We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was like staying with family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay to get a taste of true Belizean life. Everyone was extremely friendly and accommodating. Patu, the dive master, was fabulous. I look forward to bringing my family for many years to come!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

We just returned from a lovely week at the Blue Marlin and had a lovely time overall. But specifically about the diving, I want to congratulate Mr. Patu for taking over the dive shop and doing a really great job. Not everyone in my family dives, so it was great that I could go out in the morning and literally be diving within 10 mins of leaving the dock. The diving was spectacular, and then I could be back in time for a great lunch with the family at the resort. My daughter did a resort dive course (one on one) and went on two dives with us..Most of our dives were with 4 people or less. I wore a shorty but didn't really need to, the water was plenty warm.

Room Tip: Our cabin was 25 feet from the water, and had a hammock on the front porch. It was quiet and I coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eahuson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

South Water Caye (SWC) is a wonderful caye to visit and stay on if you want a great springboard for diving, snorkeling and fishing. We stayed at BMR which sits on the north side of the island. The staff was amazing and very accommodating and it was nice to relax and BMR had a ton of chairs/hammocks/space. We took advantage of the snorkeling but since we are not divers/ fishers, we felt maybe for our experience doing an island hop would have worked better for us.

Room Tip: SWC is a very small island so obviously limited options in terms of land exploring/ top side activit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a beautiful 3 night stay at the Blue Marlin. The cabin was beautiful, very clean and the grounds were spectacular. The beach is well-maintained; the area immediately in front of Blue Marlin is more for viewing the ocean than for swimming. The walk in beach is about 5 minutes away but that poses no problem. We loved the quiet and very mellow atmosphere.
The food was outstanding; they were very accommodating of us as vegetarians.
I read prior reviews with variable experiences with dive masters; we had a similar problem as described with the now-departed Carlos. My main advice would be to be certain to get one of the more experienced boat captains. Ours (we only snorkeled) was fine on 2 days but extremely careless on the third. With this caution, I would highly recommend the Blue Marlin.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feldmange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Experience an isolated island in a marine preserve with the comforts of home cooked meals, rum drinks on the dock & world class scuba/snorkeling. Add the friendliest staff imaginable at this family-run resort, and what's not to like? We spent a week there and could easily have stayed another.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach cottages...the private porch and hammock are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I wanted to make my wifes birthday a special time while I was visiting Belize. We were to charter a boat and I knew we would visit South Water Caye. I e-mailed Carlene and she arranged our dinner a month away from our arrival date. When we arrived at South Water the weather would not allow us to anchor at Blue Marlin but at Twin Caye about 3/4 mile away. We did find transportation to Blue Marlin Lodge to find that Mariel and her staff had arranged the perfect romantic dinner for two. Secluded on a side deck outside was a beautifly set table. The service was over the top. The meal was absolutly delicious. The true warmth and care that the entire staff of Blue Marlin Lodge showed my wife and I really made us feel special. My wife has a memory she will treasure forever thanks to Blue Marlin Lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iskagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Marlin R, Director of Sales at Blue Marlin Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your memorable dinner experience at Blue Resort. It was our pleasure to host you and your wife on her special day, and are honored to be included in her cherished birthday memories celebrated in Belize! Wishing you both a very Merry Christmas and All the Best for 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The view is spectacular, The staff are amazing. Definitely going back. Scuba diving, snorkeling, fishing. Next time back I plan on bringing my two daughters. Visit the neighboring islands for a special treat.

Room Tip: The room are not luxurious, but its a small island resort. If you plan on spending time in your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilbm7587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlinbelize, Manager at Blue Marlin Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Blue Marlin Resort. We look forward to hosting you on a future trip with your two daughters.

Hoping that you have additional photos of the spectacular views of the island and reef. Please note the picture you posted is of staff quarters and not of guest accommodations.

Thank you for choosing Blue Marlin Resort for your stay on South Water Caye and we look forward to hosting you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Water Caye
5.1 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
1,035 reviews
16.9 mi away
Isla Marisol Resort
Isla Marisol Resort
#1 of 1 in Glovers Reef Atoll
193 reviews
22.5 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
589 reviews
22.2 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
12.6 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Beach Resort

Address: 14 Miles Offshore Dangriga, On Top the Barrier Reef, South Water Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > South Water Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Water Caye
Price Range: £293 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Marlin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Belizean-owned island resort atop the Belize Barrier Reef where you can make yourself at home while enjoying ours, with snorkeling, diving and fly-fishing adventures at your doorsteps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Blue Marlin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel South Water Caye
Blue Marlin Beach Resort Belize/South Water Caye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing