We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Racking my brains....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Would love to the Troll that complains that the Gardenias weren't quite the right shade of pink, or that the salad dressing contained two drops of balsamic vinegar too much, so reluctantly I will have to agree with everyone else..
This place is lovely.
Food original and delicious.
Wine list thoughtful and excellent.
Comfortable candle lit lounge with woodburner.
Owners who make you feel special
Beautiful surroundings.
What are you waiting for?

Room Tip: The only room with a bath is the standard one
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for a most unusual and original review (!) and we're very happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Lucky we don't have Gardenias of any colour!

We hope you both have a lovely Christmas and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Best wishes,

Jane & John

P.S. Both Four Poster rooms also have baths (plus showers overhead)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Dunkery Beacon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Booked a double room at very short notice but was able to be accommodated - perfect location for exploring Exmoor, lovely rooms with comfortable beds, very friendly hosts and delicious breakfast. The room had a great view as well as a flatscreen TV with DVD player and a section of good DVDs from the DVD library. On arrival we were greeted with lovely tea and scones and educated on astronomy from John, which was very interesting. Unfortunately we didn't dine in although the menu looked appealing and John is a trained chef. The breakfast was delicious though and Jane was very attentive and friendly throughout. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

We're very glad you enjoyed your short break here and thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on all aspects of your stay - it really is appreciated.
We're hoping the skies will stay clear again tonight for more stargazing through John's telescope before heading off to enjoy Dunster by Candlelight!

As you're not too far away, we hope you'll be able to pop over again when you fancy a break.

Best regards,

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have recently returned from an excellent 3 night break at the Dunkery Beacon Hotel. John and Jane made us feel very welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a standard double room which was comfortable and clean, with a fantastic view to the front of the property. The guest lounge was a pleasant place to relax, which was kept warm and cosy by the wood burner.

We had dinner at the hotel on each of night of our stay and were very impressed with John's cooking, whilst Jane provided friendly and attentive service. Overall a very pleasant place to stay and enjoy the delights of Exmoor. John and Jane provide the right balance of friendly service and attention to detail throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Manager at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we're delighted you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us recently. John is particularly pleased you were impressed by the food he produces, so thank you again for your feedback.

We hope we may see you again if you consider planning another break on Exmoor in the future.

Best regards,

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Dunkery Beacon Hotel. It was wonderful! We had a warm welcome from Jane with tea and Scones by the cosy log burner. Our room was clean, warm, comfortable, attractively decorated and had a stunning view . Coffee and tea making provided in the room and delicious home made short bread.
The food at this hotel is outstanding. We enjoyed great breakfasts and superb evening meals. John is a skilled chef producing well balanced perfectly cooked food. What a treat! Jane provides a varied wine list and the service is perfect. We would definitely like to return for another stay and we recommend this hotel with confidence. Jane and John are charming hosts and made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 four poster premier room with bay window offering a wonderful view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

It's so nice of you to give such great feedback on your stay - it really means a lot to us and is reassuring that we seem to be providing an experience that guests appreciate and value.
We hope you'll come and visit us again when opportunity permits as it was a pleasure to have you both.

Best wishes,

Jane & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a great time in the Dunkery Beacon Hotel, with a warm welcome from Jane and John. The place is perfectly located to visit Exmoor. Breakfast was very special too as they seem to have "a breakfast special" every day. Unfortunately, we didn't manage to enjoy John's culinary skills (apart from breakfast) as the restaurant is only open from Wednesdays to Saturdays. But we're planning to come back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Many thanks for your review and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and took the opportunity to explore quite a bit of this area in the 2 days you were with us. Thank you also for your kind comments about breakfast and we hope to welcome you back so you can sample John's dinners in the future!

A bientôt....

Jane & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Had a weekend in a lovely room with wonderful food - breakfasts as well as dinners. Was not a break though as with our dog we were in and out of the hotel as he was only allowed in the lounge area of our bedroom and no where else including the garden. This meant that for toiletting we had to walk him down the road (even in the night! we were also on the second floor so may have disturbed other guests going through doors and him going down the stairs), when we had our meals we had to put him out in the car (at the bottom of the drive in the dark and cold). It was particularly cold and wet when we went and so whenever he needed to go out we had to get dressed into winter clothing and muddy boots - a shame when we were dressed for dinner and wanting to then relax. Just not a good venue if you want to go away with your dog. We go on 3 or 4 weekend breaks every winter to get through the miserable weather period and to enjoy walks and time with our dog and therefore can justify our opinion of this not being a good place to stay with a dog. However, we would highly recommend it for stays without your pets, plus the food was outstanding!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lslfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

It was always a concern that when providing the great standard of food & accommodation to our guests that dog owners should also be welcomed, but with a view that the non dog owners be given equal consideration. This is why the two rooms made available to dog owners are the two largest suites, both with their own lounge and located as close to the front door as possible. One of these suites is three meters from the front door and the second room (the room you stayed in) on the First Floor is the next closest to the front door, so eliminating the disturbance to any other guests when your dog does to need to go out.
Other than their proximity to the front door, the reason these two rooms are used for dog owners is that they each have their own lounge for you to share the company of your dog in. As not all our guests are pet lovers and do indeed experience allergies to certain animals, we keep the guest lounge and dining room pet free.

Our pet owners policy is sent out to every guest booking a room with their dog and gives full details of our expectation from the dog owners and also an opportunity to change your mind if you do not agree with these policies.
Not allowing your dog to be left in a strange room on its own is an industry standard policy and one that the majority of guest houses and hotels will stipulate. We will however allow your dog to be left in the room if you provide a travel cage for the duration of your absence.

As a country hotel in the UK, I think it is fair to say that some rain, mud and cool temperatures can be expected and walking your dog in these conditions is all part of the fun of being a dog owner.
The field we ask dog owners to use is approx fifty feet from the drive and, although very dark at night, is no darker than the lawn, which unfortunately does get used as a toilet from time to time, without the dog mess being retrieved by the owners. As the garden is particularly well planted, we do get guests exploring and even lying out on the lawn to relax.

We are very welcoming of dogs and are happy you enjoyed the food and accommodation, but we feel that the lengths we go to in order to provide outstanding quality to both dog and non dog owners is not something we will compromise on and our dog owning guests to date have appreciated this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We, a family of four, stayed in the Dunkery Beacon Hotel for a full week this August and had an absolutely superb holiday there. Not only is the house perfectly located to explore the greatnesses of West Somerset and North Devon, hiking along the coastal path or over the hills and the meadows of Exmoor, but the two hotel owners, Jane and John, and their co-worker, Misa, are so warm and nice. Returning in the evening to the hotel was more like returning to family and friends, rather than to just an accommodation. And we will never forget sitting with John late at night in front of the hotel, being in the middle of a grand dark sky reserve and experiencing the wonders of the Earth going through the stream of debris called the Perseid cloud: We counted 20 shooting stars in just one hour. Awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weltenbummler777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

It is alway a great treat for us when we have a family stay for more than just a short break as it gives us more time to get to know them and they become part of our family.
We are so lucky to be in the middle of the Dark sky Reserve, as when we do get clear nights, the view of the stars is just incredible.
It was also fortuitous that your stay coincided with the Perseid meteor shower, so I was more than happy to enjoy the light show with more affable company than the badgers!
This meteor shower is an annual event so we fully expect to see you again next year!!

Best Wishes

John & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wootton Courtenay
3.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
726 reviews
19.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
609 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
967 reviews
6.1 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
13.8 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkery Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkery Beacon Hotel

Address: Dunkery Beacon Hotel Near Dunster | Somerset, Wootton Courtenay, Exmoor National Park TA24 8RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wootton Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wootton Courtenay
Price Range: £75 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkery Beacon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful former Edwardian hunting lodge offering luxury accommodation, gourmet dining (Wed - Sat) and safe, spacious off road parking.Ideally situated for scenic country drives across Exmoor and along the coast.Seven individually decorated en-suite rooms, plus one with private bathroom, all with breathtaking views. Group bookings welcome. Children 10 years of age and over welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dunkery Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkery Beacon Exmoor
Hotel Dunkery Beacon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing