We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kildare Lodge(Minehead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kingsway Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marston Lodge Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
324
18
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
18
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdunkery beaconjohn and janeb bwarm welcomecomfortable bedfresh milkwonderful hostshomemade shortbreadother guestsfull englishbreakfast was deliciousexmoor national parkcountry housenice touchfour poster bedstayed for nightsexcellent food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Booked a double room at very short notice but was able to be accommodated - perfect location for exploring Exmoor, lovely rooms with comfortable beds, very friendly hosts and delicious breakfast. The room had a great view as well as a flatscreen TV with DVD player and a section of good DVDs from the DVD library. On arrival we were greeted with lovely tea and scones and educated on astronomy from John, which was very interesting. Unfortunately we didn't dine in although the menu looked appealing and John is a trained chef. The breakfast was delicious though and Jane was very attentive and friendly throughout. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

We're very glad you enjoyed your short break here and thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on all aspects of your stay - it really is appreciated.
We're hoping the skies will stay clear again tonight for more stargazing through John's telescope before heading off to enjoy Dunster by Candlelight!

As you're not too far away, we hope you'll be able to pop over again when you fancy a break.

Best regards,

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have recently returned from an excellent 3 night break at the Dunkery Beacon Hotel. John and Jane made us feel very welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a standard double room which was comfortable and clean, with a fantastic view to the front of the property. The guest lounge was a pleasant place to relax, which was kept warm and cosy by the wood burner.

We had dinner at the hotel on each of night of our stay and were very impressed with John's cooking, whilst Jane provided friendly and attentive service. Overall a very pleasant place to stay and enjoy the delights of Exmoor. John and Jane provide the right balance of friendly service and attention to detail throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Manager at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we're delighted you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us recently. John is particularly pleased you were impressed by the food he produces, so thank you again for your feedback.

We hope we may see you again if you consider planning another break on Exmoor in the future.

Best regards,

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Dunkery Beacon Hotel. It was wonderful! We had a warm welcome from Jane with tea and Scones by the cosy log burner. Our room was clean, warm, comfortable, attractively decorated and had a stunning view . Coffee and tea making provided in the room and delicious home made short bread.
The food at this hotel is outstanding. We enjoyed great breakfasts and superb evening meals. John is a skilled chef producing well balanced perfectly cooked food. What a treat! Jane provides a varied wine list and the service is perfect. We would definitely like to return for another stay and we recommend this hotel with confidence. Jane and John are charming hosts and made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 four poster premier room with bay window offering a wonderful view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

It's so nice of you to give such great feedback on your stay - it really means a lot to us and is reassuring that we seem to be providing an experience that guests appreciate and value.
We hope you'll come and visit us again when opportunity permits as it was a pleasure to have you both.

Best wishes,

Jane & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a great time in the Dunkery Beacon Hotel, with a warm welcome from Jane and John. The place is perfectly located to visit Exmoor. Breakfast was very special too as they seem to have "a breakfast special" every day. Unfortunately, we didn't manage to enjoy John's culinary skills (apart from breakfast) as the restaurant is only open from Wednesdays to Saturdays. But we're planning to come back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Many thanks for your review and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and took the opportunity to explore quite a bit of this area in the 2 days you were with us. Thank you also for your kind comments about breakfast and we hope to welcome you back so you can sample John's dinners in the future!

A bientôt....

Jane & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Had a weekend in a lovely room with wonderful food - breakfasts as well as dinners. Was not a break though as with our dog we were in and out of the hotel as he was only allowed in the lounge area of our bedroom and no where else including the garden. This meant that for toiletting we had to walk him down the road (even in the night! we were also on the second floor so may have disturbed other guests going through doors and him going down the stairs), when we had our meals we had to put him out in the car (at the bottom of the drive in the dark and cold). It was particularly cold and wet when we went and so whenever he needed to go out we had to get dressed into winter clothing and muddy boots - a shame when we were dressed for dinner and wanting to then relax. Just not a good venue if you want to go away with your dog. We go on 3 or 4 weekend breaks every winter to get through the miserable weather period and to enjoy walks and time with our dog and therefore can justify our opinion of this not being a good place to stay with a dog. However, we would highly recommend it for stays without your pets, plus the food was outstanding!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lslfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

It was always a concern that when providing the great standard of food & accommodation to our guests that dog owners should also be welcomed, but with a view that the non dog owners be given equal consideration. This is why the two rooms made available to dog owners are the two largest suites, both with their own lounge and located as close to the front door as possible. One of these suites is three meters from the front door and the second room (the room you stayed in) on the First Floor is the next closest to the front door, so eliminating the disturbance to any other guests when your dog does to need to go out.
Other than their proximity to the front door, the reason these two rooms are used for dog owners is that they each have their own lounge for you to share the company of your dog in. As not all our guests are pet lovers and do indeed experience allergies to certain animals, we keep the guest lounge and dining room pet free.

Our pet owners policy is sent out to every guest booking a room with their dog and gives full details of our expectation from the dog owners and also an opportunity to change your mind if you do not agree with these policies.
Not allowing your dog to be left in a strange room on its own is an industry standard policy and one that the majority of guest houses and hotels will stipulate. We will however allow your dog to be left in the room if you provide a travel cage for the duration of your absence.

As a country hotel in the UK, I think it is fair to say that some rain, mud and cool temperatures can be expected and walking your dog in these conditions is all part of the fun of being a dog owner.
The field we ask dog owners to use is approx fifty feet from the drive and, although very dark at night, is no darker than the lawn, which unfortunately does get used as a toilet from time to time, without the dog mess being retrieved by the owners. As the garden is particularly well planted, we do get guests exploring and even lying out on the lawn to relax.

We are very welcoming of dogs and are happy you enjoyed the food and accommodation, but we feel that the lengths we go to in order to provide outstanding quality to both dog and non dog owners is not something we will compromise on and our dog owning guests to date have appreciated this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews