We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience, one of the best tours ever!”
Review of A5 Private Tours

A5 Private Tours
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Mutalau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a 4WD to a Niuean plantation where your friendly guide Tony will explain traditional farming methods, old and new. Then explore Niue's ancient rainforest, you'll be dodging butterflies as you marvel at the coral rock formations and unique vegetation. You'll also get the opportunity to hold an Uga and learn about it's life cycle, as well as methods for trapping them. Tour last for 2 hours
Reviewed 2 October 2015

This was an amazing experience for me and my 20 year old son. We started with Tony and his dog through the bush.Tony teaching us about the flora and fauna. Uga habitat, and life cycle and then to see them!!! We tasted many plants from the bush and learned of there uses. Tony then took us to his plantations, where he gave us coconut to drink from and pawpaw to eat.Teaching us about sustainable living, in both his home garden and his plantations.He gave us an Uga to take with us! -delicious.Tony is an inspirational person to be around, his vast knowledge,and his willingness to share is amazing.
THIS TOUR IS NOT TO BE MISSED!

1  Thank btippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Front Office Manager at A5 Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Thank you for excellent feedback. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so glad you enjoyed the tour and the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"coconut crab"
in 3 reviews
"take home"
in 2 reviews
"fruit"
in 2 reviews
"clams"
in 3 reviews
"tour"
in 13 reviews
"uga"
in 12 reviews
"niue"
in 10 reviews
"plantation"
in 7 reviews
"bush"
in 4 reviews
"track"
in 4 reviews
"taro"
in 4 reviews
"life"
in 3 reviews
"insight"
in 3 reviews
"land"
in 3 reviews
"plants"
in 3 reviews
"number"
in 2 reviews
"village"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2015

My wife and I booked one of the A5 Tours, run by local Niuean Tony Aholima.
Tony, his really neat young son and faithful dog took us on a neat walk through the forrest, showing us the Uga habitat, and plants of use for traditional food and medicine. Tony's son caught an Uga, which we photographed and released. We also visited a traditional "market garden" and the family garden. The whole tour was really interesting, and Tony gave us some lovely bananas and paw paw to take away. I would 100% recommend this tour to anyone interested in the traditional Niuean way of life. One comment I would offer to Tony, and that is that whilst talking to us during the walk, it would be better to stop and talk to us rather than talking while leading the way, as at times we missed what was said. To be fair though I am a little hard of hearing.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Vachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Tony's A5 Tours once again hits the mark. This time the whole family (incl 3 children) were welcomed and included throughout Tony's tour of the real Niue. Interesting and informative explanations throughout the tour of the varied trees, plants and animals, as well as getting to sample coconuts, bananas and pawpaw, throughout.
The children loved seeing the Uga (and so did the adults). The bush walk gave an insight into the Uga's natural habitat and was an opportunity to learn more about this amazing island for everyone.
Tony is extremely knowledgeable and always willing to provide an explanation when asked. His passion for keeping Niue a paradise is abundantly clear.
Thanks for the great memories, we'll be back to check on the banana tree!

2  Thank IakopoFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Front Office Manager at A5 Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

It was fantastic to see you back in Niue and we are so happy that you bought your family and were all able to experience our tour together. Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Tony's tour covered the home garden/plantation. How many different bananas and coconut varieties are there? We got to check out the various edible plants. Some greens at last! As if that wasn't enough we headed (by vehicle) to the taro plantation to watch Tony do a bit of planting with the kids, then tried pawpaw - and more coconut of course. Off again to the forest to hunt for Uga and hermit (herman?) crabs. We were in luck but that was probably no accident. Tony and his (very) young son knew just where to go. This is a wonderful tour. You do need good strong walking shoes and shouldn't go without your camera. Plenty of fruit and drink (coconut water) provided. I think we were promised a 2 hour trip but it took 4 hours and we enjoyed every bit of it. As an extra note, I am not as nimble and sprightly as I used to be but I coped well with the walking. The tracks aren't smooth but there's not an awful lot of clambering either.

2  Thank SGT51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Owner at A5 Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

It is always a pleasure to offer our fresh fruits and seasonal vegetables for tasting as part of our tour. Thank you for your excellent feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Tony was an excellent, informative and inspirational guide. Really can't recommend this trip highly enough, it was a real privilege, and fantastic fun, we smiled for days. Thanks Tony and good luck with getting your boys to weed the taro patch!

4  Thank ChrisJed2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, Owner at A5 Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Thank you for your excellent feedback. It was a pleasure to meet you and take you on our tour. We aim to provide an interesting insight into subsistance farming, wildlife and the abundance of vegetation and its cultural uses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A5 Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to A5 Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing