We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a B&B but almost a second home in Varenna”
Review of Villa Michela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Michela
Ranked #5 of 5 Perledo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We ayed for a week and wished to stay more, but everthing good has an end. Michela's Villa is just perfect, great views, clean, outstanding breakfasts, lovely host, well all the good staff.
You will definatley need a GPS to get there but it's worth the stay. We had both rooms upstairs which made feel like home with the living/dining room downstairs.
The garden was a bonus with all the hanging chairs, tables and surprisingly a twin bed. :-)

Room Tip: the suite is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierresMarsalforn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

While she could be charming Michaela also constantly reminded us how hard she worked , implying we were a burden on her. The view is beautiful from her lawn, but don't rent the basement apartment. It is poorly lit, reeks of mildew and is so damp negotiating the slippery bathroom is dangerous. It's a shame. There is great potential here. Also, she insisted on our paying full fare in cash on the first day. We left because of health issues with the dampness and she would not return full fare for the day we cut short; only half, in fairness.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

WOW!!!!!
thank you tripadvisor for taking me to Villa Michela. Before getting there, my husband was already making plans on changing our lodging reservations because we just kept going up and up in the taxi... but once we got there, he was making arrangements for longer stay.
Michela is not just a villa owner. She made the place prestige, beautiful, relaxing and a true paradise. Neat, Clean and Welcoming... I will only post some pictures but these won't make a justice anyway. JUST GO! STAY THERE! Enjoy the view, the hammocks, breakfast and intelligence of Michela. You won't be disappointed, but rather will want to go back.
BRAVO and BRAVISSIMA. And thank you for taking such a great care of us.
Love - Arman, Lily and Arthur

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilit_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Villa Michela during the second week of September, 2013. While the property is very scenic, the room was very nicely furnished with a comfortable bed, and the breakfasts were delicious, there were several issues which should be pointed out to those considering this property.

The property is located above the village of Varenna, and is very difficult to find. The roads are extraordinarily twisty and narrow, with dozens of blind corners and in my opinion, outright dangerous to drive. On our way there, we went up a set of roads which had turns which were so tight that they required 3 point turns to navigate, and this was with a sub-compact car.

Signage is all but non-existent, and not at all intuitive.

Parking is in a lot about 150 yards from the property, and one must negotiate both cobblestones, stairs, and a hill in order to reach the property with baggage. Our room was on the second floor, which also required dragging two 50 lb. suitcases up a set of winding stairs.

The reservation was made through Booking.com and was reserved with a credit card.

Upon our arrival, we were asked if we could pay in cash as opposed to credit card. She also offered the option of Paypal, but would not pay the Paypal fee. Michela said she would go into town with us to the ATM. This was quite the surprise. We told her that we would get her the money. On the morning after the first night, she again anxiously asked for cash, and wanted it that day. Never have we been asked to pay for a stay until departure. Because of this, we incurred an unnecessary AMT charge.

Also after the first night, she told us that we would have to use the bathroom on the main floor as opposed to the bathroom right next to the room because she was having other guests coming in. Why we had to change bathrooms in mid stay remains a mystery.

We told Michela after the first night that we would be leaving early the next morning. While breakfast the first morning was at the property, the second morning she planning a picnic breakfast at a mountain lookout which required a 15 minute car drive, and this was after we told her we wanted to get an early start.

Maybe we're just not B&B people, but Michela's modus operandi left us angry, confused, and disappointed.

Room Tip: Insist on the bathroom being next to the room, request directions find the property, request help wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenkadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Loved the hammock on the balcony! Beautiful view on the lake, stunning garden, set in a nice little village. Be aware that it is difficult to find. Michela is a wonderful host and gave us some excellent restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kreis4_ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Wonderful, quiet retreat with a spectacular view that we enjoyed most at sunset and in the morning. Michela is a terrific. Her recommendations steered us the best restaurants in Varenna and nearby Bellano. Breakfasts at the Villa were generous and fresh.
A car is essential if you are staying here, as Varenna (with a RR station) is a long winding walk down a steep hill. When you are not relaxing at the Villa, you are one hour or less by car (and/or ferry) from a number of interesting and beautiful places: Lecco, Bellagio, Mennagio, Villa Carlotta, and Lugano (Switzerland) (you need a special decal to drive in Switzerland, which you can purchase for 33 euro). Milan is about 2 hours away by car (less by train). We hope to return to Villa Michela in a few years. Thank you for a wonderful five days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark and Meredi... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had a wonderful week in Regoledo, a small village next to Varenna. A quiet and restful B and B, close to the mountain, the lake and the fantastic Villas. Above all, Michela and her genuine sense of welcoming guests and making them feel at home.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perledo hotels
0.7 mi away
C'era una Volta B&B
C'era una Volta B&B
#1 of 2 in Perledo
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Ca' Noeva
B&B Ca' Noeva
#2 of 5 in Perledo
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crotto Di Gittana
Crotto Di Gittana
#2 of 2 in Perledo
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
I Tre Camini
I Tre Camini
#4 of 5 in Perledo
28 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Il Portichetto
Hotel Il Portichetto
#3 of 5 in Perledo
41 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residenza Luigina
Residenza Luigina
#2 of 2 in Perledo
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Michela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Michela

Address: Piazza del Boschetto 6 | Fraz. Regoledo, 23828 Perledo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Perledo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Perledo
Price Range: £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Michela! Located just above Varenna, this picturesque location offers a cozy, intimate atmosphere where guests are welcomed like close friends. Enjoy our terraces and gardens with breathtaking lake and Alpine views like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Villa Michela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Michela Perledo, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing