We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely welcoming and relaxing atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, South Wales
1 review
“Extremely welcoming and relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 August 2010

A very superior bed and breakfast, with clean rooms, good showers (often problematic in many B&Bs), and great breakfasts with locally sourced produce (the sausages are especially fine). The proprietors Beccy and Derek Brown are extremely welcoming and within a few days you feel like you are all friends. My colleagues and I used it as a base for 5 weeks for a survey project, but I will be back with my partner in the autumn for a weekend break as it is such a lovely quiet place, yet with quick access to Exmoor, Dunster and Minehead. Many good pubs and restaurants are within 10-20 minutes drive, and the views of Exmoor from the hotel can be wonderful in morning or evening light.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amchadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beccy0, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
Many thanks for writing a great review, telling us so much about the history of the area and coast. We are really looking forward to catching up with you again and meeting your significant other later on this month. Hope that N and B are well and the project is a success. We look forward to receiving an autographed copy for the coffee table!
Best wishes
Beccy and Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
241
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Dunkery Beacon is a gem of a hotel set in a corner of England which is usually bypassed by those in search of Devon and Cornwall. They do not know what they are missing for Exmoor is an area of peace and solitude and the welcome and hospitality afforded by Beccy and Derek is first class. They have struck the perfect balance between being attentive to guests' needs without being in one's face (unlike some places we have stayed) and are wonderful hosts who exude genuine warmth and kindness. The hotel itself is utterly charming with comfortable rooms and huge beds to melt into after a day out exploring the moors. The breakfasts are beautifully cooked with the nice touch of the toast arriving during the meal rather than before (unlike most places we have stayed) when invariably it goes cold. (Or maybe Derek just forgets to bring it? Only joking Derek!)

For walkers there are many wonderful opportunities - the Doone Valley from Malmsmead and the Valley of Rocks near Lynmouth are two of the most notable. The villages of Dunster and Selworthy are unmissable for sightseeing. For eating out The Stag's Head at Dunster takes some beating but you must book a day in advance - excellent food at excellent prices. For families, Rest & Be Thankful at Wheddon Cross and The Ship at Porlock are well worth consideration. In summary, Exmoor is a very well kept secret and an area of hidden delights with Dunkery Beacon as a perfect base. You will be well fed and royally looked after by Beccy and Derek!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevetheman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beccy0, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
What a lovely review and many thanks for taking so much time to write it. It’s so satisfying to know that all my training had paid off and Derek is beginning to grasp the finer arts of toast delivery timing (such a delicate process). I am considering putting him forward for his level 2 (but on reflection it may be a step too far at the moment).

Seriously though, we are so glad that you have both enjoyed yourselves so much and you really have discovered the beauty of Exmoor and all it has to offer. It was lovely to have met you both and having you to stay and hopefully we will meet again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Beccy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Is was our second stay at the beautiful Hotel/B&B, the owners are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble. Warm and friendly the house is inviting and spotless. Our twin room was at the top of the house giving wonderful views across the open countryside. When I chatted to other residents it transpires that most are returning visitors... Mostly there for the fabulous walking and country sports exmoor affords. If you like big breakfasts and your eggs cooked as they should be (something I am particular about) then beat a path to this door... I cannot praise the Dunkery Beacon enough, definitely a hotel that other Hotels/B&B's should aspire.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YammyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beccy0, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2010
What a great review you have written! We do have many visitors returning to stay with us to enjoy the beauty of Exmoor and the peaceful location of The Dunkery Beacon. We meet so many interesting and lovely people and it is a real bonus when 'guests' become friends. Many thanks not only for your kind comments but also with your helpful advice while you were staying with us. We hope that you had a great time in Cornwall and that we will see you again next year.
Best wishes
Beccy and Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We could find no fault with this small hotel where we stayed for 3 nights B&B. We had a lovely room with wonderful views and the owners were really freindly and helpful.
The breakfasts are really very good.
The village is reached via very narrow lanes and is very quiet and really prettry and close to other old and interesting villages and towns.
The owners have ordinance survey maps to lend so we also did some walking as well as visiting Minehead.
Highly recomended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojosnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beccy0, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
Many thanks for your very kind comments and its good to hear that you had such a good time while staying with us. I know that some people find the narrow lanes a little difficult to navigate when they first come to Exmoor but the good thing is that you soon learn to master the art of reversing!

The moor looks stunning at the moment covered in purple heather and vivid yellow gorse. If you have time take a quick look at the blog on our website. We have uploaded some beautiful photos that Derek took on Tuesday looking down to Porlock Vale from the slopes of Dunkery.

Many thanks for staying with us and taking the time to give us a review - it's great!!
Best wishes
Beccy and Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Fantastic short break walking with our dog in this beautiful part of the country. Our stay was made extra special by the location and comfort of the Dunkery Beacon House Hotel but most of all by the warm and genuine hospitality afforded to us by the owners Beccy and Derek.
We would thoroughly recomend this hotel.
Nigel, Janet and Max

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelandJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

A colleague recommended this Country House Hotel and we were definitely not disappointed !! Our hosts, Beccy and Derek, were so warm and welcoming and nothing was too much for them! They have a wealth of information on places to visit in the locality and will share this with enthusiasm when requested, providing maps to get you there if necessary! There is so much to see and do - and the location is excellent for visiting many stunning, picturesque little villages, with fine restaurants providing good food (try the Stag's Head in Dunster). The house, with its beautiful garden, has real character and our accommodation was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The full English breakfast was really delicious - setting you up for the day ahead!
Although our home is over 500 miles from Dunkery Beacon, we will certainly return in the future for more than our initial three night stay. Derek and Beccy, we miss you!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jambo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We have just got back from five lovely days spent at Beccy and Dereks home, we had a lovely room, which had its own sitting room which really added to the relaxation for us. The views from the room were wonderful the room was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were huge! We would recommend anyone to take a break at this gem of a place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pememg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wootton Courtenay
3.5 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
19.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkery Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkery Beacon Hotel

Property: Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Address: Dunkery Beacon Hotel Near Dunster | Somerset, Wootton Courtenay, Exmoor National Park TA24 8RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wootton Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wootton Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkery Beacon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful former Edwardian hunting lodge offering luxury accommodation, gourmet dining (Wed - Sat) and safe, spacious off road parking.Ideally situated for scenic country drives across Exmoor and along the coast.Seven individually decorated en-suite rooms, plus one with private bathroom, all with breathtaking views. Group bookings welcome. Children 10 years of age and over welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Dunkery Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkery Beacon Exmoor
Hotel Dunkery Beacon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing