We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in quiet ex moor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The house is in a beautiful though quite remote location and is ideal for a getaway from it all stay. The hotel room we stayed in had the sleight bed and although quite expensive was worth the extra money. The bed was comfortable, the view was great and all fixtures and fittings were excellent. The house is large with some shared areas which are very well kept and comfortable. The house has wifi but some rooms simply don't manage to get it so using the lounge is the only way.....but if you want a getaway that is maybe a benefit! Driving to the hotel involves a mile or two of very narrow roads...so timid drivers will need to be careful.

Your welcome will be very warm and the biscuits provided in the room are delicious. And that is a major plus. One of the couple that run this fine b&b is a chef and you can get an evening meal provided on several evenings in the week. The breakfast, and in fact all food was excellent.

My wife and I really enjoyed it here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank clementm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for an informative review. Your room, which is the Luxury suite on the second floor with mahogany sleigh bed has great views from both the bedroom and en suite bathroom. We always felt that homemade biscuits would be much more appealing than something bought in, so glad you enjoyed them. The Coleridge Restaurant, which is open from Wednesday to Saturday has also proved popular with guests who do not want to navigate the beautiful country lanes that Exmoor is famous for, although Dunster is only 10 minutes drive away for anyone who enjoys a little more hustle and bustle than the peacefulness of the countryside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is my second review of Dunkery Beacon Hotel but it is such a special place that I want to share our experience.
As soon as we arrived my first comment was that it really is a little piece of heaven so wonderfully quiet all we could hear was bird song. We had a special reason for our return as I had been very ill and we saw this trip as help towards recovery and a return to socialising.
John and Jane were absolutely fantastic nothing is too much trouble. John' wonderful foodl helped me regain my appetite the fish was delicious and my husband never stops praising Jane's amazing knowledge of wine. We had a different room to previously more suited to my needs and I was really thrilled that it was especially comfortably. It's so reassuring to know that we can always rely on Jane and John's standards to ensure a warm welcome and that special reassuring comfort they always provide.
It's obvious from the other glowing reviews that this is a special place. A wonderful country house hotel that offers good value coupled with exceptional standards unlike any I have experienced before

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you once more for such high praise. We were so happy to see you both and that your recovery was going in the right direction. It is always a pleasure cooking for our guests and even more so when it has a therapeutic effect. I'm sure it wont be too long before you are 100% and bounding up the Beacon! As always we look forward to seeing dear friends again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A big thanks to John, Jane and Yvonne for making my stay lovely. The food was great especially the breakfasts. Wish I could have stayed all day looking at the view. Room was clean and spacious.

I did have the added touch of the owls talking to each other through the night but that is the joy of the countryside.

See you all soon

Room Tip: Any, but those on first and second floors have the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Binnsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Simon, It was great to see you back again and hope the break helped with your endeavors. We have had a word with the owls about disturbing our guests, but they thought its was a great hoot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is the place, if you are looking for complete relaxation and comfort, superb breakfast and evening meals, character, charm, a beautifully clean hotel with stunning views of Exmoor, and the perfect hosts. We stayed here for two nights as part of our holiday, but wished we had stayed here for the entire trip. John and Jane Bradley have the perfect balance of friendliness, helpfulness but still maintain excellent professionalism and service. They catered for my diet intolerance with the utmost care and attention, and we strongly recommend the evening meals to anyone staying here, the food and service is outstanding and memorable. Our bedroom was beautifully presented and clean, with breathtaking views, and such comfortable bed and pillows. We cant wait to return next time we are in Exmoor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank caroler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. We glad you were able to relax and enjoy the food knowing that your intolerance was being take care of. It is always good to know in advance of an arrival if a guest has special dietary requirements, which allows us to source the produce accordingly. So thank you for providing this information in advance. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed for a second time in June. Yet again, service from Jane and John was excellent. John is a great chef, breakfast and evening meals (served in their Coleridge restaurant) were prepared and presented beautifully and with Jane's excellent service makes for a perfect dining experience.
The hotel is in a wonderful location in Exmoor with fantastic views, with great walks from the doorstep and nearby. I can recommend room 10, a big room with bath/shower and a lovely area to sit in a raised area in the bay window, read or just relax looking out to the moors and hills (including Dunkery Beacon) of Exmoor.

From the moment you arrive, with a cream tea provided, Jane and John are perfect hosts. I can highly recommend Dunkery Beacon hotel for the service, cleanliness, food and location. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in the area then look no further. Stay here, you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

It was great to see you both again and we're so glad you came back and were able to see the changes we've made to the place since your first visit. Thank you for your very kind comments about all aspects of your stay and we're glad you really enjoyed staying in the Premier Four Poster room. The views from there really are to die for.

Best wishes to you and our old Hampshire stomping ground, and we do hope you'll be back for a 3rd visit before too long!

Jane & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Perfect location and a very warm and friendly welcome by John & Jane Bradley, the owners. Food was wonderfully prepared and presented. Service was very personal and excellent. The views from the bedroom and outside the hotel stunning. Lovely gardens to sit in and have that pre dinner drink.

Room Tip: All have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

It's extremely kind of you to give us such positive feedback about your experience staying and dining with us. We're so glad that the weather was beautiful during your break and that guests like yourselves were able to take full advantage of our al fresco seating area to sit with a drink and soak up the wonderful view.

Best wishes,

Jane & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked the Dunkery Beacon from the comments made by other Tripadvisor comments we were not disappointed. John and Jane are the perfect combination, a great chef, combined with a lady of great taste. You feel like a guest in a 5 star hotel, luxury surroundings with views of Exmoor that are perfect. I believe this establishment will continue to improve as Jane continues to stamp her personality on the hotel.
We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank strawberrypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thought so highly of our country house and surroundings. Thank you also for the kind comments about John and I - we work hard together, with a very hands-on approach covering all aspects of the business and it's good to hear that you think our individual skills put together make a great combination.

We look forward to seeing you for a return visit.

Best regards,

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wootton Courtenay
3.4 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
153 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
188 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
663 reviews
6.1 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
10.5 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkery Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkery Beacon Hotel

Address: Near Dunster | Somerset, Wootton Courtenay, Exmoor National Park TA24 8RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wootton Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wootton Courtenay
Price Range: £81 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkery Beacon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful former Edwardian hunting lodge offering luxury accommodation, gourmet dining (Wed - Sat) and safe, spacious off road parking.Ideally situated for scenic country drives across Exmoor and along the coast.Seven individually decorated en-suite rooms, plus one with private bathroom, all with breathtaking views. Group bookings welcome. Children 10 years of age and over welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dunkery Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkery Beacon Exmoor
Hotel Dunkery Beacon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing