We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful romantic retreat”
Review of Casa La Ventana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boca de Tomatlan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa La Ventana
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Even though I´ve been to Boca many times this was the first time I stayed there. To start with Christina the owner is a wonderful person who makes you feel special and right at home. Her place Casa la Ventana is so beautiful and so romantic. The rooms are very comfortable, the views incredible. You get your coffee in your terrace and breakfast as well and it feels so relaxed. All in all it was a great experience, and its the real little village feel, with its music, its roosters and donkeys and the whole atmosphere. Plus you have the beach and the river right there. I loved it.

Room Tip: They are all good with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed with Christina last November and it was the perfect trip to celebrate our anniversary. The food was delicious! It was amazing to wake up in the morning and be right in the middle of the jungle. The accomadations were beautiful and Christina was a wonderful host. From the trip to the Marietta Islands, to the hikes to the beaches south of Boca, to dinner in PV, to the massage in the tree house, it was a wonderful vacation. We can't wait to return and stay with Christina again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This was the perfect vacation place for my husband and I to go with our 2 adult kids and their partners. We 3 couples had the 3 guest quarters, so we were able to spread out over the common areas and treat the "tree house" as our own living space. We had the privacy we would have had if we had rented a house or condo, but the advantages of a wonderful breakfast served to us, and Christina as our own personal "concierge" to help us make the most of our stay in this beautiful village south of Puerta Vallarta. This is a place for the relatively fit and sure-footed traveler, since you must come and go through rocky trails and many stairs. It's worth it!

Room Tip: All are beautiful. One of the 3 is a suite with a living room and full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This is the place if you are looking to experience what Mexico is really like! Casa la Ventana is a lovely B&B hideaway in the little pueblo of Boca, approx. 30 min. south of Puerto Vallarta (a very inexpensive simple bus ride takes you into PV). Christina is a gentle, friendly hostess who has created a relaxing, no-stress hacienda guest quarters oozing with charm. She cares for her guests and works with her wonderful employees Chapa and Xochitl and their family, and the local families in the pueblo to create a memorable experience for her guests.

We were fortunate to attend the "Back to Being" retreat in February 2012, which included lunches and dinners. Each meal was an opportunity to enjoy an authentic Mexican meal, created by some of Christina's neighbours and local chefs. We were fed like kings and queens! Christina's breakfasts are masterpieces, with fresh local fruits and sometimes sweet Mexican buns.

This B&B is up about a 100 stairs, however, the walk up is always a treat with beautiful flowers and plants in the little terraced gardens, with butterflies and, once, a bright green iguana!

The rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculately clean, with comfy beds, fluffy towels in the quaint bathroom and a large bright balcony with chairs and a hammock for relaxing.

We cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. Casa la Ventana is a great place. We will be back! Ali B

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMartell, Owner at Casa La Ventana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Thanks to you all who have written such wonderful accounts and experiences here at Casa La Ventana. Remember, a guest with a warm spirit is the frosting on the cake. You create your own experience, I just help create the lodging back drop to your memories. Hurry back, all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The hosts,the accommodations and the staff were all first class. Don and Christina (our hosts) were a plethora of information about Boca and vicinity. Whether a day hike to the
beaches south of Boca or travelling to more distant towns (Christina actually contacted the owner of the accommodations at the next stop of our journey (Mayto) to ensure they had an
available room before we headed off) we were always well informed.

And if you just wanted some rest and relaxation, lounging on the balcony outside the bedroom was the perfect place to be with the gorgeous view below.

Looking forward to our next visit to Casa La Ventana!

Ilda K.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We recently spent a week at Casa La Ventana and loved it! Christina is the perfect host who genuinely cares for her guests, her employees and the locals in the village. And she’s a great cook! The breakfasts were fresh, very tasty and even photogenic! The climb up the stairs to the Casa gave us the exercise we used as our excuse to eat the wonderful food she prepared as well as that of the area restaurants. Our room was beautiful and immaculate with a wonderful balcony with a great view of the surrounding hills and the village of Boca de Tomatlan. Boca is a quiet little fishing village with far fewer tourist vendors, but it is only a few minutes away from Puerto Vallarta by bus and the water taxis will take you to PV or several other villages and beach areas. Hiking is also a fun activity around Boca. A remote beach is about a half hour hike from Casa La Ventana. Christina has sea kayaks for guest use and with one short lesson, we were comfortable out in the bay even though we had never done anything like that before. This was our first winter vacation to a warm destination. It will probably not be our last and should we return to the PV area, we will be staying at Casa La Ventana again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoSwany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Picture yourself sitting on your balcony, or better yet swinging in your private hammock, with the mountains around you, the ocean in front and a light breeze swaying you into a total state of relaxation.

This is what you get when you visit Casa La Ventana. This B&B is truly a sanctuary tucked away in paradise.

Christina is really the hostess with the mostess. An integral piece of the village she can arrange anything you would want to do with the most reputable people to ensure you get the most out of your stay.

I would definitely go back!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boca de Tomatlan
1.5 mi away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
45 reviews
7.4 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
847 reviews
8.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#73 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Lala Boutique Hotel
Villa Lala Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boca de Tomatlan
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Ventana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Ventana

Address: Rivera del Rio 17, Boca de Tomatlan, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Boca de Tomatlan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boca de Tomatlan
Price Range: £75 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Puerto Vallarta's South Shore in Boca de Tomatlan. This hotelito is tucked in steep jungled mountains and perched overlooking the river, the pueblo and the Boca Cove to the Bay of Banderas. Accommodations types include bed and breakfast guest quarters, one bedroom with kitchen and one guest quarter with two bedroom, two bath villa with grand balcony and great views. A great alternative to a crowded resort and an opportunity to experience real Mexico, enjoy hiking, kayaking, beach and relaxing. A new and private swimming pool and palapa lounge area was added in October, 2012. Wireless Internet provided. Coffee service delivered to your guest quarters each morning and breakfast can be served on your private balcony or in the Tree House, where views and lounging areas abound. Massage available by appointment and private catered dinner and events available in the Tree House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa La Ventana Hotel Boca De Tomatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing