We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely island get-away”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Water Caye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pelican Beach - South Water Caye
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville,VA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely island get-away”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The staff at Pelican Beach made our stay so comfortable and easy. Meals were delicious and the rum and fruit drinks were fabulous. We were often the only people snorkeling at the reef, enjoying the clear water, corals, purple sea fans, green anemones, rays, angel fish, and parrot fish.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snorkLPLNty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    22
    2
    6
    2
See reviews for
52
98
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We recently spent 5 wonderful days at Pelican Beach Resort. A big thank you to Theresita who answered all my many questions and arranged for a perfect stay. The boat ride over to and from Dangrigia is quite bumpy and you will leave rain or shine. It is great to see all the little islands out over the reef. We arrived after about 45 min. and were met at the dock by Daniel with a super, warm welcome. The chilled, fresh coconut water was so refreshing and made us feel as though the island adventure was starting! After reading many of the TA reviews, we had requested Heron’s Hideaway. We were thrilled when Daniel led us up the path, opened the back door and looked out past the wonderful deck to the reef!! The cottage is very private and the deck extends out over the water. It is about half way between the main dining house and the beach. We just loved it! The bathroom is very large. The water is solar heated, quite plentiful and runs between scalding hot and lukewarm. It would have been nice to have some hooks or pegs in the bathroom to hang up beach towels and bathing suits though. Our room had a ceiling fan and louvered windows on all 3 sides. Most of the time there was a nice sea breeze blowing in. Morning sunrise was just beautiful right off our deck over the reef. Osprey’s Nest cottage was right next door and seemed nice too. It was a duplex, but it had its own nice dock. Most of the staff were friendly and very helpful, especially Daniel and Dayton.
We enjoyed the snorkeling and went for a wonderful trip out to “Angel’s Reef”. The reef colors and fish seemed better there than the reef right off the beach. Be sure to hang out at the end of the main dock around sunset as one or more spotted eagle rays usually swim around the cove! Food was plentiful and filling. The breakfasts were great. Love those Fry Jacks! We had a lovely island adventure.

Room Tip: Heron's Hideaway was wonderful,private,romantic yet close to beach and dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkflamingo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband and I had the most relaxing and peaceful night at Pelican Beach Resort on South Water Caye. The meals were all delicious and it was great to be able to wander the island and swim/snorkel at our leisure with nothing but hammocks to tempt us!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliminator007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

If you love peace and solitude this is the island to visit. It is clean and pristine. Water is clear and crystal blue and in the 80+ degree range. Very comfortable for snorkeling which you can do very easily from right off the beach. A fairly Easy swim to the reef and even if you stay right in front of the sandy beach area you will likely see Nurse Sharks and Spottrd Eagle Rays along with many tropical fish which you will also see on the reef itself. Perfect place for children although you might want to leave them with grandparents and enjoy the romance this place precipitates. We spent 6 nights on South Water Caye at Pelican Beach Resort and one night each in Dangriga also at the Pelican Beach Resort going and coming back which was a nice way to ease in and out our trip. We felt like we were treated like royalty in both places without feeling overwhelmed or over served. The staff could not be more pleasant in either place. All rooms were spotless and smelled fresh. Margarita and Lucinda in Dangriga will make sure you are comfortable along with every other staff member there. On the island you are in for a special treat especially if Leonard, Terry, and Kevin are there when you are. Also, Linette, the Chef/Cook, will prepare wonderful balanced meals with fresh fish, fruit and vegetables that are all local and scrumptious. And if you stay more than one or two days you will feel like they are members of your family. At meals if you want seconds you will get seconds. You may not even see the cleaning teams as they somehow get in and out of your abode without so much as a shadow. We stayed in Kingfisher cottage with sunrise in the morning right off the front deck and unbelievable sunsets off the back deck rising and setting over the water with view unimpeded by anything but nature itself. I'm sure all the bungalows there are just as nice. I think that the only decision I had to make on the entire stay on the island was whether to use Ranch or Italian dressing on my salad. Not kidding about that. The menu is written on a whiteboard and then Linnette prepares breakfast, lunch and dinner so your only issue is when to show up. We went there for the snorkeling and were not disappointed. Saw different marine life each day. With highlights being 6 ft. Nurse shark, multiple spotted eagle rays, large green and spotted moray eels and a stingray with wingspan of 7 to 8 ft. And video to back me up. To me this visit to Pelican Beach Resort on South Water Caye was my favorite place yet to visit comparing it to ,Utila, Bonaire, Turks and Caicos, Corn Island, and Loblolly Bay on Anegada. In each of those places we stayed at least a week so I feel like I can make a fair comparison. We were in Belize during the latter part of May, 2013. Sure hope you get to go to this fine place, I know that we will return. Again, if you want nightlife go somewhere else, if you want peace and as close to perfection as you would wish for go to South Water Caye in Belize and stay at Pelican Beach Resort. And please tell Leonard, Terry, Kevin and Linnette that we miss them very much. Bob and Gayle. P.S. we heard we might experience a sandfly problem but that was not to be. I swished a total of three flys away from my legs during our stay. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rmoore0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

It's taken a while to write this review. We visited as a family of four in late August 2012 after spending a week in the rain forest. We were on the caye for 4 days and it proved to be just what we wanted. Relaxing, beautiful, fascinating, other-worldly, and the most welcoming place we've ever visited.
August is low season over there, so for three of the days we had the island to ourselves. Bliss. we were fed and watered well, we snorkeled on the reef and saw amazing fish. We just chilled.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baah-humbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Our 4 day stay on Pelican Beach was awesome. The boat ride out was shorter than expected (about 45 min or so) and you're pretty much in instant chill mode once you hit the island. The rooms are nice and large with private bathrooms (at least in the duplex cottage we were in). Probably the most attractive thing about the island is being able to walk out and snorkel from shore. You can go quite a ways out and really explore the reefs just from shore. We did do side trip out to the Coral Gardens reef which was well worth it, as was the night snorkel.
Maybe the only drawback was a few unwelcomed cockroaches at night. I've dealt with worse and solved the issue of them by spraying DEET at the bottom of the bed-posts to ensure they wouldn't be making any unwanted appearances in our bed, but they were present and unwelcome.
The food here was excellent and there were plenty of snacks throughout the day to keep you full and happy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonRothmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This island resort is wonderful for families. It is safe and you can snorkel right off the beach. The service is great and the staff is very accommodating. Manager Daniel Rath offered world class services equivalent to what we could get at any five stars except more personable. This island is also good for romantic getaways because it has fantastic sunrise and sunset. And the price is fair.

The Smithsonian research station is on an island close by worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iBleuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Water Caye
5.3 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
972 reviews
22.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
16.8 mi away
Isla Marisol Resort
Isla Marisol Resort
#1 of 1 in Glovers Reef Atoll
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in South Water Caye
85 reviews
5.6 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
558 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Beach - South Water Caye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Beach - South Water Caye

Property: Pelican Beach - South Water Caye
Address: Dangriga, South Water Caye 00000, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > South Water Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Water Caye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Beach - South Water Caye 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two special locations, one great vacation - South Water Caye and Dangriga! South Water Caye, our island getaway-seaside cottages and rooms with fantastic views and cooling trade winds. On a gorgeous beach, atop the barrier reef and within South Water Caye Marine Reserve. Snorkel from shore, dive, fish, kayak or do nothing at all. Environmentally-friendly facilities with separate student group accommodations. For the simple pleasures - spending time together, sharing new adventures and making new friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelican Beach - South Water Caye Hotel South Water Caye
Pelican Beach - South Water Caye Belize

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing