We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel in a magical setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Franco and his front office staff made us all feel so welcome and accomodated our family sleeping requirements perfectly.The a la carte lakeside restaurant, pool bar and pizzeria are all first class and are complemented by a great buffet breakfast .The pool is in a fabulous setting, the staff are superb and Moltrasio is a wee gem too with accesibility to both Como and Bellagio by water taxi just across the road.. The location and class of the place all made me feel a bit James Bond - albeit a well fed one! Book it - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EwanDSuffolk_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2009

Our room was in La Villa, the lakefront building across the street from the main hotel. We were greeted promptly by a bellman who hauled our bags across the street and to the villa. Elisa accompanied us to our rooms and explained everything about the hotel and some things about the area. When we settled into our rooms we discovered that we were short on towels; I called down and got a promise of sending a towel up "right away" but it took hours.

We had a two-room suite, which was really two separate connecting rooms. One room had a king-size bed (really two beds put together) and the other room had a twin bed plus a kind of sidways Murphy bed that unfolded out of a wall cabinet. One room had a balcony, with a view out of the side of the building to the lake. The other room had a view of the hillside opposite the lake. Our package included a bottle of Pro Secco and a bowl of fresh fruit which was delivered shortly after we checked in. The second night we returned to find that our room had been serviced in the evening, which was appreciated but we wondered why it hadn't been the first night.

The hotel had the most effective air conditioning of any of our Italian hotels on this trip, appreciated when the summer heat was at its peak. However, one room had oddly designed the air conditioning unit to be behind the curtains, so the choice was either to be warm or to allow the streetlights to come in at night and the sun early in the morning.

Breakfast was served in a restaurant with a terrace, and was typical of Italian buffet breakfasts, with concessions to American and English tastes for bigger breakfasts but largely do-it-yourself. Particularly welcome was a tray of fresh fruit, sometimes even ripe.

The front desk staff doubled as concierges, and all that we talked to were extremely helpful and generally knowledgable. We especially liked Elisa.

There is parking available for 18 euros a night in a two-level garage adjacent to the hotel. Oddly, a small parking lot immediately by the main entrance that looks like hotel parking is actually a public parking lot.

There is a pool with snack bar in back of the Villa, more convenient for us than for guests in the main building. The pool provides towels at the snack bar. The pool staff, two young men, arrived early and left late and seemed to be among the hardest-working staff (I didn't get their names).

The Moltrasio public boat dock is right next to the Villa, making it easy access for most other towns, particularly Bellagio and Como. It's only a 5-minute drive to Cernobbio, with a lakefront piazza and several good restaurants and a good gelateria.

Our rate was $637 per night for both rooms, including breakfast.

As we waited for our flight in Malpensa I realized I had left my Panama hat in the room. I called the hotel and spoke to Franco the reservations manager, who promised swift resolution. After exchanging emails after we had arrived home (they found my hat! No wait, it was a ladies' hat...) they finally identified my hat and I am awaiting delivery.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We just returned from a day trip to Lake Como, en route to the Middle East. This hotel suited our needs perfectly. We spent the day at the beautiful pool right on the lake. When we wanted to take a ferry ride, it was literally steps from the pool. The hotel itself is nice, the rooms are basic, though. Nonetheless, the hotel has tremendous presence that makes it a very special place to stay. Be aware that the town is really limited, but you can easily take a ferry to a neighboring town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcharnoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My wife and I were staying at this hotel last week and it was most pleasurable. Room 511 in the Villa is very nice.It was our first time to the Lago Como area and we will return. Our hotel of preference will be the Grand Hotel Imperiale.

We were very well looked after and I must state that the staff in the front office is excellent. Iunia who made the reservation and checking in very smooth and Elisa made sure that we ate very well every day for dinner

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImranRKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Imperiale 3 nights. What a beautiful place! We flew into Milan and had reserved a shuttle from the Milan airport to the hotel. The limo service cost us 110 Euro each and took us right to the hotel door in about 45-50 minutes. Front desk staff were polite and efficient and spoke excellent English even if I like to practice my Italien sometimes.... After our overnight flight we were happy that our room was ready so early in the day (before noon). We stayed in a lakeview room on the 5th floor with a balcony and beautiful view. The room was a good size and elegantly decorated, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was new and spotlessly clean. The hotel is conveniently located the ferry that runs everywhere on the lake is just across the street. We ate breakfast at the hotel everyday (included in the room price). We ate every lunch at the swimming pool we love the barbecue there! We tried both the restaurant Imperialino and Giardino they were more than excellent. Imperialino by the lake is a little bit expensive but not pricy for the quality of the food and for the breathtaking view on the lake. Giardino doesn’t have the view on the lake and is cheaper but I ate there the best pasta ever!! It was made with a fresh tomato sauce and basil. They call it “crudaiola sauce “ don’t miss it!
We definitely want to come back again (at least for the outstanding pasta!!)

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Il_Francese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

My new husband and I spent 5 days at the Villa Imperiale after spending 5 days in Tuscany on our Honeymoon! The room was absolutely amazing with 2 balconies, and amazing views of Lake Como (room 522 if you want to request it!). After spending our days walking, exploring Tuscany we loved having some down time by the pool as well as the short drive that it is to see some amazing small villages and eat amazing cuisine. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's awesome. NExt door is the ferry stop and on the other side is a public beach with a pizzeria, and diving board into the lake. We drove north one day and rented a boat, and spent a day on the lake which was incredible. The staff at the hotel were most friendly, and had wonderful recommendations for dinners!

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank pmrunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHI1995, Management at Grand Hotel Imperiale, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2009

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to review our hotel. I understand from your description that you were in room 512.
Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We arrived at Grand Hotel Imperiale in the afternoon, it was located in one of the most gorgeous parts of the lake. Immediately upon reaching Reception we thought - Oh No we will not be in the smaller part of Hotel right on water as we imagined from pictures we were able to see from Internet site but to our absolute surprise we had been allocated Rooms in the Villa which was what were hoping for - so after a long drive we settled into gorgeous Rooms with breathtaking views of the Lake and surrounding Villages. No trouble getting our car parked in the garage on the premises. Bowl of Delicious Summer Fruit was ready for us and everything was just so perfect for our needs that we were sorry that we only had 3 nights in this beautiful peaceful haven.
We toured the lake villages from the boat which picked us up about 20 meters from hotel and had a fantastic day on lake to and from Bellagio (which is much more invaded by tourists- this is OK but we love it when the towns we visit are less overrun by tourists) Moltrasio is just the sort of quiet peaceful place we like to spend time in.
The staff in the hotel were very obliging and very helpful, Room was very comfortable only thing I suggest that Management put some hooks on wall in bathroom so that robes don't need to be put on floor - minor problem. The toaster in breakfast room should be placed more centrally so that the crowding and confusion in the corner can be eliminated, a couple of older folk were getting a little annoyed with us as it looked like we were taking over the corner, not so, just an awkward situation . Restaurant - sitting out overlooking lake was just divine although on second night the staff looking after us were many so were not able to build up a rapport with anyone in particular, when it came to signing for the bill a young man turned up with it and therefore he got a good tip which we were not sure if the very well spoken, knowledgeable of his Menu and pleasant guy who took our order got any of it, as we had messed up with tipping at the previous dinner in the same dining room we wanted to make amends but not sure how it all works out among the staff, I suppose not really our concern. The Reception staff and Room Service staff were extremely helpful when w needed to send a large parcel of excess luggage back to our home they found Box (right size) tape, scissors, marking pen etc. so that all we needed to do was pack, label and take to Posta next day. If we ever get the opportunity to come back we would love to stay in same gorgeous room with balcony so that we can sit, relax and enjoy sites of one of Italy's absolute Treasures. We also wish to thank the Hotel Manager/Director who was extremely approachable and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moltrasio
3.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
896 reviews
13.6 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
462 reviews
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
11.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Imperiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Imperiale

Address: Via Regina Vecchia 24, 22010 Moltrasio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Moltrasio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Price Range: £53 - £863 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Imperiale 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Moltrasio on the shores of Lake Como, Grand Hotel Imperiale Resort & SPA is a Resort of great charm located 5 minute drive from Cernobbio, 35 minute from Malpensa Airport and 40 from Milan. The wellness & beauty center I-SPA, the lakeside pool, the gourmet Restaurant Imperialino and the luxurious rooms, some set in the Villa Imperiale and others in the Grand Hotel, make this Resort the ideal destination for Italian and international tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Imperiale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Imperiale Lake Como/Moltrasio, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing