We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a Treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunkery Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Comfort, Care, Consideration, Chatter, Cuisine, Choice, Character... it had it all and more besides. Catering for all your needs John and Jane have really hit the mark. The Coleridge Restaurant was a real treat too- see separate review. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Our Cosy Double No 10 was perfectly fine with excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jxy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you very much for your complimentary review and we're very happy you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Also particular thanks for taking the time and effort to also review our Coleridge Restaurant - it really is appreciated and it's great to know that the food is being enjoyed so much by our guests (and non-residents as well).

We look forward to having you both back to stay in the future.

Kind regards,

Jane & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
235
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Had a short break at this peaceful & delightful hotel. Jane & John are friendly yet professional hosts who attended to our EVERY need. I currently have limited mobility & without hesitation and much thoughtfulness, John produced a grip handle for the shower to assist me. We ate evening meals twice and on each occasion the food was local produce and of a high standard. Breakfast offered everything we needed and it was nice to be offered our tea and toast when we actually wanted it. This is another measure of how customer focused Jane and John are. Our room was tastefully decorated with great views, comfortable pillows/bed, tea/coffee making facilities and having fresh milk kept cool in a small thermos flask was such a bonus. The weather was excellent whilst there, so we were able to enjoy drinks and our evening meal in the beautiful garden, whilst enjoying the stunning views of Exmoor. We left feeling really relaxed, wishing that we could have stayed longer and can't wait to return. A big thank you to you both and Yvonne.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineYSurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
We're delighted you chose Dunkery Beacon Country House for your break and we were only too glad to help make your stay as comfortable as possible. The weather was indeed glorious whilst you were here and it was great that you were able to dine al fresco in the evenings.

John and I are looking forward to seeing you both again at Christmas!

Best wishes,

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

recently stayed at the Dunkery Beacon hotel , a truly relaxing experience, really felt like i got away from it all, lovely hosts,went out of their way to make you feel welcome, a beautiful location overlooking exmoor national park, no noise apart from wild life,cream teas on arrival in the garden was a lovely touch and great start to our break.great food too.thank you, would recommend.lovely big bedroom and bathroom

Room Tip: room 7 had its own sitting room with a pull out sofa bed, lovely views from all window,s, very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amproost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
It was lovely to have your family to stay and we're delighted you had a relaxing time away and really appreciated the peace and quiet of our location. I have to say we're impressed by the beautiful photos you have taken, especially the macro shots, so thank you for adding them to the photo gallery for all to see.

We hope you'll think of returning for some more R&R in the future!

All the best,

Jane & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I stayed 6 nights and had the most wonderful time. We were warmly welcomed by John and Jane and were delighted with Room 5 on the ground floor as it had a separate sitting room. It is beautifully decorated, as was the Lounge and Dining Room; the views are amazing and it is so peaceful and relaxing. Evening meals are served Wednesday to Saturday and are highly recommended. The food was delicious and the friendly service impeccable. John and John are only too pleased to give advice about the area if required. We are looking forward to visiting again, hopefully for New Year 2015 with friends!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you so much for booking a stay with us as a birthday treat and John and I are delighted you enjoyed the room, the outlook with its stunning views and the food offering here.

We hope you will indeed come back and visit us - perhaps to celebrate New Year here with friends.

Best wishes,

Jane & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just come back from 2 wonderful nights here. We had taken my 90 year old mother in law for her birthday treat. Everyone made us all very welcome and could not have been more friendly and helpful. The rooms were excellent and we had stunning views from every window.

The food was fantastic, especially the home made shortbread in the rooms. Lovely peaceful gardens to sit in and enjoy a glass of wine (or two) in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and in particular your 90 yr old mother who had the ground floor suite. Our wine list from Berry Bros. & Rudd has something for everyone and has been personally selected by Jane to complement the food served in the Coleridge Restaurant, although can be drank perfectly well on their own out on the veranda or outside the restaurant taking n the stunning views of Exmoor. We look forward to seeing you for another Birthday break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The house is in a beautiful though quite remote location and is ideal for a getaway from it all stay. The hotel room we stayed in had the sleight bed and although quite expensive was worth the extra money. The bed was comfortable, the view was great and all fixtures and fittings were excellent. The house is large with some shared areas which are very well kept and comfortable. The house has wifi but some rooms simply don't manage to get it so using the lounge is the only way.....but if you want a getaway that is maybe a benefit! Driving to the hotel involves a mile or two of very narrow roads...so timid drivers will need to be careful.

Your welcome will be very warm and the biscuits provided in the room are delicious. And that is a major plus. One of the couple that run this fine b&b is a chef and you can get an evening meal provided on several evenings in the week. The breakfast, and in fact all food was excellent.

My wife and I really enjoyed it here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clementm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for an informative review. Your room, which is the Luxury suite on the second floor with mahogany sleigh bed has great views from both the bedroom and en suite bathroom. We always felt that homemade biscuits would be much more appealing than something bought in, so glad you enjoyed them. The Coleridge Restaurant, which is open from Wednesday to Saturday has also proved popular with guests who do not want to navigate the beautiful country lanes that Exmoor is famous for, although Dunster is only 10 minutes drive away for anyone who enjoys a little more hustle and bustle than the peacefulness of the countryside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is my second review of Dunkery Beacon Hotel but it is such a special place that I want to share our experience.
As soon as we arrived my first comment was that it really is a little piece of heaven so wonderfully quiet all we could hear was bird song. We had a special reason for our return as I had been very ill and we saw this trip as help towards recovery and a return to socialising.
John and Jane were absolutely fantastic nothing is too much trouble. John' wonderful foodl helped me regain my appetite the fish was delicious and my husband never stops praising Jane's amazing knowledge of wine. We had a different room to previously more suited to my needs and I was really thrilled that it was especially comfortably. It's so reassuring to know that we can always rely on Jane and John's standards to ensure a warm welcome and that special reassuring comfort they always provide.
It's obvious from the other glowing reviews that this is a special place. A wonderful country house hotel that offers good value coupled with exceptional standards unlike any I have experienced before

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you once more for such high praise. We were so happy to see you both and that your recovery was going in the right direction. It is always a pleasure cooking for our guests and even more so when it has a therapeutic effect. I'm sure it wont be too long before you are 100% and bounding up the Beacon! As always we look forward to seeing dear friends again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wootton Courtenay
3.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
19.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
10.4 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkery Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkery Beacon Hotel

Property: Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Address: Near Dunster | Somerset, Wootton Courtenay, Exmoor National Park TA24 8RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wootton Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wootton Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkery Beacon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful former Edwardian hunting lodge offering luxury accommodation, gourmet dining (Wed - Sat) and safe, spacious off road parking.Ideally situated for scenic country drives across Exmoor and along the coast.Seven individually decorated en-suite rooms, plus one with private bathroom, all with breathtaking views. Group bookings welcome. Children 10 years of age and over welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Dunkery Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkery Beacon Exmoor
Hotel Dunkery Beacon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing