We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White sands and turquoise water”
Review of Paliton Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“White sands and turquoise water”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Our tricycle driver suggested this as a side trip on our way back from the Siquijor post office. We bumped down a short road for a couple of minutes and stopped at the "Private Property" sign. Our driver assured us it was OK, so we made our way by a couple of barking dogs and a curious rooster to a beautiful, secluded beach and marine sanctuary. It is great for swimming and snorkeling. A big tree close to shore provides shade from the sun. A caretaker collects 10 to 50 pesos from visitors for swimming or snorkeling.

Helpful?
6 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    23
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, secluded beach”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

A lovely beach. Very secluded with just one or two people on the whole length of it when we visited.

There is a small road heading down to this beach from the main ring road just by the church. It's not particularly well signed so you may have to ask someone. At the end of track is a gate saying private property. We were told to leave our bikes there and walk through the gate straight towards the beach (2 minutes walk).

Worth a visit if you have hired motorbikes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

beach is small but a lovely place to swim. its small in size and is sort of hidden from the main road. best to ask anyone on the road.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank elmundoazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paliton Beach”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Like the other reviewers, we fell in love with Paliton Beach.

You pay a small amount for snorkelling. Ordinary bathing is free. I think you can buy cold drinks but take my advice and bring your own. There's a beautiful cove before you get to P Beach itself. The walk from the main road is a joy, by the way.

We go to Siquijor every year and Paliton was one of our MUST DO IT places. Finally, this year, we did! Shameful, really, when I think how close to it we stay.

Don't be put off by the private property sign just before you get to the beach. The owners have no objection to people walking through. They just don't want motorbikes etc. Of course, you can get to it by kayak from Solangon Beach, but walking there is no problem. The walk from the main road is beautiful.

To the Finnish reviewer who held cynically with the view that the marine reserve thing is a pull for tourists, I say that you are mistaken. Overfishing is a serious problem in Siquijor and the marine reserves are an absolute necessity. In an ideal world, there would be no fishing from the island for several years, but the fisher people have to live, so that's a no-no.

We saw a banded sea krait in the water. After our initial irrational shock, we counted ourselves lucky. These beautiful snakes aren't aggressive towards human beings and, besides, their mouths are too small to do any damage in normal circumstances.

Paliton Beach is beautiful. It'll never be Boracay,. but not everyone wants to party non-stop.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bestmangoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful little beach”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Beautiful secluded spot a bit off from the main road (accessible by motorbike or walking) but construction of a "marine sanctuary" (likely planned to be an attraction) has just begun here so expect more tourists in the near future.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuukka Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paliton Beach also viewed

Siquijor Island, Visayas
Siquijor Island, Visayas
 
San Juan, Siquijor Island
 

Been to Paliton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing