlooking the terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamRMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
o.c.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Upon arrival we were given our room ( with Lake view ). Well room was on the 4th floor attic room , view was a small window on the roof line. Asked first night to be moved but took 2 days before we were moved to another room . We liked the breakfast buffet and the staff were great, table service was good. The hotel was in a nice location next to the ferry terminal so travel up and down the lake was easy.. Really enjoyed Lake Como.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurotecsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soultz, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Although weather has been lousy this summer at lake Como, the hotel has been a pleasure to stay at as a guest. It's less then an hour to drive to marvelous Milan, famous off cause for it's shops. A tour around the lake takes approx 4 hours but is nice to do. The hotel is nice. One point of criticism, a cover charge at the restaurant should be forbidden!

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dammy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHI1995, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Imperiale, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Dammy E,
thank you for your review, I hope you had a chance to enjoy the Lake, the weather of last days was terrible. News says we had the worst weather in the past 90 years!!
Regarding the cover charge cost I would like to clarify that is not a cost applied only from the Grand Hotel Imperiale: most of restaurants and pizzerias in Italy charge this cost on the bill, this expense usually include bread (some like us include a welcome flute of sparkling wine and a daily miniappetizer created by the chef).
This cost became very common in Italy when a law was introduced that made compulsory to show all the costs in the menu (including service and tax). By the way tip left to the staff (quite common) are comparable to extra tip in country that have tip (15% to 20%) separate from cost of food and drinks.

Umberto Butti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moltrasio
11.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,048 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
829 reviews
13.6 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
398 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Imperiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Imperiale

Property: Grand Hotel Imperiale
Address: Via Regina Vecchia 24, 22010 Moltrasio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Moltrasio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Imperiale 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Moltrasio on the shores of Lake Como, Grand Hotel Imperiale Resort & SPA is a Resort of great charm located 5 minute drive from Cernobbio, 35 minute from Malpensa Airport and 40 from Milan. The wellness & beauty center I-SPA, the lakeside pool, the gourmet Restaurant Imperialino and the luxurious rooms, some set in the Villa Imperiale and others in the Grand Hotel, make this Resort the ideal destination for Italian and international tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Imperiale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Imperiale Lake Como/Moltrasio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing