We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great dinner with friends”

Ristorante La Comacina
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great dinner with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We arrived in Sala Comacina to stay with friends for four nights, on arrival headed to Max's Bar where the foundations were laid for a great evening. After a couple of bottles of Prosecco [shared around the bar] it was let's go to dinner!
Our friends knew the owners of 'Restorante La Comacina', so it was a seamless progression of renewing friendships and relating our journey through France and Spain as the sun set over Lake Como.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GSirett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    67
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good quality food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our friends were staying in Sala Comacina and we joined them one evening for dinner. They took us to this restaurant. The weather was not good and it had been pouring with rain so we ate inside and could not really take advantage of the views across the lake. The restaurant was very cosy and warm though and we were made very welcome.

The menu is not large and we decided to share starters and order individual main courses. Without exception the starters were great especially the duck with apples. Our main courses were fine except we found the fish a bit bland. We had a couple of bottles of the house white wine which was perfectly acceptable. With no room for dessert we ended with coffee.

The service was friendly and we thought the place value for money at 150 euros for the four of us. This included the wine and some beers before the dinner. Our friends said they would be going back there again before the end of their holiday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trueblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
322 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great views, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Family service, very friendly, endearingly amateurish at times. Great views from the balcony, similar to those from La Tirlindana, but a higher vantage point. Pretty good menu, but we did not try visually very appealing fowl (saw it at the next table). Excellent duck with apples and oranges for an appetizer, gnocchi or tagliatini for primi, ok beef filet for the main; fish from the lake only ok, fish fried in butter much better; desserts are good, cheese selection is excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank IlyaBurlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mezzegra
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely place, lovely food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had a lovely lunch here, sitting outside on the terrace with a wonderful view of the Comacina Island. The restaurant is right on the main road, has a private car park, but sitting on the terrace you don't hear any noise. The food was very good, we recommend the brutti e buoni, delicious home made gnocchi with mushrooms. The lovely table covers and service were first class, in what seemed to be a husband and wife team running the place. Well worth a visit. Would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple food made with love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

So glad we stumbled across this restaurant and were able to get a reservation on the terrace. The fried perch with lemon wedges and salad was divine. The apple sorbet with calvados for dessert was a major hit too! Great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante La Comacina also viewed

 
Tremezzina, Lake Como
Sala Comacina, Lake Como
 

Been to Ristorante La Comacina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing