We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Awesome - already planning to go back”

Lady Elliot Island Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover the magic of the Southern Great Barrier Reef on a Day Tour to Lady Elliot Island! Lady Elliot is a coral cay located at the southern tip of Australia's iconic Great Barrier Reef, north of Fraser Island. The island is regarded as one of the best diving and snorkelling locations on the Reef and is famous for its unspoilt coral reef and amazing array of spectacular marine life. Day Tours to Lady Elliot Island depart daily from the Gold Coast, Brisbane (Redcliffe), Hervey Bay/Fraser Coast and Bundaberg.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So Awesome - already planning to go back”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a superb one day adventure!
Starting with the online/email booking service these guys are so helpful and try hard to make your trip something special. Our flight was delayed slightly as we had an unscheduled stop via Bunderberg to collect some last minute day trippers. Once on the island the whole experience was excellent. Explanation of what was happening through the day although there is no pressure to attend all the sessions. Staff service and lunch also top class. Reef snorkelling was the best from 3 various reef trips over the holiday. Swimming with so many turtles was mind blowing. Will be going back for a longer stay to see the hatching and hopefully get to swim with the Mantas.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mickhemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    28
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Let down by the company, not the island”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Beautiful island, hard working and pleasant staff whilst there, good snorkeling (what little I saw), decent facilities.

But thoroughly let down by the fact that the company will fly you there even though they know first thing in the morning that they cannot offer you what you've paid for. .

It was raining hard in Bundaberg. Before heading to the airport I phoned to check that snorkeling and the glass bottom boat would all be unaffected by the weather. I was assured all was well.
I'd seen online that the swell figures looked high, so again I asked that snorkeling would be possible right around the island, all day. All well I was told.

Within an hour I'd flown to the island and was told that snorkeling was a no go all day, apart from a two hour slot in the lagoon. The glass bottom boat was also only going to go round the lagoon. And for only 20mims.

Someone either hadn't told the women on the phone, or they'd lied to me first thing as they didn't want a cancelation and resulting refund.

The staff on the island had the whole day's weather plans and effects mapped out.. They didn't decide within the hour of me calling and flying there.

The company need to improve the info provided to their call handlers first thing in the morning on bad weather days. I went there under false pretences and ended up eating lunch for a longer time than I was actually in the water. A thorough waste of time and money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank sterei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEIManagement, General Manager at Lady Elliot Island Day Tour, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear sterei

Once again we apologise for the weather and the conditions you experienced on your day tour to Lady Elliot Island, we could have managed the day better and we will revise our procedures accordingly. We had cancelled all day tours the previous day as the conditions were not favourable and we always aim to ensure that our guests have a wonderful day on the Island without missing the opportunity to see the Great Barrier Reef. However, the weather forecast for Saturday was looking much better, there had been no rain in Bundaberg or Lady Elliot Island for 7-8 hours. When you called our Reservations team on Saturday morning, they had just been speaking to the Island and had been informed that the conditions had improved and our boats and snorkelling were operating which is the information that was passed on to you. That was the expectation at that time.

As I’m sure you are aware, weather conditions can change quite quickly, the weather on the Island was fine in the morning but the conditions deteriorated. By the time you arrived on the Island, the Watersports team had experienced some difficulty with an earlier boat trip due to the change in conditions and, for the safety of guests, decided to cancel subsequent boat trips on the western side of the Island. This was not a decision taken lightly, the last thing we want to do is disappoint our guests, but we cannot risk the safety of our staff and guests. Unfortunately, we could then only operate boats in the lagoon during the higher part of the tide. This is the reason why it was limited to around 20 minutes.

I note that you overlooked to mention that, because of the unexpected deterioration in conditions, our Island Manager was very apologetic and immediately organised a 50% refund.

We are glad to hear that you did enjoy the snorkelling in the lagoon and thank you for the kind words about our beautiful Island and our pleasant staff.

We appreciate your feedback and we hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you to our Island again when the weather gods are a bit kinder.

Kind regards
John Johansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bargara, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Day began on an ominous note with 1 hour delay due to plane tyre puncture and gathering storm clouds over Bundaberg. Would have been good to have received some form of update from check-in desk, instead of waiting for pilot to roll up on his arrival from initial departure point of Hervey Bay. Trip was birthday treat for our daughter, as she was unable to get along to the Lady Musgrave trip we did a few weeks earlier, so some comparisons follow. She enjoyed being co-pilot on the short flight over and we did a quick scenic 360 of the island, spotting a huge ray in the water, before landing.

Certainly no time for a detailed orientation tour and intro, as glass bottom boat/snorkel trip departed 30 minutes after disembarking, meaning we had a bit of frantic rush to collect snorkel gear from dive shop, find some reef shoes (strongly advise bring your own) and store bags in handy locker room. My wife managed to get fitted with a free prescription mask, which was great. So with sun out and weather humid, conditions for the trip around the reef were excellent, as was our guide, who spent the whole of our 45 minute snorkel in the water with us making sure we were quickly alerted to any interesting creatures, such as rays and turtles.

Our buffet lunch was available in the rustic resort restaurant bar area from midday, so as additional snorkelling off the beach was allowed at high tide range up until 3pm, we decided to eat early and then explore the islands tracks and beaches before heading into the water again. The range of both hot and cold food on offer was plentiful and enjoyable and the bar was surprisingly well-stocked for a remote location, meaning the stay-over guests looked as though they were pretty well looked after.

The bird-life on the island is very varied and easy to get up close to and we enjoyed the laid-back vibe of the location with its scattered beach huts and benches along the foreshore and with green turtles swimming alongside us. There are several further snorkelling options off the beach, but we chose the inner lagoon just a few steps down from the restaurant, which was enjoyable but not spectacular. Just enough time to see some fish feeding in a deep pool that a previous lighthouse keeper had created, before changing up and enjoying a quick a beer in the ‘departure lounge’.

The short 20 minute flight is a hands-down winner over the 90mins choppy boat journey to Lady Musgrave and the lunch option was superior. Lady Elliot does have a slightly more touristic feel, but the bird life and presence of large rays and a lot of turtles is a plus and the day’s activities are not so regimented. However, we felt there is definitely a greater diversity of corals in the shallower areas around Lady Musgrave. Overall, despite the relatively high cost for a day trip and a slow start, this was a thoroughly enjoyable experience and a big thumbs-up to our lovely snorkelling guide.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NickyP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wished I could've stayed longer!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I enjoyed the day trip to Lady Elliot Island! We flew from Hervey Bay, and the 30 minutes-ish fly was fantastic (landing was a bit rough though).
The buffet lunch was beautiful, especially I loved fresh prawns and beef curry. The view from the restaurant was magnificent. We also enjoyed hanging out at the reception. I bought turtle earrings and my husband bought pretty T-shirts.
The only thing that I was disappointed with was that it was a bit windy on that day and that we couldn't snorkel after lunch in the afternoon. So we snorkeled for only about 1.5 hours. It was when we wished that we could've stayed for another day. If you're really keen for snorkeling, I'd recommend you to stay longer for just in case of the weather conditions. Overall, that was such an awesome trip and we really loved that!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank McDuffumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“fantastic snorkelling”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This Island is a 20 minutes flight from Bundaberg. It looks pretty ordinary on the coral cay but wow under the water there is a vast array of everything coral, fish including some small reef sharks, manta ray, moray eels, turtles, my son even saw a dolphin feeding. This is what I can remember ther was so much to see. You just walk in off the beach it is so close. There is a glass bottom boat which is for the less confident and scuba diving there is a yacht wreck and cave on the eastern side of the island. A beautiful

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracyb0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lady Elliot Island Day Tour also viewed

Lady Musgrave Island, Queensland
Lady Elliot Island, Queensland
 
Lady Elliot Island, Queensland
Great Keppel Island, Queensland
 

Been to Lady Elliot Island Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing