We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant with some rooms attached”
Review of Il Sole Di Ranco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Sole Di Ranco
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2006

Let's get this clear. Sole di Ranco is a rally excellent restaurant. When you arrive, the directions given are to the car park - Ristorante Sole, not the hotel.

The food in the restaurant is up there with anything I have eaten in Italy and the wine list (let them choose for you) is unbeatable. Plus, when we went to the local wine shop, the price of the wine at the restaurant was not much more than the price at the wine shop, so although the wine is expensive, it is because it is the best available, not because you are being ripped off - that said, dinner for two came to more than the cost of the room, and with there being little in the way of alternatives nearby, you need to budget 240 Euros plus per night for dinner - they do not have a table d'hote. Decor in the restaurant and in the hotel was a little 1970's and tired; it is clear that this is a family and not internationally run hotel and therefoe budgets are not elastic.

The rooms though were disappointing. If I went again, I would choose a standard non lake view room. We chose a lake view junior suite which was a maisonette type arrangement with the lounge in the entrance hall and upstairs, the bedroom and bathroom. Because the bedroom and bathroom is in the roof, there were in fact no windows of any note. This first made the room claustrophobic and secondly, even in Feburary it was hot without the noisy air conditioning machine on (which you could not sleep with being on). Therefore the balcony lake view was downstairs and really the lake view was a waste of money - you want to see the lake from your bed when you wake up. In addition, whilst there was a walk in wardrobe with coat rail, there was no drawer space or facilities whatsoever; you need to keep everything else in your suitcase. TV if you are inclined was a tiny portable tv in the bedroom area. There is one suite in the main building (most of the rooms are in an annex across the courtyard) which is on one floor and not split level, which did look good, and so advice is, unless that suite is not taken up, don't spend extra on this.

Breakfast was small and really not to standard bearing in mind the cost of the room. You can have extras and they are good, but you need to pay extra (minimum of about 5 Euros per item).

What the hotel doesn't advertise enough is the garden which slopes down to the lake and has its own swimming pool (not sure if it is heated).

You arrive in the car park (covered) below the garden and need to walk up the slope. If you arrive or go out late (after 11pm), let the owners know, as they close the gate at that time and you won't be able to get back in without taking your key.

That said, Andrea who runs the hotel and his team are very friendly and will arrange whatever you need. This is a place for good food with some rest in a moderate hotel; in other words a good restaurant with a hotel attached, not the other way round.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank peb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2005

We recently stayed at several hotels in the region during our honeymoon. I can honestly say that Il Sole di Ranco was the absolute best in the small/boutique luxury hotel category. Moreover, the restaurant was fantastic and a tremendous value. 2 of the other hotels we stayed at also had restaurants rated in the Michelin guide (and were also in the Relais & Chataeux book). However, Il Sole was in a class by itself. It is only a matter of time before the restaurant receives its second (and even 3rd) star from Michelin.

Andrea, one of the owners, was a fantastic host and made us feel as if we were at home. The entire staff was extremely pleasant, and the hotel took care of booking our activities on the lake. They even took care of the bill at a local cafe/bar so that we wouldn't need to worry about paying for anything outside of the hotel.

The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated - with a great view of the lake.

We had a fantastic time and would recommend the hotel to everyone. It is only 30 minutes from Malpensa, which is also a positive. It is a tremendous place to stay on your way back to Milano from the Alps, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank VJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2004

If you are visiting this area (for example when coming from switzerland), you should definitely check out this hotel. It's located at the beautiful lago maiore and it's a small, family owned hotel. Really charming.

It's really lovely, everyone cares for you there. Definitely book a room with a view to the lake, it's worth it. You can sit on a small balcony and have a bottle of wine there. Also the restaurant is outstanding as well. The rooms are really nice.

Check before, whether it's closed on the day of your visit. Also there is another really nice restaurant in this small village.

Be aware that this hotel is really hard to find - you’ll need a good map. Ranco is a really, really small village. Better be prepared.

6  Thank ThomasTravelTester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2004

My husband & I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on our way home from completing the Rallye des Alpes in July this year. What a super, beautiful hotel. Everything about the hotel is just right - the food, the service, the accomodation and the stunning setting. Just a fantastic base for touring the Lake Maggiore area. We will certainly be returning to this lovely family owned hotel.

5  Thank Jilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIORELLA N, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Il Sole Di Ranco, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Pietro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIORELLA N, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Il Sole Di Ranco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Arnie2762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIORELLA N, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Il Sole Di Ranco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranco
18 mi away
Hotel Camin Colmegna
8.3 mi away
Hotel de Charme Laveno
Hotel de Charme Laveno
#1 of 3 in Laveno-Mombello
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Conca Azzurra
Hotel Conca Azzurra
#2 of 2 in Ranco
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Il Porticciolo Hotel
Il Porticciolo Hotel
#3 of 3 in Laveno-Mombello
63 reviews
18.8 mi away
Albergo Paradiso
Albergo Paradiso
#2 of 2 in Maccagno
41 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 1 in Ispra
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Sole Di Ranco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Sole Di Ranco

Address: Piazza Venezia 5, 21020 Ranco, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore > Ranco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ranco
Price Range: £112 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Sole Di Ranco 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 camere distribuite su due edifici che si specchiano sul lago. Una parte delle camere è situata nell'edificio in cui l'hotel si è originariamente sviluppato, per lo più disposte su du piani senza ascensore, mentre l'altra parte si trova nell'edificio in cui è situata la reception, recentemente rinnovata e dotata di ascensore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Il Sole Di Ranco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Sole Di Ranco Hotel Ranco
Il Sole Di Ranco Varese
Il Sole Di Ranco Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing