We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful getaway from Manila” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Danish Lagoon Luxury Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Danish Lagoon Luxury Beach Resort
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway from Manila”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We had an absolutely fantastic time at the Danish Lagoon. As other reviewers have stated, the hospitality of Johnnie, Randi and the rest of the staff is top notch. They made us feel very much at home and provided excellent advice about things to see and do on Siquijor. I would also highly recommend an island tour with Noel, which can be arranged with the Danish Lagoon. The rooms are clean and spacious -- and nice to have a private balcony overlooking the water. We highly recommend the Danish Lagoon to others who want to get away from the hustle & bustle of urban life and enjoy a quiet, peaceful setting with constant breezes of clean, fresh air. Thanks for the relaxation and rejuvenation! Chris & Charles

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Encisoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    17
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
44
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is my second time at The Danish Lagoon and Just returned home from a 2 week vacation on The Danish Lagoon and must say this is a place i will always come back to ....... I mean , first night when i returned the staff recognized me and welcomed me with the most happiness and smiles i have ever seen , it gives a feeling of wormth inside and that you have been missed as a member of the familly ... because that is what TDL is all about .. one big familly.
Just ask for something and Jimmy , Johnnie , Randi or LUNA :o) will do what ever they can to make it happen.
The restaurant is a place by itself , the food i well sized portions and to a reasonable prize , now im not a chef ..... BUT yummi Jimmi ;o) well presented and served with a big smile and good LOOONG story from Johnnie as a side dish if you want, he is always up for a little chat and i think he knows just about what there is to know about the area around TDL .
Last but not least the small cottages are so cosy and always clean ... AND ANT FREE .. with a nice CR and hot water in the shower .
So as i started this is not my last time at TDL " i wil be back" .. As a known artist once statet

Kisses and hugs
Jimmi fra Saudi ;o)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimmi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

My wife and I cannot say enough about our stay at the Danish Lagoon. From the moment we stepped foot in their restaurant, we were greated by the owner, Johnny, and immediately were made to feel at home. Though we were traveling with our two year old son, we felt like we were on a second honeymoon. The room was a private villa, very comfortable, stylish and clean, the service was absolutely incredible (they especially catered to our son, as Johnny put it 'don't worry about your son, you have a team of babysitters here for you'. Everyone was kind, generous and absolutely genuine. This is no exageration, if we could give them six stars, we would.

p.s. their hamburger....you have to see it and taste it to believe it...worth the trip almost by itself.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJTMcGonigles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tagbilaran City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Beautiful, great people, tasty food, flawless service, clean and tidy. A perfect match for any kind of traveller.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tali55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

Spent four wonderful days here. The bungalows are very nice, clean and have a fantastic view. Great food is served all day and the staff can help with anything from guided tricyckle-tours to ferry reservations and transfers. The Island is great to explore and offers nice beaches, snorkeling/diving, waterfalls, caves and much more.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLSthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornbæk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

We've just spend five weeks and the Danish Lagoon, and we just want to thank everybody for the hospitality we received. Lovely houses with everything we needed; air con, tv, large bathroom, a fantastic balcony right above the sea.
Simply; peace and quiet that cannot be explained by words,but has to be experienced.
Lone, Jimmy, Randi and Johnni a BIG thank you for letting us stay at you beautiful place, and also a HUGE thank you to your always smiling and polite employes, and last but not least thank you for the fantastic food in the reataurant.
We are looking forward in visiting your place again, and to try out the swimming pool that you are building right now.

Five stars all the way!

Love

Lolo Kaj and Lola Jane

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneogKaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

This is a fun place stay! It is a small resort with a strong emphasis on quality and friendliness – it was the perfect place for us to relax. The owners Johnnie & Randy and Jimmy & Luna are really nice and made us feel very welcome . Their lovely staff could not have been nicer or more helpful and the food was excellent... check out the home-made smoked bacon and burgers.
Similar to what others have posted, we felt the accommodation is pretty special - octagonal shaped cottages with private verandas overlooking the ocean. Each cottage is named after a Hans Christian Anderson character and designed with thoughtful details: beds suspended on wires, large porthole windows, exterior art work , and a bathroom with a huge shower head. The one we stayed in (Ugly Duckling) overlooked the resort’s small private beach that includes a mermaid sculpture on a rock (similar to the one in Copenhagen). The sunsets were beautiful.
We have been travelling for 4.5 months and have stayed in all sorts of accommodation and can honestly say this was one of the best for us. Originally we booked for 2 nights but ended up staying for 10 nights . It was too nice leave. We felt the price was very reasonable for the quality of accommodation, food and service.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debsydoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siquijor Island hotels
5.0 mi away
Coco Grove Beach Resort
8.0 mi away
Kawayan Holiday Resort
Kawayan Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Cangmunag
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
12.1 mi away
Casa de la Playa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Villas Resort
White Villas Resort
#1 of 6 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
5.9 mi away
Islandia Beach Resort
Islandia Beach Resort
#1 of 4 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tori's Backpacker's Paradise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danish Lagoon Luxury Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danish Lagoon Luxury Beach Resort

Property: The Danish Lagoon Luxury Beach Resort
Address: H. C. Andersens Boulevard | Paliton, San Juan, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Siquijor Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Siquijor Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Danish Lagoon Luxury Beach Hotel Siquijor Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing