We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected highlight of our trip!”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sorico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife found Hotel Europa and set it all up for us as part of our honeymoon in Italy. I was blown away by our experience there. Mattia and his family, the proprietors of this hotel could not have been more friendly. The hotel itself is beautiful and located very near to the shore of Lake Como. Definitely request a lakeside room, the view is outstanding! The facilities of the hotel are all excellent and appear to have been recently renovated. If you stay here, be sure have dinner in their restaurant! All of the food is prepared fresh by Mattia's mother who I assure you is an excellent cook. After two weeks in Italy, we ate a number of very good meals but the two meals we had at Hotel Europa are definitely highlights of our trip. Mattia was also very helpful in providing advice to us about what to see and do in the area as well. We will most definitely be returning to Hotel Europa the next time we're in Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattiaCopes, Proprietario at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

We are honoured to have met you during your honeymoon and very happy you loved the stay because it means you won't ever forget us!

I hope your foot is better now, take care and say hello to your wife too!

Ciao, many thanks
Mattia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were so well looked after at this friendly hotel on Lake Como. Mattia ensures that you have everything you need - from eggs at breakfast to a special request for homemade lasagna! We stayed 4 nights and ate in every night as we knew that mama's pasta could not be beaten.
We made boat trips to Bellagio and other beautiful lakeside villages, cycled around the north end of the lake and went on the famous Bernina Express from St Moritz. If you like hotels that offer personal attention and excellent service, then you'll love this hotel. Cheers, Mattia.

Room Tip: Balcony room would be nice. Bells at 7am so no need for an alarm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattiaCopes, Proprietario at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words and for trusting me about the food, especially the cake at breakfast! :-)

We hope to see you again next season, cheers

Mattia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent two nights in Hotel Europa.

Pros:
- Good base for exploring the area by car.
- Good, clean rooms
- A very friendly and personal attitude (by Mattia) - providing us with great information, free basic bicycles for riding around the lake area...
- A nice basic Italian breakfast (the usual pastries/ham/cheese/yogurt/coffee breakfast - we wish there were more vegetables/fresh fruit).
- Home-cooked dinner every night with fresh pasta, fresh fish - reasonable prices.

Cons:
- Sorico is a very small town which is practically dead in the evenings.
- Cycling tracks around the area are not well maintained (as opposed to other lakes we've been to).
- Non-standard hotel - a bit quirky (we actually sort of liked this, but not for everyone)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FreeTravel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattiaCopes, Proprietario at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Good morning guys, I hope you are well and you had a great time in Italy!

Sorico is a small and very quiet village (especially in a rainy October day), ideal for people looking for peacefulness and loving nature and sports. I would never recommend it to people looking for shops, bars and nightlife, but actually we prefer the first one and in any case you just have to drive 5min to find that....

The second section of the cycle-track is simply new and not completely finished yet, that's why it doesn't look well maintained (but absolutely not bad).

I don't know what you exactly mean for "quirky", but you are absolutely right...we are not a standard and anonymous hotel and we definitely DON'T want to be! Family hotels are never standard and that's right our strenght :-)

Thank you for your kind and honest review, ciao
Mattia

p.s. how can you eat vegetables at breakfast??? :-)))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great value for your money! Comfortable and clean stay! The homemade food downstairs was nothing short of fabulous. We wish we had planned to stay another day or two, and will be recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattiaCopes, Proprietario at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

I'm sorry you stayed here only one night because you were a very nice and special couple!

I'm looking forward to meeting your baby next time, so be sure I will find a nice room with a baby bed for you...just be careful to book the right date! ;-)

Best wishes for your new life, thank you again

Mattia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent one night with Mattias and his family. A very enjoyable experience, helpful, courteous and very clean. We cannot recommend it highly enough. It was a very pleasant surprise demonstrating excellent value. We had a specific meal cooked for us as it was recommended by some local people we meet as we were walking from Cerbenio.

We will recommend this to our friends in Australia!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattiaCopes, Proprietario at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you very much, very kind of you!

Hope to see you again, ciao

Mattia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

After 5 weeks of travelling through Europe, we stayed at the Europa and felt as if we were 'home'. Mattia and his family welcome you into their hotel but it is more like their home and you are treated as part of the family. Even Angela's cooking is as good, if not better, than your mother ever cooked. Mattia's information about what to see during our 3 night stay was spot on for us. We particularly enjoyed the day meandering down the west side of the lake, including taking ferries to various spots along the lake.
They particularly love having Australian guests and, as busy as they were, they always had time to stop and talk with us as though we were the only ones there. This hotel really is a gem in the Lake Como area and is fantastic value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattiaCopes, Proprietario at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

After meeting you, we like australian guests even more!

I'm very pleased to have met you and we talked about so many interesting things about your country that now I'm looking forward to visiting it! Sooner or later I will come, be sure...

I wish you all the best, ciao and thank you very much again for your kindness!

Mattia and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

After reading the amazing reviews, my partner and I decided to spend two nights at Hotel Europa to explore the lake and surrounding area.

I had never stayed in a family run hotel before – the friendly advice, warm atmosphere and personalised experience truly differentiated our stay from a larger/chain hotel. We were truly taken back by the amazing hospitality of Mattia and the Copes family.

As has been mentioned in other comments, be sure to try the hotel’s restaurant. The menu contained a number of fresh and authentic Italian dishes – we very much enjoyed the pasta medley! The service in the restaurant was impeccable, Mattia and I shared a laugh at how English people find eating cake for breakfast unusual (be sure to try the Italian cake at breakfast - its very nice, even if you are English like me)

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeddyorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattiaCopes, Proprietario at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

I'm very glad to reading your kind review, especially because it means that you are still alive after tasting the "strange" homemade cake at breakfast...you are "almost" Italian now, actually you should thank me! :-)

Hope to see you again somedays, you are very nice!

Ciao, thank you for all
Mattia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorico
15.1 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
836 reviews
15 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
858 reviews
14.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
17.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
801 reviews
18.2 mi away
Filario Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Cesare Battisti 4, 22010 Sorico, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Sorico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sorico
Price Range: £70 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Europa was founded in 1973 and recently almost completely renewed by the same family that has been proudly running it for three generations, preserving the values of a family management based on simplicity and cordiality. We always do our best to offer you a nice stay, ideal for couples and families with children, but also for sport and nature lovers who will find a rich offer of activities and sceneries. ​ Sitting in the panoramic terrace, you can taste our genuine homemade cooking and a rich breakfast, enjoying the picturesque landscape. ​ Our dishes are prepared by mamma Angela, who offers you homemade pasta, lake fish, meat specialties and various homemade desserts, like the almost famous "Tiramisù della mamma". In the morning, just relax and we will directly serve you on the table a fresh continental breakfast with croissants or homemade cakes, bread with jam and butter, local cold cuts and cheeses, boiled or scrambled eggs, yoghurt, fruit juices and a good coffee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Europa Sorico, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing