We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location”
Review of Polidora B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laveno-Mombello
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Polidora B&B
Reviewed 15 November 2012

You couldn't find a more beautiful & peaceful location from which to explore Lake Maggiore. The super garden is right on the shore of the lake - we started & finished each day with a swim. One day we just stayed by the lake all day. The breakfasts were delicious, with fresh greengages & walnuts from the garden and freshly baked pastries by Roberta.
If you don't feel like driving, you can walk 5 minutes round the corner to Cerro for coffee or pizza in two little characterful cafes overlooking the lake.
GianLuca (the owner) & Roberta looked after us very well & were very kind & informative, & we enjoyed the daily visits from GianLuca's 2 little dogs. Our room was simple, very clean & comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

We loved the location, the garden is wonderful and the beach, shaded by swamp cypresses, is delightful. We just sat on the beach and stared at the view of Stresa and the Isole Boromee, with the Alps behind, breathtaking, we even swam although the water was a bit "refreshing".

Our bedroom was clean and comfortable, with luxurious linens, and separate towels provided for the beach were a nice touch.

I would agree with the previous post that the quality of the breakfast did not really match up to the location and the price, we stayed 3 nights and I would have appreciated more fresh fruit and less burnt tart and croissants. It would have been nice to be able to make a cup of tea for ourselves too, I would have been happy to do this in the breakfast area, I don't mind not having tea in a bedroom.

That aside the manageress welcomed us warmly and gave us advice and recommendations whenever we asked, we couldn't fault the service.

If they upgrade the breakfasts and allow guests to make the odd cup of tea or coffee this place will be unbeatable. Despite those criticisms I still wholeheartedly recommend Polidora, we had a wonderful weekend and it is truly a beautiful retreat in the most glorious setting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samscram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianLuca S, Owner at Polidora B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

dear Samscram,

thanks for your comments, that's how we learn and hopefully improve.

We do have a help-yourself corner in the breakfast area for tea and coffee.

Our staff fault, if she did not show it to you or made it available.

I will tell our staff that this is important to our Customers.

-GianLuca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Our expectations of the Polidora B&B were high after reading the reviews but I must admit I was disappointed not with the location or the beautiful grounds but with the accommodation and lack of facilities for example no full length mirror in room or tea or coffee facilities . The breakfast was poor ,stale bread rolls and burnt croissants on both mornings with a few slices of ham and meagre bit of cheese with a few cereals thrown in . One of the nights the owners dogs were barking outside our bedroom for well over an hour this was after midnight . It is a lovely place but for 150 euros a night it lacked in quality .

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianLuca S, Owner at Polidora B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

dear Amanda,

I am very sorry to read that your experience with Polidora was poor.

Roberta, who was in charge of your breakfast at the time of your visit, is very keen on making pies and muffins, which look almost professional. I do not know what went wrong, but we'll do our best to improve the breakfast.

About our doggies, we never let them out in the garden alone at night: we know that Jack Russels can be VERY noisy.

Unfortunately on Sept. 22nd, we had to attend to our niece wedding on the other side of the lake.

We were unaware we had guests at the B&B, which is about 400 ft from our home, and we thought it was too much to let them locked in from 4pm to 3am.

In the future, we'll take care to note when the B&B is busy, so that our Guest don't get annoyed by our doggies.

-GianLuca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

A unique piece of earth! Majestic trees of an immense variety from many parts of the world, space in abundance to walk, to rest, to have a swim and to enjoy the breathtaking views of the Borromean islands and the shore behind when the sun sets. We stayed three nights and are grateful to the owners who passionately preserve this paradise for sharing it this way instead of commercially expoliting the potential of this piece of land. The service was excellent! It is a fantastic place to explore the Borromean islands, botanic gardens and other places close by.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanne_lukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The Polidora is a beautifully renovated secondary building on a large estate that has been in the owner's family for generations. My family occupied all three rooms in the B&B while in Laveno-Mombello for a wedding, and could not have been happier with the entire experience. The gardens are magnificent with species of trees and flowers collected from around the world by the current owner's father and meticulously maintained. With the exception of the area immediately surrounding the owners residence, the entire estate, set on the shore of the lake, is available for use by the guests. The current owner, GianLuca Sarto, is a true gentlemen and went out of his way to be welcoming and helpful, even though there was a full time manager at the B&B. The rooms are bright and airy, and the view from the lake to the Alps is unforgettable. Take a bottle of Proseco, sit of the porch of the little stone building near the lake and watch the sun go down over the Alps. A unique experience never forgotten.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank nickbgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This understated B and B was so much more than we had expected when we arrived. It was a little tricky to find as there didn't seem to be any obvious sign in the gate but we did eventually get in. The rooms are very tastefully done and the breakfast was very nice but the grounds and gardens which are right on the shore of the lake are completely stunning- we only stayed one night but took so many photos as there was a different amazing view which ever way you looked.
A shame they didn't do evening meals as we didn't really want to leave to go out to eat! Also a shame that at the time we went (beginning of May) it was a little too chilly to swim in the lake. Great place to stop off driving down from France to Umbria.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baytreegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this tranquil and spectacular setting. You can almost feel like James Bond as you stroll the botanical gardens prentending it is all yours with views of the Lake. The house is a nicely converted stables in the shadow of a beautiful villa. The room was spacious, breakfast excellent and close to Cerro, a sandy beach. A short drive from Laveno and 20 mins from Luino, busy port town with plenty of restaurants and character.

Room Tip: Three rooms, one of which sleeps 5, which is more expensive. Our room (camellia) was spacious and fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laveno-Mombello hotels
2.0 mi away
Villa Clementina
Villa Clementina
#5 of 12 in Laveno-Mombello
25 reviews
2.2 mi away
Locanda Pozzetto
Locanda Pozzetto
#1 of 12 in Laveno-Mombello
141 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel de Charme Laveno
Hotel de Charme Laveno
#1 of 3 in Laveno-Mombello
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Il Porticciolo Hotel
Il Porticciolo Hotel
#2 of 3 in Laveno-Mombello
62 reviews
2.4 mi away
Funivie del Lago Maggiore
Funivie del Lago Maggiore
#3 of 3 in Laveno-Mombello
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'angolo dei pescatori
L'angolo dei pescatori
#6 of 12 in Laveno-Mombello
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polidora B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polidora B&B

Address: Via Gerolamo Pirinoli 4, 21014 Laveno-Mombello, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore > Laveno-Mombello
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Laveno-Mombello
Price Range: £134 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place for garden loversPolidora is a unique Bed and Breakfast on Lake Maggiore, in Italy. No other B&B can offer you the luxury of a large botanic garden to wander around, and almost one km of lake shore, with such views of the Alps.Only nine lucky guests fit this exclusive B&B, with two comfortable double rooms and one large family suite. Lake Maggiore is the second largest lake in Italy, on the south side of the Alps, and is the home of world famous botanic gardens, such as Isola Madre, Isola Bella, Isole di Brissago, Villa Taranto in Verbania, all a close reach from Polidora B&B. Polidora provides an ideal base from which to explore gardens, the lakes, Milan and the Alps, to enjoy Italian cuisine and to sample outdoor pursuits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Polidora B&B Lake Maggiore, Italy - Laveno-Mombello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing