We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”
Review of Canon del Sumidero

Canon del Sumidero
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23.25*
and up
Sumidero Canyon and Chiapa de Corzo Combo Tour
Ranked #8 of 142 things to do in Chiapas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paris - France
Level Contributor
231 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We tried the canon del sumidero in a lancha, the experience was great. We were shown all the nice sights, the most beautiful being the Xmas tree. We saw some crocodiles. We had a funny adventure as it started pouring down rain when we started returning back, and it continued till the end. The guide deployed a protection for our heads. ONly our heads, as we were soaked at the end , but we thought it was part of the whole experience, so we keep a nice memory of it

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrekkiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    251
    58
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breathtaking scenery”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with how spectacular this place was.
We took a tour from San Cristobal de Las Casas booked from our hotel B&B Le Gite Del Sol for 250 peso each. This gave us a shuttle bus ride to the canyon (50mins), entry to the national park, boat ride, and shuttle back after stopping in nearby city for lunch.
The canyon was simply stunning with numerous crocodiles (and there babies), bird life, monkeys. At one point your guide takes you right under a waterfall with spray dropping all over you.
Two downfalls were that the guides (shuttle bus and boat) speak no English and the amount of rubbish in one particular area of the river. However the government is doing their best to clean all of the rubbish and logs out with numerous boats cleaning this up.
Highly recommended

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna and Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
247 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Millions of Years revealed in Beauty”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Bouncing through the canyon in a fast boat we are spotting crocodiles in the water and monkeys in the trees.Iguanas bask on the edge of the water while a variety of birds sweep overhead. At one small beach area in the canyon buzzards meet and drink from the water. Thanks to our boatman whose sharp eyes saw creatures long before the rest of us we had an incredible trip.. The canyon has taken millions of years to form but it took far more millions of years of millions of creatures to make the limestone from which it is formed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank st8sman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
190 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Some of the time we paid for was wasted.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Our travels brought us to the area right before the September 15th holiday. It was a rainy time of year, however the day was great. I mention the rain because it plays a very small role in the garbage that we had to go through. It was quite intense. Not just a few plastic bottles. All the litter is concentrated in one area, rather it is one giant entity that is all tangled up and moves together. It is about 10 acres and I have never seen anything like it. However the beauty of the canyon is hard to ignore. It is quite inspiring. Along the way we saw howler monkeys and a crocodile. The one bad part was stopping for lunch along the way at a little waterside restaurant at the far end of the river. Not everyone ordered food, but of course we had to wait for everyone who was. Had the tour lasted all day perhaps it would be in order. The whole trip was less than 2 hours, which is an acceptable amount of time to go in between feedings. The time spent gaining the life saving sustenance should have been turned over to showing us what we were all paying to see. It is still a good enough value.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewMexicoScraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lancha Tour”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The lancha tour was the perfect way to see the canyon. The guide was very knowledgable and had an enjoyable sense of humor. The speed of the boat helps keep you cool in the sun.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chelsey a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canon del Sumidero also viewed

Tuxtla Gutierrez, Chiapas
 
Chiapas, Southern Mexico
Chiapas, Southern Mexico
 

Been to Canon del Sumidero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing