We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We arrived back today from a relaxing 4 night break at this lovely quality Hotel where the friendly hosts work very hard to make sure you feel welcome and enjoy all of your stay.
The food was delicious plus the thought put into the room, public areas and gardens all added to the wonderful look and feel of a quality holiday break.
The approach on quiet lanes to the edge of a small village bring you to an almost hidden away location full of the Country sights and sounds yet Minehead is less than 15 minutes drive away.
A first visit which we plan to repeat.
Alan & Anne.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We really appreciate your kind comments after your first visit to Dunkery Beacon Country House and are delighted you enjoyed your break here. We are, indeed, lucky to be located in such a stunning area of the countryside yet only a short, convenient distance from Minehead, Dunster and Porlock - so guests can enjoy the best of both worlds.

We hope to see you again at Steam Gala time!

Best regards,

Jane & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
241
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stunning views, warm welcome, tea on the veranda on a arrival, beautiful room, sublime bed, delicious food, excellent wines, lovely fellow guests and wonderful hosts.

We stayed for three nights and left feeling relaxed and pampered. Jane and John could not have done more including dealing with our gluten free diet.

We are looking forward to returning.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your time here, appreciated the food and wine each night, got on so well with our other guests and felt relaxed and well-looked after at the end of your stay.

We sincerely hope you will come back to see us again and enjoy the delights Exmoor has to offer.

Best wishes,

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

With the weather forecast dry for the week ahead we booked our short stay. It has always been our intention to visit as we knew John from his days as a chef in Manchester.
On arrival the sun was shining, spring had arrived and the daffodils stood out in the middle of the recently cut lawn.
We were treated to a cup of tea on the verandah.
The room was first class with the pillows and mattress deserving of a special mention.
In the 3 days we were there we did a local walk on the first, a visit to Lynmouth on the second with stops for a visit to the church at Oare and a 2hour walk at Watersmeet. The third was spent at Dunster.
The breakfast was excellent and we recommend the coffee and locally produced sausage.
The evening meal was just great, beautifully presented and delicious to eat.
One final comment: make sure you stay on nights when they are serving evening meal, although we did enjoy eating out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
It was great to have you to stay and we're glad the weather was fine so you were able to fully explore this stunning part of the country. Thank you for the positive comments about the mattress and bedding - we have quite a few people say that our mattresses are among the most comfortable they have slept on! Similarly, we are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfasts and evening meals here. John strives to produce top quality food as you know from his days as Head Chef up in Manchester.

We look forward to seeing you both again in the sunny South!

Best wishes,

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our extended family of 14 adults got together to celebrate an 80th birthday. From the start to finish, from planning the weekend and the menu through to our final farewell Jane and John could not do enough to make our stay memorable. The food was interesting , well presented and very tasty - highly recommended! Our hosts achieved just the right balance between personal service and allowing us to feel at home - even the piano was well tuned and mellow.
One of our party needed extra help with accessibility and some adaptations were done in a jiffy with a smile.
We are already discussing how we can justify a second visit later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
It was a real pleasure to welcome your family to Dunkery Beacon Country House and we're so glad you all enjoyed your stay. There is always a great expectation with special occasions, such as your Mum's 80th birthday, and it was imperative that we made this a memorable event for all of you. Jane and I thoroughly enjoyed looking after you and almost felt like part of the family!

We hope to see you and your family again in the not too distant future.

Best wishes,

John & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great location, views superb, easy access to Dunster, Porlock and onto Lynton & Lynmouth. Tea and cake (spiced apple, yum!) on arrival is a great introduction to the superb meals and hearty breakfasts we experienced on our 2 night break. Jane and John are great hosts and the property is a credit to them. Will definitely look to visit again in the summer when the weather may be a little kinder! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stelly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your first visit to us so much, despite the "slightly" damp and windy conditions! Exmoor is still a dramatic and stunning place to visit even when the weather's not so kind.....and you can always experience the wonderful view looking out from the comfort of our guest lounge whilst staying toasty by the log burner instead!

We really hope you'll come back and see us in a few month's time - this time for tea and scones outside on the veranda soaking up the view on a balmy summer's afternoon!

Best wishes,

Jane & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Would love to the Troll that complains that the Gardenias weren't quite the right shade of pink, or that the salad dressing contained two drops of balsamic vinegar too much, so reluctantly I will have to agree with everyone else..
This place is lovely.
Food original and delicious.
Wine list thoughtful and excellent.
Comfortable candle lit lounge with woodburner.
Owners who make you feel special
Beautiful surroundings.
What are you waiting for?

Room Tip: The only room with a bath is the standard one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for a most unusual and original review (!) and we're very happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Lucky we don't have Gardenias of any colour!

We hope you both have a lovely Christmas and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Best wishes,

Jane & John

P.S. Both Four Poster rooms also have baths (plus showers overhead)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Booked a double room at very short notice but was able to be accommodated - perfect location for exploring Exmoor, lovely rooms with comfortable beds, very friendly hosts and delicious breakfast. The room had a great view as well as a flatscreen TV with DVD player and a section of good DVDs from the DVD library. On arrival we were greeted with lovely tea and scones and educated on astronomy from John, which was very interesting. Unfortunately we didn't dine in although the menu looked appealing and John is a trained chef. The breakfast was delicious though and Jane was very attentive and friendly throughout. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
We're very glad you enjoyed your short break here and thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on all aspects of your stay - it really is appreciated.
We're hoping the skies will stay clear again tonight for more stargazing through John's telescope before heading off to enjoy Dunster by Candlelight!

As you're not too far away, we hope you'll be able to pop over again when you fancy a break.

Best regards,

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wootton Courtenay
3.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
19.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkery Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkery Beacon Hotel

Property: Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Address: Dunkery Beacon Hotel Near Dunster | Somerset, Wootton Courtenay, Exmoor National Park TA24 8RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wootton Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wootton Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkery Beacon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful former Edwardian hunting lodge offering luxury accommodation, gourmet dining (Wed - Sat) and safe, spacious off road parking.Ideally situated for scenic country drives across Exmoor and along the coast.Seven individually decorated en-suite rooms, plus one with private bathroom, all with breathtaking views. Group bookings welcome. Children 10 years of age and over welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Dunkery Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkery Beacon Exmoor
Hotel Dunkery Beacon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing